We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again when in London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 63

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 63
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   63 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 522 London B&B and Inns
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Would stay again when in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we stayed at No 63 for 4 nights , very central - only a stone's throw from the tube. Room was very comfortable although not large but very clean. Bathroom -good hot showers- Very friendly staff who were most helpful. We liked the security of the front door being lock. My husband & I found it very safe and secure and quite suitable for women travelling on their own.The accommodation is opposite Hyde Park so you can stroll through the gardens. A little shop is just up from No 63 as we came home from the theatre one night and just wanted a snack for tea - found this most convenient . Elevator rather small but you can take stairs which will keep you fit. Breakfast was excellent . No 63 Very reasonably priced. Would stay again when in London such is the convenience & quality of the accommodation of No.63.

Room Tip: We did not notice street noise as we were on the 2nd Floor at the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
2
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed here for the first time this week and I will now try and stay at this hotel every time I visit London. It's nothing grand but it is spotlessly clean , in a brilliant location (right next to the tube) - outside the congestion zone on Bayswater Road (easy for the A40) and with wonderful views over Hyde Park. There is also cheap parking available through the hotel next door.
Its only small - but I loved it. Highly recommend and I feel like I have discovered a real little treasure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

During a recent stay in London at the suggestion of a friend, my sister and I spent four days at Number 63. I was told it was club-like however it had great service, lovely public facilities and full breakfasts. Food was also available until 9:30. The rooms were comfortable. The location could not have been better, accross from the park, walking distance to museums and near the Lancaster tube.
The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful.There was no pool or fitness center

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Two nights in single room. The hotel has the feeling of a club as it is a Soroptimist lodge, open to the public. Public spaces were generous-size, with fulltime courteous desk staff, elevator, and good breakfast. The front door is kept locked for security. It is on a very busy street, but noise was no problem. Lancaster Gate Underground is closeby, and Paddington station is a 10-min walk away. It's a great location for walking in Hyde Park or Kensington Park. The Swan pub is next door, but there is very little shopping in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed as part of a Soroptimist away-weekend (the hotel used to be exclusively for members of Soroptimists but is now open to all, though shareholders in the club, but not members, get a reduction). The hotel is directly opposite Kensington Gardens, with marvellous opportunities for walking to Kensington Palace, Hyde Park and the Albert Memorial and Hall. A bus just around the corner took us directly to Westminster, and the tube is a few minutes walk away. It's a 10 minute walk to Paddington mainline station.
The rooms are small but comfortable. Ours had a well appointed shower room with a hand-basin in the room. We had a view over the park, which was lovely, if a little noisy from the main road traffic if you opened the window. Wi-fi access (free) was initially temperamental but sorted out. We did have an issue with next-door's fire alarm in the middle of the night, but that was hardly the fault of the establishment.
Breakfast is reasonable though not lavish, with eggs (only) individually cooked by the charming staff, but there were ham, cheese and pastries available. There is an evening meals service which we did not try, as there are lots of good eateries in the vicinity (including the fascinating Bel Canto operatic dinners at the Corus Hotel a few doors away).
There is a small sitting-room/bar at the front of the hotel which doubles as reception and a small lounge; probably not the place to stay if you plan to stay in a lot during your stay. All staff were very welcoming and helpful.
The main value of the hotel is that the doubles are let per room, which brings the cost of the stay down for a London Hotel. Do not stay here if your expectations are of the height of luxury, but as a comfortable, clean place to stay in London it is great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are nicest, though noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Number 63? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 63

Address: 63 Bayswater Road, London W2 3PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 63 3*
Also Known As:
Number 63 London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Number 63, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Number 63 to your Saves list