We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok budget hotel ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lidos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lidos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lidos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #382 of 1,071 hotels in London
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ok budget hotel ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I've stayed in better, and stayed in worse! It's clean, the staff are friendly, the bed was ok and the shower wasn't bad. The room is tiny, as is the bathroom. Basic but not bad for cheap London hotel - bathroom etc looked newly done out. As with all london hotels, a lot of noise - from the street and the room above!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    105
    47
    32
    37
See reviews for
68
73
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having 36hrs to spare before returning home we booked Lidos on line based on several reviews and the fact that no rooms available at Best Western. The location for touring on foot or by public transit is excellent. We got a deal on triple room which was nice to have a single bed to lay out suitcases. The bath was so small we took pictures to show friends at home. The room fronted on Belgrave Rd where the traffic noise never stops and because there is no air movement in the room the window had to be open to get any comfort from hot and stuffy room. On the positive the staff at reception, breakfast room and maid service were all excellent.

Room Tip: Stay in room away from main street... ask for fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We only needed clean beds and an ensuite bathroom for one overnight in London. The Lidos met our expectations apart from the fact that our room, facing onto Belgrave Road, was very noisy. It was a warm night and there was neither air conditioning nor double glazing so we slept (intermittently) with the window open.
Staff were efficient and friendly. Basic breakfast. Decor fresh and bright. For the price, I would not have expected more.

Room Tip: Maybe basement or rear of hotel would be preferable to the front - but as we did not try these, I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Got a great deal on a single room for a Sunday night stay over August bank holiday. Good location within easy walking distance of Victoria coach station. Barclays cycle hire station opposite the hotel. Friendly and helpful reception staff, with free luggage storage. The room, although quite small, was very clean, with a modern bathroom. The free in-room wifi was a bonus. Breakfast was included, consisting of a selection of cereals, yoghurt, toast, croissants, plus fruit juice, tea and coffee, all served in a neat and tidy breakfast room.
For a central London hotel it would be difficult to beat for the price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice decor, comfortable and great location near Victoria but .... rude man on reception (other staff very nice), no double glazing, noisy road with buses, crowded twin room, breakfast room too crowded too.

Room Tip: At back away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location. walked to Buckingham Palace, Westminster Cathedral and 'Wicked' Arrived by 24 bus which stopped outside. Quiet- have paid more in London for less with traffic thundering past . But this was comfy, clean and quiet. Newly refurb and good room service at low cost!Tea/ coffee and TV and new towels each day. A super shower too.Room was a bit small but it did not bother us at all. Provided good amenities at low cost. Sainsburys near and local coffee bars and restaurants. The Italian opposite 'Wicked ' fitted us in for a pre theatre meal. Great food at £10 for Spag bol. We arrived in London Saturday afternoon and surprisingly managed to go to the theatre and get tickets to see the show for the evening performance! There were a variety of prices available- no need to go the the theatre outlet boxes in Leicester Square. Will stay here when in London again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Me and my boyfriend was definitely happy with our stay here and we recommend this to everyone ! The location is convenient..just 5mins walk to london victoria coach station and same with train/tube/underground station which is great because we didn't have to take taxi. When we arrived, we were greeted and the check in was very fast and easy. Receptionist then told us that they serve breakfast from 7am-9am which we didn't have the chance to try as our flight was early in the morning. that time, there was a renovation going on but it didn't bother us as the hotel was still clean and everything seems to be in place. I was floored when we used the elevator as it was new and modern, better than the elevator of crowne plaza's hotel near buckingham where we last stayed. It''s also a plus to have bus stop just literally in front of this hotel ! We took bus 24 to go to trafalgar square..while in the bus on our way there, we saw loads of restaurants and there was a sainsbury's and tesco nearby..all we needed was just around the corner so we were happy..we were definitely happy with the location and would prefer it than crowne plaza's location.. oh, also, the receptionist would always greet you everytime you would leave and arrive..which many hotel receptionist don't do..we felt very comfortable and welcomed !

Our room as double en-suite.. i would say that it was very clean.. everything was new like the carpet, tv, the wall paper..the only thing that we didn't like was the old-looking blue super thin duvet, but then again, you have the choice not to use it as another 2 blankets were provided.. the best part of the room was the newly renovated bathroom ! 2 towels were provided, hand wash soap, shower gel and tissue too ! overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations and we would definitely stay here everytime we'll be in london..we prefer this hotel than crown plaza's..we also highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

Restaurant Tip: Love the Italian restaurant near the hotel and we didn't like the Mexican restaurant as the food they offered aren't authentic..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lidos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidos Hotel

Also Known As:
Lidos Hotel London
Lidos Hotel London, England
Address: 45 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
#301 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidos Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Lidos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lidos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.