We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Cafe in the Crypt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Martins in the Fields Cafe in the Crypt

St Martins in the Fields Cafe in the Crypt
Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 4JJ, England
020 7766 1122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,392 of 17,997 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quirky Cafe in the Crypt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This cafe hidden under the famous St. Martins in the Field Church in Trafalgar Square has some stunning Georgian architecture. The food and drink provide affordable dining in a Central location. This cafe is one of London's hottest music venues featuring a variety of performances, ranging from classical, swing to jazz, from the UK's finest musicians.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    306
    90
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The service was good, the food was good and best of all the ambience was great for friends to hang out especially to catch up on news of each other. The decor was inspiring and I wished I had more time to revisit it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A meal in a Crypt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food was very good and reasonably priced. (It was highly recommended by a tour guide and he was right).

We were there by chance and really enjoyed the oportunity.

Since it right on Trafalgar Sq, many more tourists should go in and enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice light lunch and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We met my adult son and his wife for lunch. I had been once before. I would recommend it. My son and I both had the soup and pudding 'deal', which at £6.10 was a bargain. Good quantity of nice soup, nice slab of good bread, and a choice of two hot puddings with a separate little jug of custard. My daughter in law had a salad, which she really enjoyed, and they looked good. My wife had a chicken and bacon (cold) baguette and a cold drink. Total bill £27. Not bad in central London. I can't speak for other stuff on the menu, but we left feeling very pleased.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An Experience of a Venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I recently attended a jazz club night at St Martins' Crypt and my! it's a real surreal experience eating and imbibing! in the crypt of one of the nation's most notable holy places! while treading on the tombs of those long since departed. Yes, give it a visit - the food is maybe not gourmet but quite a varied menu and a fair price for our rather pricey capital city.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Martins in the Fields Cafe in the Crypt also viewed

 

Been to St Martins in the Fields Cafe in the Crypt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Martins in the Fields Cafe in the Crypt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.