We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No-frills and good value (for London)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Castleton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castleton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castleton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #618 of 1,073 hotels in London
Aveiro, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No-frills and good value (for London)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in a triple room during the Paralympics. Had a good stay overall, since the hotel has an excellent location, within a very short walk to 2 underground stations and Hyde Park, with lots of restaurants, fast-food joints and mini-markets down London Street.
The room was tiny - something to be expected in London for this price range. The bathroom was minuscule - those pre-fabs that barely fit one adult, but functional. Beds were ok, the window was soundproofed and there is enough space for one medium bag on the floor - but not much more.
Breakfast was a simple english style, meaning that if one does not like sausages and beans will have a hard time eating it...
Recommended for the excellent location and good value, but one has to bear in mind that its a simple hotel - good for those looking for a place to sleep but not much more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    138
    121
    42
    32
See reviews for
79
112
57
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for one night for £84 in a double room. Clean and comfortable. Well located. Usual small room as you would expect in London. But bigger than many. Friendly, helpful and knowledgable staff. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in the Castleton in a quad room as there were four of us going to a concert.

It was perfect for what we needed, 2 minutes from the station, somewhere to put our heads down.

Not sure i would stay again if I was staying for more than one night, but perfect when on a budget. Reception staff very helpful and breakfast was brilliant.

Would recommend for quick stopover.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Castleton Hotel and it is always a pleasure. The staff are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much of a problem. Each room has its own airconditioner so you can adjust it as you like. On the cooler days, the staff turn it on for you so that when you return to the room it is already warm. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you are single and female. So close to Paddington train station and accessible to banks, shops and the rest of London.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is great, tube literally 2 minutes walk away, Hyde Park also. A choice of restaurants just across the road (Italian very good, Sawyers Arms or something, a pub, really great and authentic). My only problem with the place: the room! We had a quadruple room (family with 2 kids), and the Hotel has two of these. Both are located in what they call the lower ground floor - the basement. No daylight at all, draughty passages. Our room (110) had just enough room for the two single and one double bed, plus one small bedside table and a wardrobe with enough room for one person's things. All fairly new though and looked nice. Problem: The window was in fact a locked wooden door with a 5mm wide gap between the door and the frame, which led to a constant icy wind cutting through the room (draught from there to room door which also had a wide gap at the bottom). As others have noted, it was freezing cold in the room, so we turned the air-con unit up on the wall onto a 27 degree storm from upper right to counter the ice storm from below left. Our kids slept in the middle. We would therefore recommend you don't take the 4-bed rooms and insist on a room above ground! The breakfast room was only down the passage from our room and was fine for a winter's stay.

Room Tip: We had a quadruple room (family with 2 kids), and the Hotel has two of these. Both are located in wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The descriptions and pictures on booking sites give a bit of a false impression, the rooms are very small with double bedshaving one side against a wall making it difficult to get in and out for one person. The descriptions also said all rooms have large windows, but in room 108 you would need to be a highjumper just to reach the window making it a bit claustrophobic and pushing 2 single beds together do not make a double room. Breakfast was reasonable and and the place was clean, it isn't a 3 star as in the description but it is an adequate base for a short stay in London

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I spent one night at the Castleton Hotel after a 4 and a half hour flight from Cyprus with a friend. After getting the Heathrow Express, we found the hotel very easily. The location is brilliant for Paddington Station.

When we arrived, we quickly got our key and went to our room. Out freezing cold room. It was -4degrees outside and the wall heater was not working. Plus, the room was right next to the huge extractor fans, so with single pane windows, it was very noisy. We went to complain about the lack of heat and the receptionist pressed some buttons on his controller and said it would warm up soon. It didn't. I rang and complained, and we were given a tiny heater to warm the room, which it didn't. We were so tired, we decided to just get into bed, fully dressed with our coats on. The beds were clean as was the small bathroom.

After a very unsettled night sleep, we had a shower etc and went for breakfast. The breakfast was not great wth a very limited selection which included cold beans! It also advertised that there was hot chocolate, which there wasn't. Not a huge problem normally, but I was so cold and don't drink tea or coffee.

For location this place is perfect and in the warmer months I'm sure the rooms would be more bearable. However, for us, the inability to get warm really put a downer on the visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castleton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.