We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 10 Greek Street

10 Greek Street
10 Greek Street, London, England
020-7734-4677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #362 of 17,929 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This neighborhood restaurant in Soho has the kind of food you'd love to eat every day at home. So delicious, and so home made but ......just so much better. I could cheerfully move in. It's bustling and noisy, and very atmospheric. Staff stressed but always friendly and super efficient. great wine list with some notable and interesting additions such as Albarino. Small plates to share as starters and a changing menu of options, usually including a slow cooked dish such as belly of pork or similar with seasonal veggie. Perfect!

Each visit exceeds expectaions

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    79
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“10 Greek Street - the best risotto i town?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great food always makes me smile. there isn't always a need to go to very expensive restaurants and have large tasting menus, 10 Greek Street is great and it is just my type of place!
I went there with a friend and he gave me strict instructions to not be late. We grabbed a couple of seats at the back by the bar looking in to the kitchen – brilliant!
There was a lot of action in the kitchen and the food that came out was oh so nice!
First out was fried baby squid, along with Sprouting broccoli with hazelnuts and chilli followed by smoked mackerel and delicious burrata. After that it was time for the risotto, wonderful aromas came from the truffle and it was light as a feather! I don't eat a lot of risotto but if it was all like this it would be a staple in my diet!

This is a find, great service, fun to watch the kitchen action and great food!

Read more here: http://petra08.wordpress.com/2013/02/13/10-greek-steet/

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It's buzzing at No 10”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

First, what 10 Greek Street isn't. It isn't the elegant, banquetted dining room where you'd take your wife/husband/partner (or someone you'd like to be one of those) for a quiet romantic lunch or dinner. But 10 Greek Street is everything else: great food at very acceptable prices (with the interesting notion of small or regular plate portions), brisk and pleasant service, bright and busy customers . . . The place simply buzzes with enjoyment! We had fried baby squid (£7) and potato-topped lamb pie (£15) - super value. One downside (which everybody mentions): they don't take bookings for dinner - it's first come, first served (they suggest you wait in the pub next door and they'll call you when there's a table clear).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
“Decent no-nonsense, no-booking, bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife, no mean judge, ate here midweek and liked it so much that we went together on the following Friday. In my view it's being slightly over-praised for what it is - a small, fairly spartan, quite cramped bistro with a no-booking policy (at least in the evenings, not sure about lunchtime) serving tasty but not absolutely extraordinary food. My starter - seared duck livers with squash and spiced yoghourt, was a fairly straightforward Ottolenghi,rip-off, even down to the obligatory pomegranate seeds. But delicious for all that. Main course of a ricotta-stuffed pancake on lentils with wild mushrooms, was nicely earthy and savoury, but a bit heavy, and not something I'd go back for. Good bread. OK puddings, though you feel they are a bit of an after thought. Really top notch service. Good value wine by the glass (and a quite stunning McLaren Vale sticky). But the wine list (which comes rolled up with the cutlery) I found impossible to read in the low light. I know I'm getting on and the eyes aren't what they were, but why do so many restaurants insist on everyone sitting in sepia-tinted gloom? Grump, grump. But anyway, lots to like.Two courses, shared pud, aperitifs, wine, a shared sticky, coffee, with service, came to about £43 a head, slightly more than expected, but we did drink quite a lot...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Highly recommended - a really special restaurant. Great and unfussy food in simple but pleasant surroundings. An interesting and imaginative wine list and a friendly and helpful barman who really knows his wine. They don't take bookings so when we arrived at 6 it was jam packed - but after a short wait at the bar with a glass in hand watching the cooks do their stuff, tables soon became available. It was worth the wait.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 10 Greek Street also viewed

 

Been to 10 Greek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 10 Greek Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.