We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very eclectic but exellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otto's

Otto's
182 Gray's Inn Road, London WC1X 8EW, England
020 7713 0107
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 16,874 restaurants in London
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: On entering Otto's you are presented with a warm welcome in this beautifully decorated, even a tad quirky, hidden away gem of a restaurant that transports you to the Belle Époque of 1870’s Paris. Otto honours the spirit of Auguste Escoffier with Classics such as Escargots, Steak Tartar and the spectacular Canard de Rouen a la Presse. Downstairs reveals a Private Dining Room with a Grand Dining Table, a most enchanting place to celebrate, entertain and share frivolities with friends.This wonderful recipe was created at the beginning of the 19 century by a restaurateur from Rouen named Mechenet. This recipe for pressed duck owed much of its success the the Duke of Chartres, who commanded it highly in Paris. When the renowned cook Frederick took over the restaurant La Tour d'Argent, he began numbering all the pressed ducks that he served, intending to make the dish the speciality of his restaurant.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very eclectic but exellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very well presented and knowledgeable staff serving unpretentious good French cooking of a very high standard at a very fair price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    129
    42
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Charming service, relaxed atmosphere, super food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Otto's is an unusual and somewhat quirky little restaurant with an old fashioned and ecleptic appearance in furnishings and decor, and I couldn't help feeling slightly hesitant and a thought crossed my mind that perhaps I'd made a mistake coming here. I should not have worried. The service is traditional and charming, professional, attentive but as the same time relaxed and unobtrusive. Food and wine menu were excellent and the TopTable set menu for £24 for two courses or £28 for three courses was super value for money. Unlike many other restaurants that put some obscure choices on their set menues, Otto's were offering some very good choices including fillet steak and frites and creme brulee. A great evening and will definitely like to visit again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Birthday Dinner For Two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well, what an quaint experience.... I would have walked straight past this restaurant if my husband hadn't of done his homework. It was just like being in a friends front room with covers for about 12 people, very select and amazing food. We had the Taster Menu which I have to say was amazing and not small portions that you normally get with taster menu's so be prepared, don't eat too much if you are going here for that.
Wine and champagne were stunning too, great service and a very pleasant experience, I would go again, the private dining area downstairs looked great for a special occasion. Maybe will do for my birthday next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Food and Fantastic Wine List”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was taken here for a business lunch and happy to say my host enjoys good wine. It was a delight to taste such good wine and the owner was helpful in our selections. This is a small place but comfortable and not to busy at lunch time. The food was really good I had the snails to start followed by the lobster ravioli which was good but doubt if I would order snails again, just a personal choice. My colleagues had the steak and both said it was one of the best they have had. I would say give this place a go especially of you enjoy great wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Charming hosts-pleasant food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

In the current ecomomic client reviewers of the amateur variety need to exercise some care in placing on line reviews-which many of us rely on.
So i approach this review with some trepidation.
The venue-
accurately dscribed by other reviewers-if you are going expecting shabby french chic-it isn't really what you are getting and some reviews are pretty inaccurate.The room is difficult to furnish because of the height-and there is no real unity to the collected objects on display.It's a bit random and scruffy.
However the host and head waiter are polite and attentive.
I went for a weekday business lunch.It was quiet.
The food-
Another reviewer mentioned poor bread-this is true.its obviously shop bought and a standard crisped up baguette-and easily spotted as such.Interestingly the butter had obviously been in the fridge next to something else-and tastedof that.Small [points and maybe not very significant.
First courses-
snails-my guest enjoyed them
Cheese souffle-pretty good.
main-rack of lamb- nicely served and presented.
Cheese-not a bad selection -the overall impression was that it was a bit on the dry side.
Plus points-they have a really fine wine list and as other reviewers have said-the mark up is extremely modest.
So -where does that leave you?
A nice local restaurant with kind people.
Some of the other reviews are really quite over hyped.
The obvious comparison is Poule au Pot in Pimlico-the food there is broadly similar but it just has that Gallic buzz that isn't quite happening here.
But-honest folk trying hard-so give it a go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Otto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otto's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.