We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 63

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Number 63 to your Saves list
Number 63
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   63 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 541 London B&B and Inns
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Perfect little hotel - very attentive staff, very clean, convenient location and great breakfast also. Couldn't fault the place! Would not hesitate to recommend Number 63 to anyone travelling to London.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
5
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Spent three nights (non-consecutive) in three different rooms at Number 63 so I experienced the Bayswater Road side and the quieter rear side of the hotel. All rooms are neat and clean, staff is helpful, and the breakfast in the lower floor dining room was a treat. Talk about tranquil! (Love the green paint and wallpaper!) The breakfast (buffet and made-to-order cooked options included) was one of the best I've had in the UK or Europe.

The hotel rates and wonderful location one block from Lancaster Gate and walking distance to Paddington are fantastic. As a note, Number 63 is affiliated with the Soroptimist Club, so it has a quieter club atmosphere and conference room. If you're looking for flash and dash, this may not be the place for you, but if you'd like a quiet, friendly hotel option in a central location, try Number 63.

Room Tip: The quietest room was in the center/rear overlooking the fire escape "courtyard." Bayswat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Number 63 is more of a B & B than a hotel. I have stayed there at least 5 times - alone and also with my husband - it has been updated quite a bit since my first stay. The breakfast area is new and fresh and one can make their own coffee from freshly ground beans. The single rooms are small but have everything one needs. I usually ask for a room over looking Kensington Park. The front desk is always incredibly nice. The comment about the tap being too hot has to do with not knowing how to adjust the temp - all one had to do was ask how it worked - there is a separate dial in the middle of the shut off valve. I can't imagine how few nights in London would require AC but some rooms do offer it - just ask. The reception area which over looks the park has a small bar and is a delightful place to sit after a busy day.

Room Tip: Great views over the park but be mindful it also faces a busy street. I love the street noice but o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My room was poor - decent size and reasonably quiet (at the back) but had a leaking tap, the shower temperature (too hot) did not adjust and a broken sash cord meant that I couldn't open the window for ventilation on a stuffy night. Breakfast was ok but served by a rather surly woman.

Maybe I was just unlucky with the room I was allocated but they need to maintain the place properly and unless/until they do I won't be back..

Reception isn't manned until 08.30 so if you're checking out before then you have to do it the night before.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed at 63 many times over the years, in single, twin and family rooms. It's in an excellent position, just accross the street from Hyde park and only a couple of minutes walk from Lancaster Gate underground station.
The staff are always friendly, there's a good choice for breakfast. The hotel has a homely, genteel feel to it and feels very safe.
I would recommend staying at Number 63

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pros: As previous reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is in a quiet area across from Hyde park and close to the tube. Stayed in a small but nice and well kept room on 3rd floor with a great view of the park. Rooms have tea, tv, and the showers are hot. This hotel also felt quite safe. Prices were good and breakfast was included.

Cons: We booked on-line through booking.com and received confirmation. It was not until after we had checked-in that we were told we would have to be moved to two separate rooms for the last night and that the hotel had chosen not to inform us. Not the worst situation, but the front desk really didn't care and were not of much help for anything during our stay. The elevator was also under renovation/ out of service while we were there, which was noisy and could have been a problem for older guests. The single rooms at the back of the hotel were extremely small with no view, and I would not recommend them.

Overall, I would stay in this hotel again as it was safe, clean and economical. I just might look at other options first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It is a small pleasant house, just across the street form Kensington Gardens. Staff is very helpful adn attnetive, rooms are quite modest but very clean and functional - there is everything needed. Breakfast is served in a typical English room and is nice. Great price.

On the negative side - not every room has air condition and there is no safe deposit box, either in the room or int he reception.

Wiill stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Grand London Lancaster Gate
0.1 mi away
Lancaster London
Lancaster London
#216 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#115 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
London Elizabeth Hotel
London Elizabeth Hotel
#442 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#270 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo London-Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 63? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 63

Address: 63 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 63 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Number 63 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 63 London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 63, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.