We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stop through for Lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borough Market

Borough Market
8 Southwark Street, London SE1 1TL, England (Southwark)
44 20 7407 1002
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Borough Market like an insider
Special Offer
$76*
and up
London Super Saver: Royal London Bike Tour plus...
Ranked #15 of 2,327 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amazing food market dating back to the 13th century.
Smyrna, Georgia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stop through for Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Most of our trips to London are day trips and we spend them dotting around the city. We popped in here for the first time and absolutely loved it. Tons of great food stalls and eateries with great tasting and reasonably priced food. This is the perfect place to browse through to get some good food for lunch on the go. Absolutely loved the atmosphere as well.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,261
    815
    97
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best market for food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you are looking for the best food experience in London, this is the perfect place! There are all kinds of food and drinks from around the world that you can think of! (I didn't know there's something called "chocolate wine".) Most of the products sold here is organic, fresh, cheaper and more diverse (compared to grocery stores like Sainsbury and Tesco). People are very friendly! You can also get free samples from many stalls such as olive oil, bread, cookies, cheese, organic hand-made granola, paté, curry, etc. This is a great place to hangout with your friends, to shop, or just simply to discover new kinds of food and drinks!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Went to Borough market today. the atmosphere was nice and amazing. this is my third visits to the market. unfortunately, I still haven't got a chance to try to monmouth coffee and the fried scallops.
there are lots of stalls selling homemade cheese and fresh vegs. I like the tasting experiences in the market. You can find your own taste before purchased. the traders are very helpful will answer all your questions about their product.

However, I find that the seafood a little pricy there.

If you drop off from the London Bridge tube station is a easy way to reach the Market.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Massive choice of great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

An amazing place - so many different kinds of food and drink. Need to go again when the larder and fridge are emptier!
Particularly impressed with the greengrocers' stalls - everything well displayed and prices very fair (especially for central London).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yum Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Very busy but worth it! If you love tasting different cuisines it is the place to go! Great fresh produce sold by people who take the time to help you chose.

I bought some cheese and bread which was divine and the staff took the time to help me chose exactly what I wanted. They will let you taste first too so you know you're buying something you like!

If you're hungry buy a Boston burger from Boston Sausage. They are simply delicious. Quality sausage meat in a burger shape with red onion chutney and Stilton. I drool at the thought of it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borough Market also viewed

 

Been to Borough Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borough Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.