We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family pre-Christmas treat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
The Ampersand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,066 Hotels in London
A TripAdvisor Member
“Family pre-Christmas treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A lovely hotel with very pleasant, helpful staff. Sadly a twin room incurred additional costs over and above that of a double? Why when the two single beds were fixed next to each other and the room had no additional space or facilities? The water was cooler than desired. Nice touches included the soft drinks in room, fresh milk and fresh coffee/ herbal teas etc. Very comfortable beds and great location

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    305
    51
    12
    4
See reviews for
247
686
108
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Viby J
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I spend our Christmas Holiday in London, staying at The Ampersand Hotel. It was a very pleasant experience. The hotel is beautifully decorated and designed, the rooms (we stayed in Deluxe Rooms) were neat and of acceptable size, the staff was kind and helpful and the Kensington district was a wonderful area to stay in with lots of charming restaurants, cafes, shops and museums. The tubestation was only two minutes walk away and it was easy to reach any place in London from here.

Only complaint would be the restaurant Aperos service on our Christmas Eve. Unfortunately we didn't get value for our money this evening.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burstadt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very,very nice hotel. We'll come back.
Perfect service, very clean, friendly staff and moderate prices. For visiting London it is the Perfect location. Also the continental breakfast contains more than usual.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was excited to stay here, but I could not make a reservation over the telephone after 40 minutes. I was repeatedly shuffled around between an endless procession of employees, and none of them was able to simply reserve a room for me. I found this to be very difficult to believe because one of the "managers" told me they currently had 300 employees

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved the location of the hotel, easy walk to tube and nearby museums and shops. We recommend rooms at the back or a high floor for a satisfactory night sleep. Once we moved we had a great stay here !

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We returned to the Ampersand for one night to attend a function in London. Having had a simply wonderful stay last year we hoped it would prove to be equally as special and it was.
The Ampersand is a small piece of bliss in London, with modern, luxury rooms and a very very good breakfast I cannot imagine us staying anywhere else in future....keep up the good work

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed at the hotel twice within a week. The location is prime and the drawing room experience is very nice and the some of the staff are friendly some were very miserable. The drawbacks are the rooms are slightly on the small size, anything larger for the price I would stay at a 5 star hotel within the area because for the price you pay at this hotel you won’t get the service. This is from my experience as a SLH loved member and AMEX Platinum card holder. I didn't get an upgrade on both occasions I stayed at the hotel within a week. I had the free continental breakfast, which was basic and limited as I don’t eat pork or ham there were no other options for non-pork/ham eaters. I recommend they include salmon, bresaola, pastrami, and turkey as options (not all are necessary but some). Looking forward, based on my three experiences at this property I don’t think I would stay here again, I would recommend the other SLH hotel No. 11 Cadogan Gardens as it is also close to an underground station and in a lovely area next to all the important places to shop.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.