We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A restaurant with soul” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otto's

Otto's
182 Gray's Inn Road, London WC1X 8EW, England (Clerkenwell)
020 7713 0107
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Otto's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #157 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: On entering Otto's you are presented with a warm welcome in this beautifully decorated, even a tad quirky, hidden away gem of a restaurant that transports you to the Belle Époque of 1870’s Paris. Otto honours the spirit of Auguste Escoffier with Classics such as Escargots, Steak Tartar and the spectacular Canard de Rouen a la Presse. Downstairs reveals a Private Dining Room with a Grand Dining Table, a most enchanting place to celebrate, entertain and share frivolities with friends.This wonderful recipe was created at the beginning of the 19 century by a restaurateur from Rouen named Mechenet. This recipe for pressed duck owed much of its success the the Duke of Chartres, who commanded it highly in Paris. When the renowned cook Frederick took over the restaurant La Tour d'Argent, he began numbering all the pressed ducks that he served, intending to make the dish the speciality of his restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A restaurant with soul”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I can safely say that Otto's is our favourite restaurant in London. When you enter it feels as if you have stepped into a restaurant in the French countryside. The staff are so attentive and you get to know them well after a few visits. The food is very well prepared with sauces made properly with stock and fine ingredients. The care and time taken are evident. The room has high ceilings, Persian rugs, simple yet elegant decor. I recommend the soufflé for dessert, it is just divine!

It's a must visit if you want fantastic traditional French cuisine, a lot of soul and love.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    50
    13
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Possibly my new favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

It was our anniversary so decided to make a reservation for the pressed duck. The decor of this restaurant is, um, interesting but thankfully Otto can cook better than he can decorate. Otto must be Keith Floyd's spiritual twin - funny, engaging and hungover! Despite the impairment, we had one of the best meals of our lives. The service was also phenomenal (they brought up our coats as soon as we asked for the bill without us having to say anything) and the wine list was very reasonable. Truly excellent meal. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Expecting more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Was very much looking forward to my visit to Ottos. Unfortunately I found the food very average. I had a sea urchin souffle for straters that was flavourless, and a main of wild boar which was again surprisingly flavourless (which is quite an achievement). Leaving aside the lack of taste, the execution was impeccable, as was the setting and service.To make up for the meal we did explore their extensive wine list to our great enjoyment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We will definitely come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We had diner in this restaurant just tonight, and the first thing I am doing when coming back home is writing a review about this fantastic place!

First of all the service: we have been welcomed like we rarely have, staff is very polite and friendly at the same time. Very caring, with a good attention to every detail to make us feel comfortable without making us feel harassed. Service is 50% of a great dining experience for me, and here, they understood this concept perfectly!

Now the food: We had the artichoke veloute and the scallops tartar as starters, nothing to say about them: it was excellent!
Then we shared a main course (rosselini with foie gras). The waiter brought the dish already split in 2 plates for us, which was very thoughtful. The meat was melting in the mouse, and the foie gras simply divine.
We ended with the floating island, and the tarte tatin with mango. Those were the cherry on top of our evening!

The restaurant is a little bit expensive, yes, but it's worth every penny. We will definitely come back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A duck meal like no other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife and visited Otto's after a recommendation from a friend who also suggested that we went for the pressed duck. I am very, very glad that we did.

The place is great and the staff are great, very friendly and helpful, especially Otto.

The pressed duck is phenomenal, not just for the food but also for the whole theatre in which Otto cooks the sauce, flambes the duck, carves off the meet and the puts the rest through a press to extract the juices and bone marrow.

The first course consisted of the duck's liver on a crouton, the liver had been mixed with madeira and various other ingredients and was outstanding.

The second course was the duck breasts, perfectly cooked and very thinly sliced and then served with an incredible (and very rich) sauce made from the meat juices pressed out of the duck and with wonderful pomme soufflee.

The third course was the duck legs served with mushrooms and the duck's skin and again this was fantastic.

The duck was huge but the staff were happy to wrap up the remains so we left with enough duck to last us a few weeks!

A fantastic experience that I would recommend to anyone - just book ahead though if you want the duck.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's also viewed

 

Been to Otto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.