We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Good Hotel. Room are not very big, the bath was small, and they were a very very small closet. So it was good just for a few days. Nice view on the street and Lycee Francais. Room #118. People at the desk were nice and helpfull. The breakfast is great and not expensive.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the ground flore and in the back not under the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    258
    40
    10
    3
See reviews for
215
594
96
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed five nights here and found the location very convenient with South Kensington Metro so close. We had a deluxe room which was at the back of the hotel and rather compact. However, the bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in - and the request for sheets and blanket rather than a duvet was noted and the bed properly made on our arrival. Amenities were top quality and the complimentary soft drinks and tea and coffee (french press) were a welcome touch.
Apero, the restaurant downstairs, was a great surprise. Food and service are excellent and value good for London.
There is a little gym - nice to see as gyms are not common in London.
Service was pretty good - and the staff pleasant. Some technical problems with the room key cards on the first day but that was resolved pretty quickly.
We also found a self-service laundromat about 200m west along Harrington Road that was welcome after 3 weeks travel.
I would recommend the hotel - it is charming and a nice staff and good restaurant downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Absolutely amazing. Myself and a friend went with our mothers for 1 night and the Ampersand is possibly the best hotel experience I've ever had. It was exactly my cup of tea - contemporary but elegant, classy but not stuffy. We met the chef - a very talented and super friendly guy - Chris Golding - who made us the most fantastic lunch (even though the restaurant was closed!) The cakes and cocktails in the Drawing Rooms are amazing. The staff are professional yet very friendly - nothing is too much trouble. My only slight criticism is that the Superior rooms are a tad on the small side (I was expecting something a little bigger) but the beds we extremely comfortable and the bedding was felt luxurious. Bathroom was absolutely spotless with lovely Miller Harris toiletries. Plus I loved staying in Kensington - brilliant shopping without the horrendous crowds of Oxford Street! I very rarely stay in the same hotel twice as I always think there is so much of the world to see..but I'll definitely be tempted back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed as a couple for 3 nights. What a lovely hotel with excellent everything. The staff are friendly and courteous, the hotel is tastefully decorated and the restaurant great. We purchased Oyster Travel Cards and found that the South Kensington station very conveniently connects to all the lines and major attractions. You can also take the train directly to Heathrow, a 45 minute journey.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room was a great size for a couple if you like a little space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were attracted to The Ampersand through the brilliant Mr & Mrs Smith travel website, and were pleased to find the hotel exactly as it was described. This is a true gem, ideally located in beautiful South Kensington, close to musea, parks, shops and pubs, beautifully decorated and supremely comfortable. Best of all is the ever friendly staff who really make you feel like home, and do all their best to treat you like old friends. Contrary to other 5 star hotels, prices for food and drinks are very acceptable, and there's even a free minibar. We stayed for 3 nights and were very sorry to leave. This is definitely a place where we will come back!

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, avoid ground floor rooms as you will hear the rumble of the tube pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and it met our expectaions, a great place to stay.

the location is excellent immediately in front of Sth Kensington tube station, so if arriving in London at Heathrow a direct train ride in. The building is very well renovated and the quality of the furnishings and service is very high. The staff were warm and friendly and I would certainly stay again.

One point to note as commented on by others is that between about 5am to midnight you can hear or rather feel the passing underground trains. Its not a big issue, but may be an issue for light sleepers. We were on the fourth floor and it wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe studio and found it a very large (for London) comfortable room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A refreshing change from the 'cookie cutter' hotels that dominate much of this area of London. The public areas are bright and interestingly decorated, taking inspiration from the various nearby museums. The room was a little compact but in central London and I guess that's the norm. My only other slightly negative observation was the discernible rumble of the underground trains passing beneath the building at regular intervals and the noise from adjoining rooms, thin walls. Overall though a great hotel in a good location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Luxury Hotel in London
#34 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.