We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome on a freezing Monday night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nino's

Nino's
18 Electric Parade | George Lane, London E18 2LY, England
+44 20 8989 6192
Improve this listing
Ranked #897 of 17,944 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a freezing Monday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Although we've lived in the area for 6 years, this is the first time we've been to Nino's - our loss. We went on a freezing Monday night to celebrate a close friend's birthday.We were two tables - a 10 and a 12 and were initially dismayed to see that there were two other birthday celebrations including a group from TOWIE! Our apprehension was misplaced. Everyone in our group thought their food was delicious - generous portions, all brought to the tables at more or less the same time with everything - including the vegatables piping hot. The menu choice was wide and no-one struggled to find something they liked. I had one of the best tasting Steak Dianes ever - and that's saying something. Service was friendly,efficient, conversational but not 'in yer face' and from what we could see, the other celebration parties were being equally well served. Desserts were a bit expensive but once again,portions were generous. We will definitely go back and still wonder why it took us so long to discover..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great venue for a celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have visited Nino's on one previous ocassion which was also a celebration. This time with four friends, two of whom had not been there before. We booked early, mindful of some comments about noise levels & one of our party has reduced hearing & we wanted to be able to include them in the conversation. The staff are warm & friendly, but not intrusive. The food is great - the lamb rack, rib-eye steak, tricolor dish & penne all received a big thumbs up. Portions are generous & we didnt have room for dessert, opting for liquer coffees instead. The manager showed us a particular kindness which was greatly appreciated :0). It did get noisy after 9.00 & the background music seems to drive people to speak with increased volume - perhaps the restaurant might want to think about this? Having said that, it is lively, happy & very apparent to us as to why it is such a popular venue. Being a non-resident from a less affluent part of the UK the price is a little on the high side, but for all that it is great for a celebratory meal when you want to push the boat out a little...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A birthday celebration brought me and three friends to nino's. we had a really nice evening. Staff were very present and attentive. Food was cooked perfectly. I ordered the fillet steak, blue. The chianti was delicious. And the chocolate cake was the perfect amount of sweet. Recommended to all in South Woodford.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently visited this restaurant for lunch and dinner. The food and service was first class and the price was not unreasonable. Portions are plentiful so you can have one course. Nice round tables so you can dine with family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenham
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“'Very, very good!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I was originally supposed to be taken to Nino's last April but in the event I didn't get there until mid-December. So, as an inveterate Italian bistro lover, I had some time to dream about Nino's.

I was not disappointed! It was devine on each and every count. What a shame that it's not terribly convenient for me but I'll make the effort to return to South Woodford, just for Nino's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nino's also viewed

 
Woodford Green, Essex
London, England
 

Been to Nino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.