We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for your citytrip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stylotel

Save Saved
You added Stylotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stylotel
160-162 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England (Formerly Ruddimans Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #465 of 1,073 hotels in London
Blaricum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location for your citytrip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was as I expected it to be. Conveniently located around the corner of Paddington tube station Rooms are not large and a bit noisy but OK for a couple of nights. Breakfast was sufficient and acceptable in quality. All in all, a good place to stay during your city trip to London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    188
    99
    27
    20
See reviews for
102
93
49
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamrun, Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's very convinient and for a modern hotel it's not expensive. It's very easy to find and if you travel from Gatwick Airport, dont get a taxi from airport to hotel. Take the Gatwick Express to Victoria station and from there take the underground from Victoria to Paddington Station. Just round the corner and easy to find. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is also good. Very near Hydepark you can walk to the park. Recomand it to everyone

Room Tip: not far from Paddington Station just in less than 2 minutes you're there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Location: Near Paddington station which is sort of convenient if you want to get to Heathrow quickly. Unfortunately the tube lines that go to Paddington (Bakerloo and Circle) are not very good and quite slow as they stop a lot. Hyde Park's within an easy walking distance but there are no great dining options nearby.
Rooms: The single rooms are quite small and luckily I was offered a twin room which felt (in comparison) so much better! The noise insulation is terrible which is not uncommon for hotels in London. The bathroom was just awful as everything was just made from plastic and it was very small as well. Lastly, the design of the room made it feel very cold as there was lots of metal on display.
Breakfast: Overall not that tasty but I guess the selection was Ok.
Service: Very unfriendly reception staff, I was barely greeted when I arrived. The room I was first given was tucked away behind the bar with a tiny window so I demanded a different one. The receptionist told me 3 (!) times that I requested a quiet room and then reluctantly agreed to show me a different one.
Conclusion: The only redeeming quality of this hotel is the relatively low price, but I would not stay there a second time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the location and recommendation from the Rick Steves guidebook. It is conveniently located near Paddington Station. If you fly in to Heathrow you can be at the hotel in a half hour by taking the Heathrow Connect or Heathrow Express (in my opinion taking the Express is throwing money away for not much of a time difference). I was traveling with my wife and sister-in-law so we booked a triple room. On their website it said that a triple room came with a single bed and a double bed. When we got to the hotel they told us they upgraded us to a "suite". We thought this was going to give us more space, but we ended up with the same amount of space, a fold out couch instead of a single bed, and a kitchenette that we never used. I do not think this was an upgrade. The room and bathroom were very small, but that was expected. The breakfast buffet was a highlight of our stay.

Stylotel served its purpose. As I said we chose it for the location. We were a short walking distance to the Paddington underground station where we could get anywhere we wanted in London. The room was clean and the breakfast delicious. You should not expect a lot of English charm, but if you are out and about all day you will hardly notice while you are passing out in your hotel room at night.

Room Tip: Be careful if they offer you an upgrade to a "suite". You may be better off in the regula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paisley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Stylotel for 2 nights. Great location only 5min walk from paddington tube. Loads of shops and reataurants nearby. Staff were lovely. Had a van so got parking right at the main entrance for a small charge. Rooms were small but clean. Had everything u need for a short stay. Breakfast was good. Would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great find: A modern friendly budget hotel very near Paddington Station. Of course the rooms are small, but they have everything you need, are clean and in my first experience, quiet. Good size TV with plenty of channel choice.
Also comes with breakfast included: I was pleasantly surprised this was a fairly full affair: usual cooked goodies, limited cereal choice, plenty of juices, breads, croissant etc. Even a complimentary drink in their nearby pub (but only 1/2 pint beer or equivalent).
Drawbacks? Just the rather tight space, need to run shower for a long time to pull the hot water through (and then fine). No in-room coffee/tea facilities, but free tea/coffee in lobby waiting area.

Room Tip: I took the £10 hit on check-in to upgrade to twin room. Still not much room around beds, but made it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for about a week in december 2012, christmass week. I enjoyed my stay. I hope the change the sheets to cotton. They hurt my knee, the friction on the sheets. Also, the stuff were nice, except for the fattest guy at the reception. He is quite a mean guy who is forced to be nice by circumstances, and it comes off as fake. Everyone else was super. The kitchen was great, I didnt mind the chairs either. If the price were the same, I would go back a hundred times to this place. Love it! Oh, and paddingon is just around the corner, and edgeware road is also close by.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stylotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stylotel

Address: 160-162 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England (Formerly Ruddimans Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Stylotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stylotel Hotel London
Stylotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stylotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.