We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation location location location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
The Ampersand Hotel
10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent vacation location location location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

it exceeded my expectations, located two minutes walking from the south kensington tube. close to all major free museums to noting hill and to kings road. wonderful service and beautiful design rooms. I just loved the decor. the hotel has a beautiful breakfast lounge and cosy little restaurant
if you are looking for something different and you care about design this is the place for you.

Room Tip: the basic room are a little bit small. I did not really care because I did not spend too much time i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,180
    327
    56
    13
    4
See reviews for
274
753
117
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at new year and overall had a good stay, we had a small standard room and found it perfect for a short stay but any longer would of been a struggle as it was so small and we were stepping over our cases and just fit out clothes into the wardrobe as it was. The room was very clean and cosy with very tastfull decore, the beds are also super comfotable. Only one small detail is there is no where to hang your coat!

All the staff seemed friendly and attentive apart from when we decided to have afternoon tea at the hotel, we were ignored by the waitress as were some other people and waited for around 10 mins, after which she served some people the manager had just brought in. We got up and left as we did feel we were clearly not as important as other guests staying at the hotel.
This was a shame as I would of given the hotel 5 stars if this had not of happened to us.

Also the room we had was so very noisy and I had to buy ear plugs after the first night just to get some sleep!

Room Tip: Go for a high floor and take ear plugs with you just in case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed previously in a hotel on this site so it was interesting to see how much it had changed. Such a superb location for me as I was going to a meeting in the nearby Lycee and only a few steps from South Kensington tube. The hotel was fabulous and the staff were so proud of the hotel that they did everything to ensure that I had a really great few days there. The decor was bright and modern but in no way cold. The Library was well-stocked with a very eclectic mix of books. Although my room was on the 'bijou' side it was a quirky and comforting refuge and I really appreciated the stock of complimentary soft drinks in the bedside fridge, the fabulous range of toileteries, brilliant selection of tv channels and the easy to operate safe.
There was a good variety of eating opportunities - even at breakfast there was no need to feel forced into 'conforming' and lunch in the Drawing Room was a delightful experience.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one at the back of the hotel. Yhere was some noise from the adjacen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

everything superb...but be warned..if you get a room facing the main street, take some ear plugs..remember London never sleeps and that goes for South Kensington..taxis and bus noises will keep you awake

the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly

Room Tip: if you want peace and silence probably best you ask for a room not facing on to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We cannot thank or praise The Ampersand Team enough.
From the moment we made initial enquiries, prompt service, care and attention to detail and time and effort given to making us feel special was evident.
Correspondence between myself and the reservation team was beyond satisfactory. Even inviting us down to view the rooms and entire Hotel was a wonderful touch, and something we are so pleased we managed to do prior to our bookings.
The events team too were extremely helpful.

When we visited the hotel we explained we would be staying for the duration of our Civil Partnership ceremony and celebrations. On our arrival, the incredible gesture of a room upgrade to a Deluxe Suite made a HUGE difference to us. Having the room of our dreams offered to us made our stay all the more special. The hotel staff not only listened and took into consideration that it was a special occasion for us, but did something out of the ordinary to make our stay extraordinary.
From the kind welcome from the gentleman at Reception who remembered us from our viewing, to the thoughtful card and box of chocolates congratulating us on our Civil Partnership from the team, to the bed turn down service every evening, to the wonderful attention from every other employee we had the pleasure of coming not contact with making us feel like we were the only guests in the hotel.
Everyone knew us, and was happy to help in any way possible.
In addition, the hotel itself is impeccable ~ The room styling, AMAZING BED, wonderful restaurant and tea room, overall cleanliness and available amenities within. It also provided a remarkable backdrop to some of our wedding day photographs. We really felt we had the entire hotel just to ourselves. It was PERFECT!

There were also a couple of extra touches given to us on our wedding night, which were also something we hadn't expected at all.

It is fair to say The Ampersand not only achieved our expectations~ but exceeded them in every way.
We cannot wait to stay here again and implore everyone to treat yourself to a visit to The Ampersand hotel; you won't regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed overnight for a wedding this weekend and we are so glad we chose The Ampersand. We got a great deal through lastminute.com and arrived an hour early to be greeted by friendly, relaxed staff who were kind enough to upgrade us to a deluxe room. The whole hotel feels luxe - it is impeccably designed, very contemporary and not at all pretentious. The attention to detail is flawless - from the Miller Harris toiletries to the Ampersand rubber duck, they have certainly understood the cheeky little touches that make a hotel individual and five star. As many have noted the rooms are not huge, but they are beautiful and practical and we were more than comfortable. We were on the second floor in room 210 and there was some road noise despite the double glazing, but this is to be expected in London and didn't stop us sleeping well. The bed was amazingly comfortable, the robes and towels were plush and the free soft drinks/cafetiere coffee a welcome treat where other hotels charge through the nose. We didn't stay for breakfast but they serve it late until 11 which is great on the weekend, and our friends said the selection was fantastic and very reasonable at under £20. There are so many places to choose in London but I would happily return to The Ampersand - they know what they're doing. Our thanks to the team!

Room Tip: If you're averse to traffic noise get an inner room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great hotel across the street from the South Kensington Underground station. Open in September 2012. Our room was a nice size, very comfortable and with full amenities. Great value and just a short distance to Knightsbridge and Kensington.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#29 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.