We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather go to a Costa/Nero/Starbucks/EAT...well anywhere really!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreditch Grind

Shoreditch Grind
213 Old Street, London, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,083 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Rather go to a Costa/Nero/Starbucks/EAT...well anywhere really!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Typical pretentious hipster, Shoredtich coffee house, nothing special. They have a bar but you can't order spirits (I wanted an Irish coffee) until 5pm. Staff were unfriendly and more interested in looking trendy than actually doing any work, not sure why they needed 4 staff on when they were just stood around chatting for 90% of the time I was there (in the other 10% only one staff member was serving).

Unwelcoming environment, won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidabr, Owner at Shoreditch Grind, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi, I'm really really sorry to hear that you didn't have a good experience at Shoreditch Grind. As you can see from lots of really good reviews and the many visitors we have every day, your experience is not the norm. There are certain licensing restrictions which we have to adhere to, but i'm sorry you weren't able to get an Irish Coffee at the time you wanted. You can indeed order spirits, so I'm sorry you were mis-informed, and I'm also sorry that the staff weren't as attentive as they should have been... I will ensure that your feedback is passed on. Once again sorry, and please do come back to the Grind as we normally have lots of very satisfied customers! If you'd like to share anymore details please email me on david@shoreditchgrind.com. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What an amazing find. Probably the best coffee,food ,atmosphere and value for money in London. The " bikini friendly" sign raises a smile and the fresh bread cakes and pastries have to be seen to be believed. The toastie we enjoyed was huge and so tasty. If you are in the area you must visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davidabr, Owner at Shoreditch Grind, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks so much for your awesome review... We really appreciate it! We are a cocktail bar in the evening also, come and try our Espresso Martinis some day! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Came here all the time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Excellent coffee and tea. Always a really fun environment. Served coffee late at night too which was a major plus since everything else that served coffee around it closed early. Conveniently located right outside the tube stop and very easy to access!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Good coffee at hipster central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

High quality coffee is served at the Shoreditch Grind. Comfortably located next to the Old Street underground. Try the almond croissant, one of my favorites at this place! Fast wifi available.
In the summer, great outdoor seating!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Only came across this coffee house as it was a meeting place suggested by a tour company. Delicious pastries and good coffee. Would definitely recommend if you are travelling to Old Street tube.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoreditch Grind also viewed

 

Been to Shoreditch Grind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreditch Grind, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.