We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 196 Bishopsgate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added 196 Bishopsgate to your Saves list
196 Bishopsgate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   196 Bishopgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #214 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great accommodation, very pleasent staff, superb location! Rooms are very well equiped, you will find everything you should need during your staying. The kitchen was way beyond my expectations. There is a Tesco supermarket just a dozen feet away, just perfect! The bathroom is very clean, and there is just enough space. The only thing I didn't like is lack of sports channels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am always thrilled to read positive feedback like yours, you couldn’t have summarised your experience any better. I must say that you are on point with your description. Your high scores and comments are very much appreciated. The team would be happy to know that all our hard work has brought another happy guest.

We are constantly listening to our guest and I can assure you that your comments on the sports channel would not be ignored.

Thank you again for your kind comments and I hope I will have the pleasure to welcome you back at 196 Bishopsgate in the near future, should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    93
    35
    15
    5
See reviews for
90
73
19
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed as a group in a number of apartments and all were lovely - spacious, very well equipped and very clean. The staff were helpful and happy to go the extra mile for us. I'd definitely stay again, and would recommend staying here over staying in a hotel (especially in this area - "budget" hotels are not actually that cheap, and for a group booking, these apartments worked out to be the cheaper option).

Room Tip: If you're booking a two bed apartment, ask for the penthouse - it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very please to read you had a fulfilling stay, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers, also thank you for the high scores and praises. This is the type of experience we strive to provide to all of our guests!

We look forward to welcoming you back to 196 Bishopsgate.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last August during the Olympics. We were so pleased with this apartment and so spoiled with the location. A safe area with lots of restaurants and easy access to the Tube.The rooms were immaculate and mini kitchen a smart option, especially with children. The staff was very accomodating and helpful. Our next visit to London will include another stay at 196 Bishopsgate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive feedback, praises and for recomending 196 Bishpsgate to our Tripadvisor readers. I am glad to read that you and your spouse enjoyed your stay and indeed your repeated preference.

We wish you well and look forward to see you again very soon.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel, stayed for one night in standard studio and room was spotlessly clean, well proportioned and very quiet. We had asked for rear facing room to avoid traffic noise and this had been accommodated. Very convenient location, friendly staff and it's so refreshing to come across a reasonably priced hotel that actually values customer service and feedback. Only slight gripe is breakfast was OK but could have been better - received feedback to say they acknowledge this and are working to improve it. Would definitely stay there again and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for rear facing room, ours was very quiet, no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience and for recommending us to the readers of this website. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay,

We are constantly listening to our guest to improve our services here at 196 Bishopsgate.

I hope I'll have the pleasure to welcome you back at 196 Bishopsgate in the near future, should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth,
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for one night to attend a play in the West End and I was bit worried that we would be too far out, but I needn't have worried as the transport was excellent.
The apartment was excellent with everything you could need provided. The standard of cleanliness was excellent and the breakfast was more than ample for the 2 of us - great idea to bring it to the room, especially as there was a dining table and all the crockery etc provided.
On Sunday morning we went for a walk around Petticoat Lane market which is just around the corner and then walked down to the Thames before going home.
We will think twice before booking a hotel in London after staying here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience with all our reader here on our TripAdvisor page

Most guest are not aware of how easy it is to from the hotel to the West End which is only six stops away via Central Line approximately 15 minutes ride.

It is nice to know that you were able to explore and walk around to visit the near by attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to 196 Bishopsgate.
Many thanks and kind regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport,U.K.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed two nights in a one bedroom apartment. Accommodation very good, comfortable bed and good duvet. Great position for getting around London. What made the place so good though was the friendly staff. Breakfast delivered to the apartment in the morning and a phone call to say that it was outside the door - no intrusion of knocking on the door, but a phone call to say that it was outside. Better than a hotel room. Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind review of your stay with us on our TripAdvisor page.

It is a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and how highly you appreciated the apartment layout and the friendly service you received. I will be delighted to share your comments with the team. We look forward welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed one night at 196 Bishopsgate Apartments and we would highly recommend it. Even with a 5am check out they managed to provide breakfast. We only wish we had another night there. We will definately return.

Room Tip: We were happy with a room to the rear with good views of the modern buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali A, Guest Relations Manager at 196 Bishopsgate, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your high scores and praises, this is the type of experience we strive to provide to all of our guests. The team would be proud to read that once again they were able to accomplish the mission of satisfying another happy departing guest.

Please do not hesistate to contact me if you need any assiatnce with your future booking. Hope to welcome you soon.

Regards,

Ali Alfred
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 196 Bishopsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 196 Bishopsgate

Address: 196 Bishopgate | Liverpool Street, London EC2M 4NR , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in London
#165 Family Hotel in London
#223 Business Hotel in London
#233 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 196 Bishopsgate 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your 196 Bishopsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
196 Bishopsgate Hotel London
196 Bishopsgate London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 196 Bishopsgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.