We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food but Noisey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Victoria to your Saves list
The Victoria
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   10 West Temple Sheen, London SW14 7RT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #79 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Nottingham, UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Food but Noisey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Some friends and I stayed here for a concert at Twickenham as it was easy to get to on the train from Mortlake (a 5-min taxi ride from the hotel).

We were in the two twins and also in a single. The rooms were fine although the one on the ground floor had a very dirty carpet by the door and the towel rail was leaking rusty coloured water on the white towels. The downstairs room also suffered from being near the kitckens so there was a fair bit of noise late at night and early in the morning. We were waken early by the planes going over, though - 6:15am to be precise! So take some ear plugs...

On the positive side the food is amazing. In the summer they offer a BarBQ - the spicy lamb burgers were fabulous as was the spit roast chicken and the hake. And the thrice cooked chips were gorgeous. Breakfast was continental (unless you paid extra) but there was a great selection and all that we really needed.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs room as you get a lot of noise from other guests coming in and the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheVic7rt, Owner at The Victoria, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Firstly, we would like to thank you for coming to stay with us at The Victoria. The issues you experience regarding the dirty carpet and the towel rail leak is very disappointing for you and us as we try our best to ensure all areas are maintained to a very high standard.

We immediately closed off this room and had the carpet steam cleaned and a plumber in to fix the leak, which had not been highlighted to us earlier. Due to the fact that this is the only room external to the main hotel building, as a standard practice from now on, we are going to have this steam cleaned on a far more regular basis.

Unfortunately the Heathrow flight path occasionally gets changed so planes fly via the South West and this is something we have no control over, however this is not a consistent pattern.

We do hope that you choose to come back and stay with us again, and please quote your TripAdvisor review and we will arrange a suitable discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
30
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very nice hotel and clean rooms. However be warned! although I booked B&B I did not find out that it was only a continental breakfast until there. You could upgrade for a fee but apparently the kitchen doesn't cook til 8.30am. No good to me as I had work to get to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Excellent communication, quality snack food as well as presentation and a very friendly welcome.
Was very busy on a Friday evenng but we were well served.
We didn't stay here in the B&B but simply reserved an area for our party.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently had a meal at the Victoria in East Sheen. The restaurant is in The Victoria pub, hidden away in the back streets of East Sheen. There is free parking behind the pub, which is very useful if you are driving into the City.

The restaurant is fairly rambling, set behind a bar clearly used by locals and their dogs, who indifferently made no attempt to let anyone pass, despite being politely asked.

The menu was nouveau pub, including deserts served in marmalade jars. Service was brisk and efficient, but impersonal, with little eye contact. Food was OK, but expensive for what it was. I had a steak, which consisted of a 4"" diameter very fatty ribby eye, steak quite well cooked accompanied by a bowl of floury chunky chips, a bowl of indifferent salad and a large bowl of bearnaise sauce. At just under £20 this was poor value.

Overall, not greatly impressed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

It is such a rarity, especially when the two of you already have such high standards, that your expectations are not only met but exceeded! We recently held our wedding reception at The Victoria, where Greg, Paul and his fabulous team looked after us with exquisite attention to detail so subtly performed that they all appeared totally relaxed - real 'swanning' skills!
Our guests have continued to comment on how amazing the food was, how great the wine was (we've even had to send out a list to people of the wine choices!) and how fantastically professional and friendly the staff were. We really were treated with such warmth and a genuine desire for us to have a great day - which we did. To everyone at The Victoria, thank you so much, we really couldn't have had a better day.... and the best breakfast I've ever had the morning after was definitely appreciated too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Three friends and I stayed recently ,we were down for the England ,New Zealand rugby match .

We arrived at lunchtime and the place had a real warm buzz to it ,real fires burning ,people eating and chatting away we loved it .

We had four rooms which were all of a great standard and spotlessly clean,breakfast was also fabulous,fantastic coffee .

The selection of real ales and wines were great,we cant wait to visit later in the year .

I wish The Victoria was at the bottom of my road !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This restaurant/pub is hidden away in a lovely part of sheen. When you walk in you go straight into the pub array which looked lovely, very friendly with a nice roaring fire. However we were shown into a conservatory at the rear which is where the restaurant tables are laid out. I have to say is was completely characterless, someone on our table actually likened to a day room at a nursing home it was that soul less. The food itself wasn't bad but at the same time lacked anything special or creative. My steak, as a previous review also mentioned, was cold by the time it came out to me. We also found the service very impersonal....the were 2 waiters who made you feel wholly unwelcome. They answered you back and practically threw items on the table.
Lovely as the was I shan't be returning here at any point in th future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria

Address: 10 West Temple Sheen, London SW14 7RT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria is a public house and dining room with hotel rooms set in a leafy residential area by Richmond Park. All seven hotel rooms, refurbished in May 2011, feature: Queen sized beds • en-suite shower rooms • Egyptian cotton bedding • Wi-Fi access • Flat screen television • IPod docking system • Complimentary tea and coffee • Complimentary mineral water • Preferential restaurant reservations during your stay. The refurbished pub and dining room have some charming new features and some original old features which have been lovingly restored under the ownership of critically acclaimed Chef Paul Merrett and Restaurateur Greg Bellamy. Enjoy delicious food in our conservatory dining room, with sumptuous wine from our extensive list. Relax with a pint and a steak sandwich in the pub. Chill at the weekend with brunch or a roast, while the children enjoy the outdoor play area. Gossip over coffee with home-made cake or unwind with a summer BBQ in our beautiful garden. After all that, you’ll need a good night’s sleep in one of our popular en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.