We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castleton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castleton Hotel to your Saves list
Castleton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #641 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We moved here at the last minute due to the other hotel we had booked not having disabled access. I can't compliment the staff enough, every one of them that we encountered was friendly and helpful, it really helped us enjoy our stay. Breakfast was basic english breakfast, nice bacon and sausage with toast and coffee brought to the table.
We stayed in a basement room, brill for the wheelchair with a massive wet room that really did make all the difference.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    148
    130
    46
    34
See reviews for
86
118
59
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here, because me and my sister wanted to extend our stay in London and we had limited options to chose from. We chose this hotel, because it's located near Paddington Station. It's really a two minute walk (walk out of the station, cross the street and just basically walk straight forward, you can enter at nr 22). The hotel employees were really helpful and when we asked for a room on a higher floor, we got a room on the second floor. The room itself was actually meant for three persons, so it had a twin bed and an extra bed near the window. It wasn't as small as I expected (I expected the worst, reading the reviews, but it wasn't as bad as I thought). The furniture and carpet were dated, but it was clean. The bathroom was small and the shower even smaller (and i'm small... I'm 1.55m). You couldn't lock the hotelroom from the inside, which I didn't like and when people in the adjoining room closed or opened their room, it sounded like my door was being opened or closed...not really a safe feeling, so we put our suitcase against it.

We really booked the hotel because of the location and for one night this hotel was okay and really simple, but quite expensive for what you get. I wouldn't want to stay here for more days. You can't really chill here. The neighbourhood is nice though with restaurants and it's quiet in the evening,

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Not the best of hotels. We were in Basement room. (No view) . Double and 2 signal beds. Not much room for moving and small compact bedroom . For our needs this hotel suited as we just wished to sleep in it for one night. if I was staying longer would not gVe been happy. breakfast was ok , sausage,bacon ,egg , beans, toast and cereal. One good point was that it was close to Paddington tube station .

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL,M'sia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Castleton is actually converted from an old Victorian house located at Sussex Gardens along a row of other small / boutique hotels and is really near the Paddington Station and Heathrow Express. There are also many small eateries just outside the hotel. As I shifted to this hotel from a 5 star hotel just to be closer to the station which allows for easier handling of my huge luggage, my expectations of the hotel was not that high. What I wanted was just a clean place with warm bath to call it a night. I stayed at Castleton for 1 night and then checked-out to go to the Lake District and rechecked-in again for just another night. Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent service level received. The reception was attentive and most helpful especially Talal who generously waived the luggage storage fees for me when I informed of my total ignorance of such fees and he even acceded to my request to be given the same room ( which is in fact an upgrade ) upon my return !! The rooms at Castleton screams of needs to be brightened up and some mattresses replaced. The rooms were too dimly lit and the bathroom … oh the bathroom !! It is so small that there is hardly space to turn. I thought modular bathrooms were only used in Japan !! Well, it will definitely be a challenge for any adult Caucasians of regular build. However, I would still return for a stay at Castleton though because of its strategic location, fantastic service and adequate breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 206 is pretty decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Old Victorian house converted into a hotel (as many around Sussex Gardens) with a familiar environment and a good service. So near from Paddington Station, for good communication with airports and subway. Also near the Lancaster Gate subway station for more metro lines. Not a hotel near many interest sites (but Hyde Park), you will need to get a transport to visit the city. A good area with many hotels at good prices, probably the biggest "good price" hotel area of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms in the high floors are more quiet. Not many big rooms, but well distributed and organized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

I found the Castleton, clean simple, with polite staff and not a bad breakfast.

It's prob not quite 4 star but I lot better then a number around Paddington I have tried for the same money, would be happy to use again at the £84 for a double room I got on late rooms

The keys are massive and can't be taken away so don't forget your room number!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Great location, close to Paddington station and a few interesting restaurants, friendly staff, abundant English breakfast, clean -yet small- room and minuscule bathroom -rather cabin than room- Still, good value for money. My safe place when visiting London.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #641 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castleton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.