We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
The Ampersand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
33% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Kerry
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel; great service - not fussy but always attentive and nothing too much trouble; great location - near South Kensington Tube (35 mins to Heathrow), lots of restaurants nearby, and three World class museums; beautiful design and newly refurbished and oh so comfortable!

We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,355
    382
    64
    17
    4
See reviews for
329
861
140
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I used to stay frequently at the Grosvenor Hotel because of its proximity to the museums and South Ken tube station. The staff were helpful and attentive but the decor had seen better decades. I looked forward to staying in the new Ampersand following renovations. The similarities are only two: the address and a staff that is even more welcoming and helpful. The new decor is clean and modern. The furnishings are beautiful and the comfort of the bed matches exceeds any hotel I have ever stayed in. My experience which was in December could not have been better and I have a new favorite hotel in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My 22 year old daughter and I just returned from London and a 5 night stay in the double superior room at the &. We loved the design of this new artsy, well-appointed and luxurious hotel. Our room at the & was a good size and very quiet; the bathroom was spacious with everything we needed. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was delicious. The hotel is very close to the South Kensington station and we used the underground easily to go to all points around London. The hotel is in walking distance of two great museums (The Natural History and Victoria and Albert - great fashion and jewelry exhibits), and to delicious Ben's Cookies and nice local eateries. We could not have asked for more from this wonderful stay at the &. A memorable time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Arrived New Year's Day early am, which made me nervous and I had emailed the hotel prior requesting early check in due to our early flight arrival. I was told there would be no guarantee but hoping for the best.

Upon arriving, at about 10:30am, we were told the room was not yet ready and it was vacant but needed to be cleaned and would be ready at noon for check in (which is their check in time). We stayed in the lobby and crashed on the couch. After us, I noticed another couple waiting too. At noon, I went to the front desk and was told the room was not ready. I could not understand why when it was just due a cleaning, Certainly an hour and a half is enough time. Obviously this wasn't the case - at that time I would have expected them to offer us a snack or drink in the restaurant where we went to eat in the hotel to kill time for another 45 minutes, but that was not the case. Once checked in i was not going to let this bother me but share my experience for future bookers.

We had a Jr Suite which was very spacious, corner unit. Heated floors in the bathroom were a plus with the 30 degree weather. Bed was good, sheets & towels good quality too. The not so good was the thinness of the walls and the noise. You could hear people when they were walking above & the floor made alot of creaking noises. Windows didn't seem very isolated either.

Lobby had great area for tea, champagne and goodies - this was a plus.

Considering all, I would book again as long as it was on promotion (as we booked on promo). I think rate was about $420 in US dollars, which was high for what we got but understand London is very costly and our dollar is worth less.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible - thin walls & windows, you can hear alot
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stop browsing, start booking.

I spend 30-50 nights/year in hotels, and can confidently say that The Ampersand is one of the best hotels I've ever experienced.

I used to live in Kensington (lucky me) and was looking to stay in the area on a recent business trip to London. Ampersand was within my budget (about $250 over the weekend) and stylish. I like the staff's vest (or waistcoat as the Brits call them), tie and jeans look so much that I may adopt it as my own personal style.

Only complaint would be the lack of clothing storage space, but I had a small (ie: cheap) room and I'm guessing the bigger rooms might have more space. This issue is also fairly commonplace in London.

Location is perfect for exploring the museums, Hyde Park, Royal Albert Hall, Kensington and Chelsea, as well as being reasonably close to Westminster and Notting Hill as well.

London's best Spanish restaurant, Casa Brindisa, is right around the corner. Make reservations. There are unfortunately no truly good pubs in the immediate area (the Hoop & Toy is garbage), but the Anglesea Arms is a 10 minute walk away and is as Kensington as it gets. For another nice walk try to seek out Kynance Mews, which might be the most charming little street in London.

Room Tip: If you don't need space, get the cheap rooms. If you do need space, don't get the cheap room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My mother, sister and I stayed at the Ampersand Hotel in South Kensington in February. We loved it!! The Hotel is in a great location,with gorgeous cafes, eateries,and museums at your feet. The Ampersand also has a gorgeous tea room and restaurant within the hotel .

The hotel is lovely, beautiful interiors and fabulous staff who were very helpful! I would definitely recommend staying at this place for anyone who likes a little luxury at an affordable price.

I will definitely be back there each time I'm in London !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I went for the "stay two nights and get the third free" offer. Considering how expensive London is, it was a very good deal as hotel is new, staff helpful and friendly, mattresses relatively firm (have real problems with soft mattresses but even in 5 star hotels in London, mattresses tend to be too soft...not worth paying a small fortune for a bad back the next morning!), delicious breakfast in the restaurant in the basement (fresh organic items) and a tea lounge to die for at reception level. Rooms have different themes and different configurations. My room was almost perfect except for the extreme tiny closet and lack of more lighting as curtains and headboard were of an amazing deep navy velour. I loved the walk in shower instead of the customary shower and bath unit commonly found in most hotels in London. Bathroom amenities were top notch and generously replaced. Difficult to resist the blue rubber ducks...home now with me! Decor and details definitely worth a mention (cheerful, whimsy and a good eye for smart colour schemes). Hope it stays as clean and well maintained. One area of improvement would be a porter stationed at the entrance to help guests with their luggages...some steps to negotiate if luggage heavy. Neighbourhood comes with a tube station right next door and a short walk to Fulham Rd. (buzzing with shops and restaurants). If Ampersand's rates remain as friendly and maintenance is not compromised, guests will want to go back. I would!

Room Tip: Rooms likely all be different, each must come with pluses and minuses. Be adventurous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#27 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#53 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,794 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#7 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#3 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 819 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#30 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#32 Luxury Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ampersand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, MrandMrsSmith, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.