We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stop in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's Jazz Cafe (in Foyles)

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ray's Jazz Cafe (in Foyles)
113-119 Charing Cross Road, London, England
+44 20 7437 5660 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,918 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: Vegan
Restaurant details
Aiken
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Our first stop in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had to go to Foyles bookstore. As one of us took way more time than the rest of us, we of course gravitated to the cafe. There were many bottled drinks that were interesting and the teas were good. The scone with clotted creme was stale but everything else was good. Quiet spot where I could have stayed all afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    7
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Busy, noisey and the low standards we enjoy in London”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I visited the cafe to meet up with my sister. The staff were helpful and really friendly and made me feel at ease entering such a busy and noisey enviroment. People stay for hours on one coffee and people come in in groups and take tables before ordering so it's hard to get a seat. I enjoyed a nice ham & cheese toastie with a side portion of delicious cous cous. However, my sister paid a ridiculous sum for a slice of walnut & coffee cake which was stale. The toilets stank of vomit and were filthy. The music was good but very loud, no live band just a CD playing so it's hard to chat and it's certainly not a spot for contemplation or literary discussion. It's rather odd there is not a quiet cafe or reading room type of environment in this bookstore where you can buy or bring a book and have a good read over a cuppa and some fresh cake.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“My favorite London cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love this cafe. Located in the Foyel's Bookstore, it has very cozy atmosphere, tasty soups, sandwiches and cakes, welcoming hosts. My laptop and I are frequent guest every time I'm in London :D

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great cafe stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We called in here as we were looking for somewhere to have a coffee and I'm always able to waste time looking around books. This little cafe was a great surprise and I'm really glad that we found it. The lunches, cakes and coffee were all brilliant and it was great to find out it was suitable for Vegans as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Best in the West End.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ray's Jazz Cafe is without doubt my favorite cafe in the West End of London. It's not just because the coffee is strong and inexpensive and the food wholesome and creative, it's the atmosphere. I've met friends in there, had the odd business meeting, sat and read a book and occasionally played cards. You'll see people on their laptops, writing (some still do), reading scripts, chatting or just gazing down on Charring Cross Road from the bar stools that line the windows. The staff are friendly and helpful and it's in the best bookshop, which is a bonus. You are encouraged to share tables and nobody seems to mind. Oh and of course, there's often some great music playing unobtrusively. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's Jazz Cafe (in Foyles) also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Ray's Jazz Cafe (in Foyles)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's Jazz Cafe (in Foyles), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.