We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castleton Hotel

Save Saved
You added Castleton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castleton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #618 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Suffolk UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice and central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Castleton a few times before. It's very close to Paddington Station, so a good underground service is almost on the doorstep. I find the prices of the rooms at this hotel fluctuate a great deal, so I only use the hotel if the price is a good one when I look it up on the internet.
I will make one point over and above the common thread comments already covered by other contributors here. Some of the rooms are on half landings, so the lift might not stop at the same landing as your room number would suggest. A few trips up and down the lift or stairs will soon give you a reasonable understanding of the hotel layout though

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    142
    125
    43
    33
See reviews for
82
115
58
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i agree with many other positive reviews.A decent hotel at a reasonable price. Single room was small, but clean and comfortable .Self service cooked breakfast was excellent, with good quality sausages and bacon. I would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed for only one night in a single room and for the price it was an ok hotel. its literally 2 minutes from the paddignton station which was convenient for me. room was small but didnt need much. ensuite is small (airline bathroom) so if you want bigger or to stay for longer then this might not be the place for you and is a bit musty in there. apart from all this, i would go there again for a short stay. 24 hour conceirge and breakfast was a proper one, not the one that is usually advertised as English and all you get is cereal and toast. this one had bacon, eggs, juice, sausages.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night in hotel on short trip to London. Hotel in a good location, close to tube stop. Great service, room clean, nice breakfast.

Only downside was room was small, but that did not bother us, as we were there only to sleep as was busy exploring London.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Within 5 mins walk of Paddington station, any closer you could watch the trains !

Nice busy area of London, bars shops restaurants about

Dropped bags off early do we could sight see and enjoy London, they also looked after our bags when we checked out so we could do the same,

Room was a smallish double, with a pre-formed shower and toilet cubicle, lots off hot water in shower

Very clean and serviceable All usual bits TV, tea,coffee

Breakfast excellent, well cooked very very tasty, nice smiling pleasant staff

Really enjoyed short stay, would def use again

Within 20 mins walk of marble arch ,Hyde park

75£ for two Inc breakfast great value :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you got much closer to Paddington you would be on the platform !

Room was clean and functional , would class it as a small double, ideal for crash pad after walking London sites,

People have been down about the showers, these are smallish performed units,,I'm not a small guy and they fitted me easy with lots off hot water, and more important to me very clean,


area has bars and cafes,shops. Typical busy London

Breakfast was excellent, sausages well cooked and tasty as was the rest

Staff very pleasant and helpful, looked after our luggage when we checked out, so we didn't have to lug it around, they also allowed us top drop it off earlier to do the same.

Wi-fi free and the best I've ever had in any hotel and we where on the third floor!


Lots within walking distance Oxford street /marble arch 15 mins walk


Really recommend this place ,ideal simple clean budget hotel ,£ 75 for a twin including eat as much as you want breakfast in London

Just don't expect big rooms !

I'll use it again :-)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

based about 2 city blocks from Paddington Station makes this hotel a perfect medium priced
hotel for daily excursions in, and around London via both the Underground or the National
trains out to the countryside.
Yes, the hotel rooms are small and the bathroom is tiny but are very clean and staff was great.
English breakfast standard is fine unless you get tired and want something else which they
only have cereal and toast.
Plenty of eating places literally across the street and the green Harrods buss will pickup you
up right next door if you decide to use there package bus tour of London.
Would stay there again as the area is well lit and easily accessible and staff welcoming.
Lift was broken for few days but luckily we were on 1st floor.

Room Tip: Wifi in lobby and on first floor worked ok but room too small for business travelers. 2 people in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleton Hotel

Address: 164-166 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UD , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castleton Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best value Paddington Hotels, and situated in the heart of London Paddington, The Castleton Hotel is the ideal base for exploring the capital. Located very close to Hyde Park, many of London's most famous attractions are within walking distance and Paddington Station, with its excellent transport links, is just a short walk away. The Heathrow Express train from Paddington can transport you to Heathrow Airport in only 15 minutes.The Castleton Hotel offers 46 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning, central heating, satellite television, lift access and telephone. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 45GBP per night and up to four people from 89GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked English breakfast and all taxes.With comfortable rooms to ensure a restful night's sleep, and friendly staff available around the clock to offer whatever assistance you might require during your stay, The Castleton Hotel offers excellent value for money.We look forward to welcoming you to The Castleton - the ideal London Paddington Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleton Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castleton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.