We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and comfortable beds but otherwise poor” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Number 63

Save Saved
You added Number 63 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number 63
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   63 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 526 London B&B and Inns
Belfast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Convenient location and comfortable beds but otherwise poor”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My room was poor - decent size and reasonably quiet (at the back) but had a leaking tap, the shower temperature (too hot) did not adjust and a broken sash cord meant that I couldn't open the window for ventilation on a stuffy night. Breakfast was ok but served by a rather surly woman.

Maybe I was just unlucky with the room I was allocated but they need to maintain the place properly and unless/until they do I won't be back..

Reception isn't manned until 08.30 so if you're checking out before then you have to do it the night before.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've stayed at 63 many times over the years, in single, twin and family rooms. It's in an excellent position, just accross the street from Hyde park and only a couple of minutes walk from Lancaster Gate underground station.
The staff are always friendly, there's a good choice for breakfast. The hotel has a homely, genteel feel to it and feels very safe.
I would recommend staying at Number 63

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Pros: As previous reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is in a quiet area across from Hyde park and close to the tube. Stayed in a small but nice and well kept room on 3rd floor with a great view of the park. Rooms have tea, tv, and the showers are hot. This hotel also felt quite safe. Prices were good and breakfast was included.

Cons: We booked on-line through booking.com and received confirmation. It was not until after we had checked-in that we were told we would have to be moved to two separate rooms for the last night and that the hotel had chosen not to inform us. Not the worst situation, but the front desk really didn't care and were not of much help for anything during our stay. The elevator was also under renovation/ out of service while we were there, which was noisy and could have been a problem for older guests. The single rooms at the back of the hotel were extremely small with no view, and I would not recommend them.

Overall, I would stay in this hotel again as it was safe, clean and economical. I just might look at other options first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It is a small pleasant house, just across the street form Kensington Gardens. Staff is very helpful adn attnetive, rooms are quite modest but very clean and functional - there is everything needed. Breakfast is served in a typical English room and is nice. Great price.

On the negative side - not every room has air condition and there is no safe deposit box, either in the room or int he reception.

Wiill stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Number 63 is located right on beautiful Hyde park and is only 50 metres from lancatster gate tube station so it was a great base for our holiday in London . We had a twin room which was at the back of the hotel with a rather unsightly view of a brick wall and stairwell . However the room was very clean and more importantly -very quiet as it was away from the road noise. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the hotel had a very peacful atmosphere. The newly refurbished breakfast room was charming and served a great breakfast and the staff were very attentive. All in all an excellent deal in busy, expensive London. Would stay there again .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This review is based solely on the service and communications aspect of Number 63.

Booked the hotel via Booking.com back in April, 2 twin rooms for 2 nights, for 4 people, 12th & 13th July for the Rolling Stones in Hyde Park. I made sure to book early to ensure getting rooms at a good rate and near to Hyde Park on this very busy weekend. Received immediate booking confirmation from Booking.com.

On the morning of check-in I phoned the hotel to reconfirm and advise arrival times only to be told that they had us booked in for 1 twin room only and of course were now fully booked.

The staff member who I spoke to had an attitude of “ not my problem” and was more concerned with deflecting any responsibility for the mistake then in helping me find a resolution. She blamed Booking.com, but they say their system is automated and the hotel would have received the same info as myself. This sounds logical to me, but who knows. When I asked what she was going to do to try and help us, she said she would try to find us accommodation elsewhere. However, I did not hear back from her until mid-afternoon by which time we were en-route to alternative accommodation that Booking.com had found for us..thank goodness…and even then she had only called to ask if I wanted to cancel the 1 room they had for us and added that I should have booked direct with the hotel as I would have got a better rate and wouldn’t have this problem.

Booking.com found us what were probably the last 2 twin rooms available anywhere near Hyde Park, in a hotel that I wouldn’t, under other circumstances , have chosen to stay in. It was more expensive and it has very poor reviews on TA, but at least we didn’t have to sleep on a park bench!

Whilst I realize that mistakes happen, this was a very stressful situation and I feel that the hotel’s representative could have handled the situation more sensitively and been more helpful.

I will not be booking this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

When I booked this place I did not expect so much but I was positively surprised when I checked in. Very friendly and attentive staff. I was lucky to get free upgrade to suite room, which was a large room with two separated beds. room was very clean, bathroom a bit small. free coffee and tea sets. very decent breakfast.
the elevator was under construction, so you need carry your luggage to upstairs. hotel located about 50 meter from underground Lancaster gate which makes exploring London very convenient. for a very reasonable price, I recommend this place to anyone.
I will definitely come back if I need to be in London again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Number 63? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 63

Address: 63 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 526 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 63 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Number 63 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 63 London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 63, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.