We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best new hotels in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ampersand Hotel
10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 1,071 hotels in London
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“One of the best new hotels in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I searched diligently for many hours on the Internet for the perfect place to stay in London. We were looking specifically for a very nice boutique hotel in a good area with space for my mom and I, for ten nights, at a reasonable price. We found it in the Ampersand. This hotel opened last August and has been winning awards ever since (recently voted one of the 2012 best new hotels in the world by Conde Nast Traveler). It deserves all commendations; this is an excellent hotel. Here are ten reasons why:

10. A perfect location just around the corner from the South Kensington tube station, near restaurants and within an easy 5 minute walk to some of the best museums in London, as well as to a large selection of Barclay Bikes that would be easy to ride to Buckingham Palace.

9.Online bookings and a strong social media presence on Twitter and Facebook, with a real person providing quick responses to questions and comments.

8.The drawing room. Just wait till you see it.

7.Complimentary upgrades to your room in some cases.

6.Very comfortable beds with luxurious long pillows and duvets.

5.Spotlessly clean bathrooms and excellent professional housekeeping during your stay.

4.Free wifi in the rooms with no passwords needed and a strong signal.

3 and a half. Chocolates and a handwritten note of welcome on our first evening.

3. Extraordinarily pleasant and helpful front desk staff.

2. Unique and whimsical decor throughout all rooms, a beautiful front lobby and sitting areas.

1. A little rubber ducky, with the Ampersand logos on it, in the bathroom that you are welcome to take home with you after your stay.

I cannot think of anything they could improve upon. They arranged a very nice car service to Heathrow for us, which would have been a similar price for taking a taxi to Paddington station and then the Heathrow Express. Umbrellas in the rooms and at the front door were appreciated.

Lovely hotel, I very highly recommend it, and I will absolutely return here during my next stay. Feel free to contact me through Tripadvisor if you have any questions.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for writing such a detailed and wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed all the little touches as well as the service provided by all of the team. I sincerely hope you took The Ampersand duck home with you at the end of the stay and I hope to welcome you back on your next visit to London.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    675
    188
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
137
427
64
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, 04-05 till 04-09-2013. When we checked in, we were shown 4 rooms before settling on ours. We were told that as with many of the older buildings in London, the rooms on the lower levels usually came with higher ceilings (which gives the impression of more space) and the ceilings get lower as you go up floors. Unfortunately at this property, the rooms we saw on the first level also look out to the busy street and is exposed to all the foot traffic outside. As with most properties in big cities, space is a premium and our Deluxe room was small with an even smaller bathroom and closet space about the length of my forearm.

The chic-ness of this newer property (opened August 2012 ?) does make up for a lot as does the superb service from all the staff. A good restaurant is located in the hotel as is a pretty tearoom along with a cute library and games room and very efficient and tightly packed gym.

The hotel is a two minute walk to the South Kensington tube station which hosts the Piccadilly line going to and from Heathrow. Labanese, French, Japanese, Chinese, eateries are all around for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Fantastic hotel that combines large hotel luxury and amenities with boutique hotel character. The location off the south Kensington tube stop gives quick and easy access to all central London sites. Room rate is on the high side, but includes the little things that many places nickel and dime like wifi and mini bar. Rooms are thoughtfully designed with ample seating, surface space, outlets, lighting. Bathroom is fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

These guys really know how to look after you and the location is superb. My room was absolutely tiny but the bathroom generous. The staff were superb and – for once in London – really couldn't do enough to help without me asking or them charging for it. Couldn't recommend highly enough as long as you can get a good price and try to get a bigger room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Ampersand and would definitely go back. The hotel is brand new, therefore it is modern, fresh and nicely decorated throughout. The staff is very friendly and helpful and we were welcomed even before arriving, by a mail asking if we needed any arrangements beforehand. We had a superior room which was very good size with a nice and modern bathroom. The bed was large and very comfortable.
The only downside was that there was not enough storage for our clothes,only two tiny drawers and no shelves, so we had to store some of our clothes in our luggage. The same thing at the bathroom, not even a hook to hang the towel next to the sink!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights based on previous reviews and were not disappointed . This is a really modern five star hotel providing five star service , and lovely modern rooms albeit a little on the small side but standard for london hotels , lovely big bathroom which was spotless and big spacious shower. The staff were helpful and courteous. The food in the restaurant was top quality . The location was great , right beside the south Kensington tube and only 10 minute walk to Harrods . We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just came back from a delightful stay at the Ampersand in London. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Room, which was absolute bliss. A big and very comfy bed, enough space for two and all our shopping as well as a very big bathroom. A lot has to be said for the warm floor tiles in the bathroom. Very enjoyable! We were lucky enough to be on the second floor, out to the side away from the kindergarten and the street. Slept very well, as it was not noisy at all. London is of course a very big city and some noise at night has to be expected, but we were pleasantly surprised about this. During the weekend we enjoyed our continental buffet breakfast in the Drawing Rooms, which are very nicely decorated and flooded with light. The Capuccino was very good and the breakfast selection nice. Some cheese would be appreciated, however, this is a personal remark... The other two mornings the same buffet breakfast was served in the underground restaurant Apero. Although nicely decorated as well, we felt that it was rather dark and a bit stuffy, we preferred the Drawing Rooms. Somehow, they seem to have a problem with the coffee machine in Apero as twice the Cappucino was extremely bitter and we had to re-order. Service was extremely friendly and helpful though, so no issue there.

As we had originally booked a Superior room we asked whether we could have a look at one to compare the size with the Deluxe room. A lot of people have commented on the size of the rooms. We stayed in London a lot of times, used to live there for a year. One has to be aware that London hotel rooms are generally rather on the small side. Comparing the two rooms, of course the Deluxe was bigger and very comfortable, however, we felt that the Superior room was also very nice. It really depends on your preferences whether you would like to splash out on a Deluxe room or not. Bearing in mind that most of the time you may be out and about it may not be an absolute necessity.

Location is key for a city trip of course and the Amepersand ticks all the boxes in this category as well. South Kensington is a perfect underground station, not a lot of stairs and very convenient for Heathrow and everywhere around town as it is on the Picadilly and Circle/District lines. A good number of restaurants are also in the area, so no need to go to Soho for dinner. And of course the hotel is very conveniently located to visit all the major London museums. Hyde Park is just a stroll away.

To sum it up: The best hotel we stayed at in London so far. We will definitely be back and can recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road and not on the side of the kindergarten are to be favoured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England
Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in London
#11 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Occupancy Marketing, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.