We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castleton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castleton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castleton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #618 of 1,073 hotels in London
Fairhope, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I visit London every 4 years or so with friends to sitesee. We like to stay in the Paddington Area as we are familiar with the area and it is close to the Underground. I share an room with another adult so I always have a twin room.

Castleton Hotel: rooms are small but they are small at all budget hotels. Think cruise ship, versus an American hotel. Bathrooms are small but sames goes for every hotel I've stayed in London. The Castleton was clean, housekeeping was great, and the full English Breakfast in the morning was quick and tasty. Staff was friendly and helpful. I left my backpack (probably due to jetlag) in the lobby, and they put it in storage for me when I came back. Having a lift to get luggage to the room was a first of me for a hotel of this type.

Would definitely stay here again.

Problems: Not very warm showers. The temperature could only be adjusted to mildy warm. Hot showers would have been most welcome on a cold winter night. Temperature in the room could be a bit warm even after turning the thermostat to 18C. Housekeeping always turned the heat up while clean room. Tea kettle in room for tea in the morning was a plus as well.

Room Tip: We were on second floor and had not problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    140
    123
    42
    33
See reviews for
80
114
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dongguan, China
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Completely refurbished (unusual for this area), reasonably priced (£46), spacious (unusual for this area) and friendly, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

The breakfast buffet is "traditional (i.e. fairly limited range) but served to a high standards in a very pleasant basement room, the wifi is good, there is a lift (unusual for this area) and the staff are friendly

I had some slight difficulty with the heating and the hot water supply to the shower (it was minus 3 outside) but the bathroom is modern, clean, well appointed with good quality toiletries, liquid "milk-like-substance" for the coffee (instead of powder) but otherwise no complaints whatsoever

Room Tip: 105 was fine. No view, but spacious and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Castleton a few times before. It's very close to Paddington Station, so a good underground service is almost on the doorstep. I find the prices of the rooms at this hotel fluctuate a great deal, so I only use the hotel if the price is a good one when I look it up on the internet.
I will make one point over and above the common thread comments already covered by other contributors here. Some of the rooms are on half landings, so the lift might not stop at the same landing as your room number would suggest. A few trips up and down the lift or stairs will soon give you a reasonable understanding of the hotel layout though

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i agree with many other positive reviews.A decent hotel at a reasonable price. Single room was small, but clean and comfortable .Self service cooked breakfast was excellent, with good quality sausages and bacon. I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed for only one night in a single room and for the price it was an ok hotel. its literally 2 minutes from the paddignton station which was convenient for me. room was small but didnt need much. ensuite is small (airline bathroom) so if you want bigger or to stay for longer then this might not be the place for you and is a bit musty in there. apart from all this, i would go there again for a short stay. 24 hour conceirge and breakfast was a proper one, not the one that is usually advertised as English and all you get is cereal and toast. this one had bacon, eggs, juice, sausages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in hotel on short trip to London. Hotel in a good location, close to tube stop. Great service, room clean, nice breakfast.

Only downside was room was small, but that did not bother us, as we were there only to sleep as was busy exploring London.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Within 5 mins walk of Paddington station, any closer you could watch the trains !

Nice busy area of London, bars shops restaurants about

Dropped bags off early do we could sight see and enjoy London, they also looked after our bags when we checked out so we could do the same,

Room was a smallish double, with a pre-formed shower and toilet cubicle, lots off hot water in shower

Very clean and serviceable All usual bits TV, tea,coffee

Breakfast excellent, well cooked very very tasty, nice smiling pleasant staff

Really enjoyed short stay, would def use again

Within 20 mins walk of marble arch ,Hyde park

75£ for two Inc breakfast great value :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castleton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.