We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lidos Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lidos Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lidos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #392 of 1,075 hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The price for this hotel is excellent considering the location. Buckingham Palace is less than 15 mins walk away and Victoria station is 5 mins up the road giving you access to the entire underground network. Pimlico station is nearer but you can get onto more lines from Victoria so for sightseeing purposes I'd just go there to connect to the other lines.
The rooms are clean and of a decent size for the price. The bathroom was brand new and again spotlessly clean. If you want somewhere to stay in London over a weekend to do some sightseeing you can't go wrong with this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    121
    54
    32
    38
See reviews for
76
84
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Apart from the fact that the construction work is stil in progress, and som light hammering and drilling outside from around 09.am to 6.pm, the hotel has a desent standard, and are far better than the hotel next door (central house hotel), the bathroom is realy nice and absolutley the perfect size for a short visit to London, the fact that the hotel is so close to victoria coach station is only a pluss, a 4/5 min walk, there are plenty of good places to eat breakfirst, the continental breakfirst on the hotel is not something I would recomend.
Nice staff, and desent service. Housekeeping does a great job, rooms are cleaned once a day.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The rooms are very small but nice and clean. Bathroom is spotless. Hotel employees are nice and always willing to help. When I visited in December 2011 there were workers with leaders all over the place but I suppose the renovations are finished by now. Place for improvement: breakfast. Not too bad but still far from plentiful.
Great position and reasonable price would make me come again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Previously I stayed at Corbigoe Hotel on the same road, so I found Lidos much better: much newer decoration, nice bathroom, towels, a lift!!! But yes, the room was very small.
For little money and central location I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I went to Lidos about 10 days ago with my boyfriend, and we stayed there for 1 week.
Its position is really strategic, because it is near...all, such as Victoria Station, Victoria Coach Station, Buckingham Palace (about 15 mins by feet), and bus stop 24 is in front of hotel's main entrance.
Breakfast is from 7 am to 9 am, and it's continental...it's good but not abundant.
Lidos' staff is really kind and helpful.
The rooms and the bathrooms are very small but brand new because they have been restructured; they are clean kept very well.
Unfortunately renovations are not finished, so you can see workers walking the corridor and working with their tools.
Surely I will return there when I'll go again to London!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel was a perfect place for a short stay. I visited for 5 days with my granddaughter's 16th birthday. While the rooms were very small and the accommodations far from luxurious, the hotel staff were very kind and helpful. Best if all, it was sited within easy walking distance to many of London's best features including Buckingham Palace and St. James Park. Were I to visit again for a short city-stay, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is in a good location - I took my 3 daughters to London to see a couple of shows and visit some art galleries. We stayed for one night - the room we had was fairly shabby - but the hotel is having a much needed over haul. The breakfast was very basic - but the coffee was good!!. It was spoilt somewhat by the builders smoking right outside the breakfast room window - and the smoke wafted through whilst we were eating our coissants.
The hotel reception staff are very friendly. And we surprisingly judging by some of the other comments - slept very soundly. However we were right next to the canteen style breakfast room and we were woken very early. I think with hind sight we could have found a cheaper hotel - but with the Olympic Games looming - who knows???...this particular road seems full of hotels.

Room Tip: If you don't want to wake up early - avoid the basement - breakfast is 'served'....from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lidos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lidos Hotel

Address: 45 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
#334 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lidos Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Lidos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lidos Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lidos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.