We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ampersand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ampersand Hotel to your Saves list
The Ampersand Hotel
10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Ampersand January 10-13. We needed a hotel in the Knightsbridge/Kensington/Chelsea area and I did a search of all the hotels in the area. The Ampersand looked perfect after reading the Tripadvisor reviews. The rooms are large for london. They are clean with new modern bathrooms, modern technology and clean very comfortable beds. The Tube stop is across the street. The coffee and tea in the main lobby was very nice and the restaurant for breakfast was awesome. One night my kids wanted pizza but we did not see it on the menu. I called to ask for a nearby pizza place that would deliver, They recommened a place but said they would pick it up, deliver to the room and charge to my bill! These guys really get how to be good at SERVICE! Fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    304
    50
    12
    4
See reviews for
245
686
108
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

me and my partner stayed here for one night, very nice hotel very clean and helpful staff, we also used the drawings rooms for afternoon tea which was great and once again great service, we got a free upgrade of rooms which was great! our room was lovely really comfy large bed, comp soft drinks and water, tea and coffee, lovely bathroom, tv etc.... only downfall is if you want to watch a film they charge you £8! per film! you get free wi fi which actually does work and signal was strong. Overall had a really good experience expensive but great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Booked a 3 night stay through slh. We were in a superior room. Comfortable but compact. We did have a few noise issues: first morning woken up at 7am by electric drill (there is still some building work going on); then at 8am the rubbish lorries made a fair bit of noise. Our room also overlooked playground of French lycée so during the week there is noise at certain times of the day with school children screaming & playing. Lastly, the hotel is above the underground so you can feel a rumble as trains go by. However, having said all that, we did have a good stay. The hotel is still new & pristine. Towels & dressing gowns all wonderfully new & fluffy. Free water & soft drinks in fridge, plus tea/coffee in room with fresh milk. Staff all very friendly. Breakfast is in the basement. £10 for continental which we thought was very good value (especially if you like a few cups of coffee in the morning to get you going) & a nice selection of brioches, croissants, muffins etc plus fresh fruit & fruit juice. Great location just steps from s kensington tube. Would definitely feel happy staying here on my own in London. We didn't spend much time in the room as we were out & about. If we were planning a more leisurely stay in London I would probably want to stay in one of their larger rooms to enjoy more space.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

loved this wonderful boutique hotel . The decor is very fresh and colourful , the staff are helpful and friendly , although it was strange at first to see their dress code was jeans !! But the hotel is a little quirky and thats what makes it a joy ! The bedroom was typical for London ,small , but it was extremely comfortable and the bed was large and cosy . Situated across the road from South Kensington tube station the hotel is very accessible to all the major attractions . I will definitely return to this hotel ,hopefully very soon !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Everything about the hotel is stylish and well done. The staff are great and treat you in a very friendly manner. From check in to check out it was a pleasure to be there. I love the decoration of the place. We had a room upgrade and everything was perfect from the lighting , shower, hot water and small little touches , such as mini nibbles left in our room. The bed is supremely comfortable and it was one of the best nights sleep i have ever had in a hotel. I could happily have stayed in bed all day.
The only minus point would be the noise from the underground, but it didnt bother me. That one point is very much outweighed by all the positives , such as the perfect location for Harrods and the museums .
I cannot recommend this hotel enough. Whenever i am in London i go there even if its just for a glass of champagne and a cake. Its like an oasis.

Room Tip: choose a room further up in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, absolutely loved it. Has a great boutique feel to it, beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable.
We stayed in a superior room the bed was huge! All round great service and scrumptious breakfast.
This hotel with without a doubt be top of my list for my next hotel stay in London.
I didn't know it was going to be so close to the tube station either, really handy only a stones throw from south Kensington station.
Some nice places to eat and drink nearby too.
Can't wait to come again thank you Ampersand!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This new boutique hotel, newly renovated offers excellent value for money in a great location just minutes away from Harrods, A&V museum, Hyde Park and other attractions. the sfatt if very attentive and helpful. it offers a nice coffee shop restaurant downstairs in addition to service in the lobby. i have stayed there twice in the last month and will be back soon.

Erik O

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ampersand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ampersand Hotel

Address: 10 Harrington Road, London SW7 3ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in London
#25 Romantic Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With some of the most stylish hotel rooms in Kensington, The Ampersand is a privately-owned luxury London hotel that combines contemporary excellence in design, service, food and technology in an 1888 building at the capital's heart. We have been inspired by those great Victorian values of discovery and wonder - and given them a modern, whimsical twist. The result: a cosmopolitan, 111-room luxury boutique hotel, bar, restaurant and drawing rooms, delivering 21st-century warmth, humour and total comfort.The Ampersand Hotel is situated just a minute's walk from South Kensington tube station, and is well connected to Heathrow airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ampersand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ampersand Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ampersand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.