We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of My Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added My Place Hotel to your Saves list
My Place Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1-3 Trebovir Rd. | Earl's Court, London SW5 9LS, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #823 of 1,049 Hotels in London
NY,NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent 9 nights at My Place in Sept 2013. It is literally around the corner from the Earl's Court Tube station which is a stop from Heathrow airport on the Piccadilly line [so damn convenient], and a very easy connection to all of London.

This charming hotel, built in the early 1900's, does show its age and furniture can be worn and shabby, BUT it is kept very clean, great shower, elevator, cable TV, helpful and very pleasant front desk, good breakfast [and if it nice out, they have a patio], many restaurants, supermarkets, pubs, pharmacy, internet cafes, etc. within a two blocks of this colorful area.

Drawbacks? Well, very spotty Wi-Fi connection, and none in the rooms. But an internet café across the street is one pound/hr...nice deal.

I certainly would stay there again and for the price [about $85/night]it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    69
    103
    59
    71
See reviews for
36
89
51
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

I love the location of this hotel and would return just for that reason. The hotel and rooms themselves are very outdated but clean. You will love the nice hot showers with good water pressure. The complimentary continental breakfast is decent. If you don't mind a very basic room, this hotel is a great choice for price and location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very good localtion. Very near to Earls's Court Underground Station, so it is very easy to visit Tower Hill, Tower Bridge, London City and more. The Hotel staff are very polite and helpfull, and the hotelroom were held very clean and nice.

When booking this hotel, choose among the rooms which Windows are to the garden site !!!!!!!

Room Tip: When booking this hotel, choose among the rooms which Windows are to the garden site !!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Travelling to the London every year for the last 8 years, I've always stayed at My Place Hotel, the main reason is the location, close to the tube, I often travel on the District line and pick up the tube from Heathrow direct to Earls Court on the Piccadilly line, also, it's close to F.F.C .

Some of the rooms are a bit on the small size, what I do is move some of the unnecessary furniture out of the room until I leave. My main reason for travel is not to sit in my room and watch television, and when I do return I just sleep. There are improvements' being made at the hotel and it's a work in progress. The rooms are adequately cleaned daily, if they are not, I mention it to the management and wrongs are promptly rectified.

Breakfast is the important meal of the day, and being a vego I tend to miss what is served at the buffet. So cannot comment.

I give it the thumbs up. :-D

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was in London with work for one night - thankfully. I was put in a single room on the sixth floor. Let's start with the positives - the shower worked well and the room was reasonably clean, the staff was friendly and the hotel is conveniently near Earl's Court tube station. However, although I didn't have a cat with me I don't think I could have swung one in the smallest room I've ever stayed in. The single bed was only marginally wider than me but the worse thing was the heat, I tried opening the windows but this did not seem to make much difference even late at night. I used the fan provided to make things almost bearable but the situation in the early morning was not helped by the wafer thin roller blinds that failed to screen any of the light or heat from the rising sun. I would add that this was not during the recent heat wave but when it was warm, rather than hot weather.
The ambience of the room was not helped by the decrepit furniture - none of the drawers of the chest of drawers would open without a herculean effort - really welcome when bathed in 90 degree heat.
The final disappointment was the 'breakfast' - you have to give 24 hours notice - and an extra £10 - for a cooked breakfast, not much use when you're staying for one night and the continental version comprised of some flaccid ham and cheese. We (I was staying with two similarly unfortunate colleagues) got given some toast so we ate that with some brown stuff I think was coffee.
All the above was available for £100

Room Tip: At worst avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel in summer - at best avoid the hotel entirely all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Honestly, don't expect much. This is the best advice you will get- in fact don't expect anything except for running water and a bed, not mentioning comfy. I spent there a night last weekend, the staff was polite and the hotel looked average (that is if you do not look up- gaping holes and leak stains are a permanent part of decoration). Our double room was an alright size however one bed was double, the other single- surely you would want the same size beds? Or this could be at least specified in the description? It was extremely hot at night as air con did not work- my friend slept on the floor because it was the only chilly spot! The package included breakfast which was composed of cheap ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, toasts, eggs...And a fly which favoured buffet as her hang out. At least coffee was good (from a machine).

It's a good place to stay over in terms of budget. But lower your expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Receptionists where friendly enough, after we got our key and checked in I was a bit disappointed. Being a housekeeper myself in a 3* hotel, some things let me down: the fridge was not cleaned at all and was very dirty, their were lots of hairs in the shower, the bedroom fan and telephone was dusty and the bathroom floor was not very clean. After walking around on the carpet bare footed, my feet began to get dirty. There is no bath in the bathroom but an extremely tiny shower ( if you are a dress size 16 or above, you have no chance ). Also, a weird thing was, we had to turn on the bathroom light by flipping a switch inside our wardrobe. The hotel is very dated and shabby but a plus side is it's right next the underground train station but I won't be coming here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Place Hotel

Address: 1-3 Trebovir Rd. | Earl's Court, London SW5 9LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #823 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Place Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My Place Hotel is located on a quiet street in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea. The hotel is located just seconds from Earls Court Underground Station (Piccadilly and District Lines) with quick and easy access to London's West End and Heathrow AirportThe hotel comprises of 49 bedrooms and contains a mixture of single, double, executive double, twin and triple bedrooms which all have en-suite bathrooms. The hotel is spread out over 6 floors and with lift access to all floors. Single rooms comprise of one single bed; Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed; Executive Double rooms comprise of one standard double bed with a sofa area; Twin rooms comprise of two single beds; Triple rooms comprise of either three single beds or one double and one single bed.Breakfast is served between 8am- 9.30am. Continental Breakfast is complimentary and consists of toast, cheese, ham, butter, hard-boiled eggs, jams, yoghurts, fruit cocktails, cereals and muesli. Full English breakfasts cost £9.95 per person and must be ordered a day in advance. Alternative options for breakfast are also available from our breakfast menu. Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel, however, the signal strengh in some rooms can be relatively low. If this is the case we have a lounge area and conference room on the ground floor which is available to all guests 24 hours a day. We do not have a carpark at the hotel and advise all guests who drive to the hotel to park their cars in a nearby carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your My Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Place London
Place Hotel London
Hotel My Place
My Place Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.