We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Porterhouse

The Porterhouse
21-22 Maiden Lane | Covent Garden, London WC2 E7NA, England (Covent Garden)
44 207 836 9931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #401 of 2,327 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Drinking
Attraction details
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

what a great pub!
We went out with our friends who suggest this pub and it has been an amazing discovery!
There is a hight choice of beers and the atmospheren is wonderfull!
For sure it's now on top of my list!
Great!!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    41
    8
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've been here a few times - the place is massive! Offers a good selection of drinks and food. Was disappointed the upstairs bar was closed though and we had to go all the way down to order. It was quite busy too so I was surprised. I love all the old beer bottles ect in the displays along the wall. I also wanted to steal the Nebuchadnezzar by the door but I didn't think it would fit in my luggage home haha.
Are food this time was ok. My friend really enjoyed hers, I didn't like the mayo on my burger but that was just a minor detail.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unique and Huge!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you're visiting Covent Garden and are in need of refreshment then you can't go wrong by choosing the Porterhouse in Maiden Lane.

For sunny days it has an outside courtyard and then inside has a warm, comfortable feel. The place is huge (on three floors that I counted) with unique decor and a huge pendulum clock.

We were there for a meetup with a bunch of new friends and were tucked away in a corner on the lower floor. It was the perfect location for the meetup although it may not have worked so well on a Thursday through Saturday evening when it is VERY busy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fab London Pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If anyone is looking for a good pub in London, look no further that The Porterhouse in Covent Garden.

It has four floors and the layout is quite quirky! You might find it difficult to get a seat on St Pats Day or if a specific sporting event is on, but on our many visits other than that, not had much trouble finding a seat.

Great beer! Great selection! Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb, great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a lovely evening here, the beer and the service were excellent, and the atmosphere good.

Highly recommended, as good as their sister pub in Dublin!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porterhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Porterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porterhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.