We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel near Paddington Station” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Caring Hotel to your Saves list
Caring Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Craven Hill Gardens, London W2 3EA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #434 of 1,066 Hotels in London
West Virginia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel near Paddington Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a pleasant 2 night stay at the end of June. We were in room 40 (en suite) on the top floor of the hotel . Be forewarned that you will climb four sets of stairs to the top floor (the last 2 sets are quite narrow and steep making it quite a workout trying to maneuver luggage).

The room was large for London hotels however the en suite was very compact but manageable. The shower had great water pressure. We reserved a double but luckily they gave us a triple (two beds pushed together plus a single bed on the other side of the room). A minor annoyance was the bed was on wheels and would roll away from the wall/headboard leaving a gap that my pillow would fall into. As for the rest of the room, there was plenty of storage space in the closet in the room. And the night stands and a small dresser provided plenty of space for storing sundry items that we had unpacked.

The continental style breakfast was plentiful including cereal, bread, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea, etc. (The second morning we opted to walk up near Paddington Station (10 mins walk) to get a full English breakfast at a little place called Raffles….Full English brekkie for 3 or 4 pounds sterling!).

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would gladly make a repeat visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    320
    95
    27
    5
See reviews for
92
266
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Located in the nice center of London, in a peaceful quarter (north of Kensington Gardens), the Caring Hotel proposed simple but comfortable rooms for a reasonable cost compared to the prices practised by hotels in London. The reception is personalized and helpful.

Room Tip: There is no lift and three floors, so choose a room situated at the first floor if you're tired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotels in London can be expensive, especially if you want a nice one close to the city. The Caring Hotel is reasonably priced and close to the city center. It's clean, well maintained, comfortable, and the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. It's in a very nice neighbourhood on a quiet street (get the feel of what it's like to live in London). There are several tube stations nearby - about a 10 minute walk to/from the hotel. We initially used Queensway but in order to get from the platform to the street level you have to use an elevator and one of the two was broken. We switched to Bayswater and were very glad we did. The walk is much more pleasant (through neigbourhood streets instead of along a busy road) and there are lot's of shops in Bayswater (grocery, souvenir, restaurants, etc...). My new favorite restaurant in London is the Bayswater Arms - good prices, good service, busy but always found somewhere to sit. The fish and chips are great, and the bangers and mash and apple pie and custard are fantastic. Note that the Caring Hotel does not have AC, but since London does not have a summer... The breakfast is pretty basic (cold cereal, toast, fruit, boiled eggs, juice) but it's good and free, and the ladies who work there do a tremendous job. Overall, highly recommend the Caring Hotel. We've stayed in much nicer and way more expensive hotels in London, but considering the price/quality/location/service combination we'd definitely stay at the Caring Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

If you need accomodation while staying in London, choose this hotel. It is located in a quiet street, at the same time central - 4 underground stations are nearby. The rooms are functional and 100% clean. The service is extremely helpful. Ever again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Awesome - what more can I say..... Within walking distance to plenty of attractions with some lovely local places to eat. We stayed in a double with ensuite - the room was clean and spacious with fresh linen daily. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us when our booking was wrong. The breakfast was a great selection of cereal, fruit and toast... For the price this p,ace was 5star.....

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

i can honestly say that i was very surprised. i did not expect the room to be so nice, it even seemed a little bleak on the photos. but it was very very nice and tidy. we stayed for two nights and had to share the bathroom, but, it was clean and it perfectly accommodated all our needs. the extra sink in the bedroom is the perfect touch. not to mention the great breakfast we had, and the free WiFi they offer. staff is very friendly and helpful. the third floor was not such a biiig problem, you prepare your self for it and just go :)
all in all, excellent service and positioning in Bayswater area, so near the beautiful Hyde park. 10 min walk to Paddington station. keep up with the great work. i definitely recommend it! cheers :)

Room Tip: the third floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in June with my mother and brother for the weekend and we had a wonderful stay. The room was very clean and spacious with 2 double beds. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The best thing about the hotel was the location, very central and easy access to the tube. Very reasonable considering how expensive central hotels in London normally cost. Will definitely be using this hotel again!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caring Hotel

Address: 24 Craven Hill Gardens, London W2 3EA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #434 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caring Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you travel for business or pleasure, we look forward to welcoming You at the Caring Hotel, in our tradition of courteous service and superb hospitality. The Caring is a family run business (for over 25 years) situated in a quiet location, in the prestigious part of central London, only a short distance from the north side of Hyde Park, Oxford Street and the West End. Our main focus is on providing comfortable and clean accommodation, coupled with the most commonly sought after guest services and reasonable eco-sense, at prices which represent good value for money for the location. Paddington station, Queensway underground station, bus stops and all kinds of amenities are easily within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Caring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caring Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.