We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
The Ampersand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

As with the other reviews associated with this hotel on tripadvisor, this property has almost everything that one would need when traveling to London. Location, convenience, friendly staff, free minibar. Rooms are small, so try to get the ones at the studio level or higher if space is required. It is not next to major shopping areas, but one can walk to Harrod's on a sunny day, or take the subway to Bond/Regent/Oxford Streets without difficulty. High Street Kensington and Nottinghill is not far away either. 3 subway lines run underneath the hotel (and you can hear it too), but convenience has its price. A cab ride costs about 10 pounds to Mayfair part of the city, but with traffic, the costs can go much higher. The tube is just the way to do it in London. There are smaller shops around the hotel that is worth exploring. Not a cheap hotel, but nothing is really cheap in London anyway.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is very rewarding for the whole team to see such positive comments. I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are relaxing in London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    301
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
244
681
108
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I searched diligently for many hours on the Internet for the perfect place to stay in London. We were looking specifically for a very nice boutique hotel in a good area with space for my mom and I, for ten nights, at a reasonable price. We found it in the Ampersand. This hotel opened last August and has been winning awards ever since (recently voted one of the 2012 best new hotels in the world by Conde Nast Traveler). It deserves all commendations; this is an excellent hotel. Here are ten reasons why:

10. A perfect location just around the corner from the South Kensington tube station, near restaurants and within an easy 5 minute walk to some of the best museums in London, as well as to a large selection of Barclay Bikes that would be easy to ride to Buckingham Palace.

9.Online bookings and a strong social media presence on Twitter and Facebook, with a real person providing quick responses to questions and comments.

8.The drawing room. Just wait till you see it.

7.Complimentary upgrades to your room in some cases.

6.Very comfortable beds with luxurious long pillows and duvets.

5.Spotlessly clean bathrooms and excellent professional housekeeping during your stay.

4.Free wifi in the rooms with no passwords needed and a strong signal.

3 and a half. Chocolates and a handwritten note of welcome on our first evening.

3. Extraordinarily pleasant and helpful front desk staff.

2. Unique and whimsical decor throughout all rooms, a beautiful front lobby and sitting areas.

1. A little rubber ducky, with the Ampersand logos on it, in the bathroom that you are welcome to take home with you after your stay.

I cannot think of anything they could improve upon. They arranged a very nice car service to Heathrow for us, which would have been a similar price for taking a taxi to Paddington station and then the Heathrow Express. Umbrellas in the rooms and at the front door were appreciated.

Lovely hotel, I very highly recommend it, and I will absolutely return here during my next stay. Feel free to contact me through Tripadvisor if you have any questions.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed and wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed all the little touches as well as the service provided by all of the team. I sincerely hope you took The Ampersand duck home with you at the end of the stay and I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, 04-05 till 04-09-2013. When we checked in, we were shown 4 rooms before settling on ours. We were told that as with many of the older buildings in London, the rooms on the lower levels usually came with higher ceilings (which gives the impression of more space) and the ceilings get lower as you go up floors. Unfortunately at this property, the rooms we saw on the first level also look out to the busy street and is exposed to all the foot traffic outside. As with most properties in big cities, space is a premium and our Deluxe room was small with an even smaller bathroom and closet space about the length of my forearm.

The chic-ness of this newer property (opened August 2012 ?) does make up for a lot as does the superb service from all the staff. A good restaurant is located in the hotel as is a pretty tearoom along with a cute library and games room and very efficient and tightly packed gym.

The hotel is a two minute walk to the South Kensington tube station which hosts the Piccadilly line going to and from Heathrow. Labanese, French, Japanese, Chinese, eateries are all around for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel that combines large hotel luxury and amenities with boutique hotel character. The location off the south Kensington tube stop gives quick and easy access to all central London sites. Room rate is on the high side, but includes the little things that many places nickel and dime like wifi and mini bar. Rooms are thoughtfully designed with ample seating, surface space, outlets, lighting. Bathroom is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

These guys really know how to look after you and the location is superb. My room was absolutely tiny but the bathroom generous. The staff were superb and – for once in London – really couldn't do enough to help without me asking or them charging for it. Couldn't recommend highly enough as long as you can get a good price and try to get a bigger room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Ampersand and would definitely go back. The hotel is brand new, therefore it is modern, fresh and nicely decorated throughout. The staff is very friendly and helpful and we were welcomed even before arriving, by a mail asking if we needed any arrangements beforehand. We had a superior room which was very good size with a nice and modern bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable.
The only downside was that there was not enough storage for our clothes,only two tiny drawers and no shelves, so we had to store some of our clothes in our luggage. The same thing at the bathroom, not even a hook to hang the towel next to the sink!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights based on previous reviews and were not disappointed . This is a really modern five star hotel providing five star service , and lovely modern rooms albeit a little on the small side but standard for london hotels , lovely big bathroom which was spotless and big spacious shower. The staff were helpful and courteous. The food in the restaurant was top quality . The location was great , right beside the south Kensington tube and only 10 minute walk to Harrods . We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#28 Luxury Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.