We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Somerset Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Somerset Hotel to your Saves list
Somerset Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Dorset Square | Gloucester Place, London NW1 6QA, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 526 London B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for one night, the entrance hall is beautifully and tastefully decorated, the bedroom was a good size, the bathroom was really small though - the shower didn't work and the bath was tiny, our little girl is in a wheelchair due to brain tumour sometimes affecting her legs and there's no lift, she can walk though, we was put on the 3rd floor, the staff came up and asked if we would prefer a ground floor room, they was so lovely and friendly. Bedrooms could use tea making facilities, there is a machine in the bar which is open throughout the night but isn't anywhere in the bedroom to make one

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    19
    13
    25
See reviews for
21
24
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We would not recommend staying here for more than 2 days..
The rooms and bathrooms are tiny, which made it stuffy. The carpet was torn and some holes in the walls, toilet was loose hotel door was straight which left a gap at bottom so when the light was on outside the door shined thorough, plaster filled holes showing, 2 clothes hangers in wardrobe so good job we didn't stay a week, the window had a crack in it and couldn't open it plus there was blood on the duvet also HOUSEKEEPER left a bath towel for a bath mat which was dirty, naked wires showing. Wifi didn't work in the lobby, you had to pay for wifi. And good luck if you're on the 4th floor.. there are no elevators, and the stairway is a bit narrow, so it was difficult carrying our luggage.
The only positive is the location. It is about a 5 minute walk to the tube station that has multiple tube lines. There are also many coffee shops and a small grocery store nearby. Regent's Park is close as well. They also have a coffee/tea machine in the basement, free to use throughout the day.
Service was poor when my husband went to complain the lady didn't understand him and said I don't work here. Never saw an employee at the front desk, But we waited 10 minutes for an employee to show up so we could check out.

WE WILL NEVER VISIT THIS HOTEL AGAIN

Room Tip: don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would not recommend staying here for more than 2 days..

The rooms and bathrooms are tiny, which made it stuffy. The carpet was torn and some holes in the walls. Wifi only works in the lobby, otherwise you have to pay for wifi. And good luck if you're on the 4th floor.. there are no elevators, and the stairway is a bit narrow, so it was difficult carrying our luggage.

The only positive is the location. It is about a 5 minute walk to the tube station that has multiple tube lines. There are also many coffee shops and a small grocery store nearby. Regent's Park is close as well. They also have a coffee/tea machine in the basement, free to use throughout the day.

Service was just okay. Almost never saw an employee at the front desk, though someone did mention their main receptionist was gone for holiday. But we waited 10 minutes for an employee to show up so we could check out.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

If you're looking for a hotel with a reasonable price then this is the right place for you. My fiance and I stayed here for 2 days. It's our first time in London and we got lucky to have found this hotel which is near to everything. The subway, which make it easier to go around London.It is also near shopping streets which is a big plus for girls who like to go shopping like me. The hotel offers a good variety of breakfast, but it is also near restaurants if you want to dine out. The hotel have a good WiFi service which makes sharing memories easy for your family to see. We stayed in a small room but it is clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful and accommodating.

To sum it up, I will definitely go back to this hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We were pleasantly surprised to stay in central London at a very reasonable price for three days .This hotel is a simple and calm place but has everything that you need being a tourist in London. Rooms are small but clean with comfortable bed. Staff is courteous and friendly that ensures you have a smile on your face, either for helping with your bags or by giving you various breakfast options. It is walking distance from Bakers street tube station and amidst excellent shopping streets. Lots of restaurants nearby makes life happening :)...and yes very good internet speed <3

Room Tip: Go for third floor rooms for zero noise !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely time.It was delightful place to stay, Very kind service and tasty breakfast. The rooms are huge and very nicely appointed,location is great.I kindly reccomend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Shabby and worn out but pretty clean. Big room, comfy beds. Breakfast is not worth the extra money. Staff is not particularly chatty or eager to help but checking in and out went without problems. Location is the best part of this hotel.
Still wouldn't especially recommend for a friend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Somerset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Hotel

Address: 6 Dorset Square | Gloucester Place, London NW1 6QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 526 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Hotel was established during the Georgian Times in 1885, it is a traditional, comfortable and safe hotel ideally located in the heart of Central London. Situated in the leafy and affluent borough of Marylebone, Somerset Hotel is a charming 2 star Bed & Breakfast townhouse hotel. The rooms are medium sized and have all the basic facilities which allow for a comfortable stay for all our guests. Historic surroundings such as Dorset Square, which used to be the original Lord's Cricket Ground, Harley Street and Regent's Park are all but a few minutes away. We are a family run hotel and believe that we offer a great base for tourist and avid city explorers at affordable rates compared to other hotels in the area. The hotel is family and child friendly offering a secure and safe environment. The staff are always welcoming and on hand to help out whenever requested. If you are looking for a cheap city break or a family holiday then we are the place to stay. Furthermore, all 27 en-suite guestrooms at the Somerset Hotel London are nicely decorated to guarantee you a comfortable and pleasant stay, ideal for both the business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Somerset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerset Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.