We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six Man Bonanza!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 10 Greek Street

10 Greek Street
10 Greek Street, London, England
020-7734-4677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #366 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Six Man Bonanza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

6th month blowout to celebrate our relationship - took my girl to this Modern European restaurant on Greek Street.It mattered that we were able to sit in the middle of the restaurant as she likes being at the centre normally. A surprise was that 4 of my friends were sat at the adjacent banquete, and I managed to nicely arrange the seating for them to join us. The proprietor joined us briefly as he lubricated the group with some Kirsch. The grilled venison was delicious and went beautifully with some Kale. Multiple bottles of delicious red wine meant things got a bit messy - and soon everyone was was having a wild old time! The manager was kind, accomodating and keen to give us a truly memorable evening. His enthusiasm for the wine menu kept the juices flowing a treat.

As it was a special occasion I was a little worried that my girlfriend wouldn’t come to enjoy the special kind of company my friends provided. However, I can honestly say she enjoyed this meal so much that by the end she looked like cat that had got the cream! 10 Greek street is the type of venue where everyone feels free to just get stuck in, safe to say the occasion really was a six man bonanza!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    79
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simple & good - both food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

10 Greek Street runs on the concept of changing their menu daily based on the produce they are able to secure. Therefore, you can be assured that all your food is fresh - a good start to great tasting food.

The seasoning is simple but consistently packs a punch with each bite without getting overpowering. Consistently well cooked across various meats and not-too-sweet desserts available. Service staff were very attentive

I went with two other people and we spent about £60 on a starter, a main each and dessert. We also had a coffee & two bellinis. Highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“We couldn't have ben happier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were lucky enough to dine at 10 Greek Street recently and couldn't have been happier. We sat at the bar by the kitchen which provided us with exactly the right degree of privacy as well as informal opportunities to occasionally chat with staff and fellow guests. Our food was all perfect and we chose a bottle from the fine wine list which complemented the meal perfectly. We were only travelling in London but wish we had the opportunity to return!!! Staff friendly, food perfect, and great value!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Straightforward and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Went at lunchtime, having made a booking, so perhaps they run a different policy then (ref Telegraph reviewer, the estimable Matthew Norman). Snowing and cold outside, so restorative cauliflower soup and sweetbreads absolutely hit the spot. There's a fine no frills atmosphere here - cutlery, olive oil and dishes stashed in each table, chairs reminiscent of school, but none the worse for that, good blackboard menus with a short list allowing concentration in the kitchen. Good value. Only one disappointment: the bottle of Hungarian Furmint white wine was pretty ordinary, and given how little of this is imported into the UK, it was a shame that they couldn't have sourced a good vineyard. But only a minor point - 10 Greek St is a good place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I am never a great fan of places where you can't book and we knew it might be difficult on a Friday night before Christmas. The manager was very friendly and assured us he would call as soon as a table became available. An hour and a half later we were getting fairly desperate having had quite a lot of drinks round the corner and were hungry so we called him up and a table was becoming free as we spoke. Good!

It is quite a small place so you can be friendly with your fellow diners and certainly hear exactly what they are chatting about. The food was very good. We had the fish of the day which was Halibut, and a Lemon Sole, and Venison - all beautifully cooked - (£17-19 each), a bottle of Italian white A Mano from Puglia which was very pleasant (£19) and 2 puddings, Crumble and Bread Pudding (£6) - also good.

It's very good value in London and service charge is left up to you. I would definitely go again - the waiting for a table is the only pain otherwise it would be excellent !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 10 Greek Street also viewed

 

Been to 10 Greek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 10 Greek Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.