We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Wonderfully comfortable and convenient'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ampersand Hotel
10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 1,073 hotels in London
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“'Wonderfully comfortable and convenient'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed three week nights - on arrival was upgraded to a deluxe room which was lovely, though I do wonder about the size of the smaller rooms since mine was not that generous. Rooms have recently been renovated so everything was in excellent condition. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and I had a room near the rear of the building that was very quiet. Amenities were of a high standard. Service was very good, food in-house, both room serivce and Ampero and the Drawing Rooms was very good as well. The location is fantastic, and I found it very relaxing and seamless. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    837
    230
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
185
524
83
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Ampersand hotel is a recently developed/renovated boutique hotel just a stones throw from South Kensington tube station. As far as the location goes its perfect, less than 5 minutes walk from the tube station and right on the number 14 bus route that takes you into the heart of tourist London. The surrounding area has everything you could want with an array of restaurants, pubs, bars, the fabulous hummingbird bakery, museums (V&A and Natural History), the Albert Hall and even a Lamborghini showroom if you're looking for a new car!
The building and decor are beautiful and spotlessly clean, with sumptuous and gorgeous rooms that are both stylish and cozy, a very hard balance to strike for many modern hotels.
The hotel was booked as a romantic getaway and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. The staff were friendly and attentive, service was swift and the hotel had a general feeling of relaxed luxury and class.
The bathrooms have huge monsoon showers, fluffy towels and complimentary robes/slippers, and they even have little Ampersand rubber ducks for bath time!
The only negatives I could highlight to make this a fair and balanced review are that we were on the second floor at the front of the hotel and road noise was quite noticeable, with the bus stop and club opposite providing noise until late into the night. That said it did not cause too much disruption or detract from the enjoyment of our stay. Also I ordered room service, which provided very difficult due to an apparent problem with the phone line. Once I managed to order however, the food was delivered quickly.
I will certainly return to The Ampersand hotel on my next trip to London and recommend anyone else to do likewise.

Room Tip: It may be worth asking for a room at the back of the hotel away from the road as they may be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Already upon making the reservation at this hotel the experience is brilliant. The concierge service of the hotel arranged my entire stay in London with musical tickets, entry tickets to London sights and restaurant reservations. They are friendly, attentive and pro-active. The service at the hotel during the stay was great as well. Enthousiastic and motivated staff is what made the stay for me just perfect. The hotel itself is good and comfortable. The location is fantastic.

Negative points were the fact that WIFI at the 4th floor doesn't work so I had internet only in the public areas. The gym has modern equipment but is very small (on the other hand the parks are close by if you want to run). Breakfast is nothing to write home about.

The hotel has a good flat rate taxi service to the airport but the driver we had was crazy. Maybe that was just an incident.

I will most definitely come back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who plans to stay in London.

If you need to have things arranged during your trip then ask for Myriam. She was most helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Travelled down from Sheffield to London for a shave at the world famous G F Trumpers in Mayfair and what a fantastic experience it was. We have Stayed 2 nights and have been very impressed. The decor is well put together and bright in the lobby, but subtle and two tone in the rooms. The staff were excellent and professional. When we asked if they were in a position to perform the complimentary shoe shine service (thanks for reviving my Redwings), they said "madam at his hotel almost anything is possible". Brilliant! The only negative was the size of hanging space, which has already been mentioned on this forum. Our wardrobe was unable to house a long coat or dress, and such items would have to be placed in the bathroom. The top portion of the wardrobe housed a fuse box for some reason. If this was removed, along with the safe at the foot of the wardrobe (this being placed in the bedside cabinet) then problem solved. Love the brass eagled espresso machine in the lobby. If I am in the big smoke again, would definitely return.

Room Tip: If your coat is long, then upgrade or drape it over the chair!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I can't fault this hotel at all! We stayed in a standard double room and the hotel exceeded our expectations considering the price. The attention to the little details really made all the difference even though our room was quite small. The staff were welcoming, helpful, professional and couldn't do enough for us. The location is great; just a minute from the tube and Natural History Museum, 15minutes walk from Royal Albert Hall and Harrods. Great service, food and hospitality. If you are looking for a classy hotel at a reasonable price with all the little extra's you expect at a 5* then take a good look - what a gem!

Room Tip: We had a standard double which was a little small, but absolutely no comprimise on quality other tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Myself and the team put a lot of thought into the amenities and the service we provide at The Ampersand Hotel so we are always very pleased when it makes such a positive impact. We agree the double rooms are not large but they are beautiful and ideal for one for two night.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigtuna, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed a weekend (three nights) with my grown up daughter. All staff were very friendly and the service prompt and helpful. The common areas are well equipped with for example computers with printers and fitness room with free, cold bottled water and towels. The room was nice however a bit small for a superior room, but warm and cosy even with a temperature below zero outside. An extra plus for having floor heating in the bathroom. As in many other hotels in London it was possible to sometimes experience a slight ruble when a train went by, but that didn´t disture us at all. The location very near tube station South Kensington facliltated our stay in London, as for example approx. only 10 minutes to Piccadilly Circus. We will absolutely consider to stay in this hotel again at or next privat visit in London.

Room Tip: You should consider to book at least a superior room if more than one person as the standard rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Ampersand Hotel. It is uplifting and highly motivating for the team to read such fantastic comments. We are lucky enough to be in a wonderful area with great links to the West End whilst being within walking distance of some great shops on Kings Road.
I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I really wanted to love this place, but the service was terrible. I will finish on positives so will get the negatives done with first. I was in room 408 a deluxe double and the place shook and rumbled EVERY time a train went by, but the worst part was service, I hung my breakfast order out before bed to be delivered at ten. Ten am came and went and so did 10.15, at which point I dialled room service. No answer, I have up at11 am and checked out after 4 attempts to call down to room service. Other than those points the hotel is very nicely decorated deluxe double was fairly spacious brand new and comfy restfull(once trains stop) bed. Won't be back though...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberto P, General Manager at The Ampersand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. Please accept my apologies for the service you received on the morning of your departure. This is not the usual high standard of service we normally provide to our guests and I am disappointed you were let down.
I have looked into the issues you have raised to understand where we need to improve to ensure this is not repeated in the future.
Due to the proximity to South Kensington underground we have some rooms which are slighted affected by noise from the underground the majority of the bedrooms in the hotel are not.

I hope you will allow us an opportunity in the future to restore your faith in us and the service we provide.

Kind regards
Roberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in London
#20 Romantic Hotel in London
#23 Casino Hotel in London
#32 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Amex, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.