We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stylotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stylotel to your Saves list
Stylotel
160-162 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England (Formerly Ruddimans Hotel) (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #506 of 1,063 Hotels in London
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location and at reasonable prices. Nowhere in London you can find Stylotel's prices but with the same standards. Nice and Clean rooms decent breakfast, free wifi, and very good service.
Strongly reccomended or Cypriots and Greeks tourists.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    206
    115
    32
    21
See reviews for
120
105
53
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed in Stylotel for 6 nights last week on a short vacation in London. The hotel was recommended by a friend who had stayed there many times and was very pleased with both service and location. And he was right. First of all, the location was very good. I have always been skeptical with hotels located near train stations, but the area was safe and the hotel not only two blocks away from Paddington tube and train station, but also 5 mins walk from Lancaster Gate station and Hyde Park. Notting Hill and Knightsbridge were just a walk away! I had a single room which was small sized but nonetheless making good use of space and adequately equipped : telephone, flat tv, safety box, hair dryer, bath products. Breakfast was served in the clean basement by friendly staff and offered a good variety of choices. Coffee very friendly and specially helpful with anything we needed, Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Go for the double room even if you travel alone, more space in a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Two of us stayed just one night, on a quick trip to take in a show. The hotel was a bargain on one of those last minute sites, and we snapped up the last room at half normal price. It was a small room, with a double-bed and a single for the two of us. Pod-style bathroom, was tiny but clean and functional. The breakfast, which was included, was great - lots of options. The stairs were a minor inconvenience with luggage, but we were assisted by staff. All the staff at the hotel were exceptional, good-humoured and extremely helpful - we were very impressed with the staff! We arrived early, and Stylotel was extremely accommodating - our room was already ready for us. The location was great, just a couple of minutes to Paddington metro station, and only 10 mins in a cab to the West End. I thought this hotel was excellent for the money, great for a short stay, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was obviously for 3 people (double + single), which gave us a lot more space. If expense is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The room was clean, cheap, and the staff friendly, but the room itself was tiny, and the bathroom felt like it was from a channel ferry berth. There were no tea making facilities, or drinking water, and the bizarre future/industrial "styl" was very tired, and looked like it was from the set of Crystal Maze!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This place is awful! Cheap and dirty! Upon check-in at 11 pm, I was asked if I wanted to pay 10 GBP more to upgrade because the Single room I had reserved was really very small. This right away annoyed me because I, like most people, don't like being nickeled and dimed especially late at night when very tired. Then, I had to pay for internet.

The room (I took the bigger one) was boiling hot. It was dirty and disgusting. Nasty calcium deposits on the faucet, mold on the bottom of the door, dirty marks and little holes in the sheets. It smelled yuck. So gross that I left without eating breakfast.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Let me start with the good. Paddington station is only a block away so it made getting around the city very easy. The room and public areas were very clean. Now the not so good. My favorite part of my stay was when I called down for an iron and ironing board. I was told that there was a "space" in front of the breakfast room where I could press my clothes. The "space" was actually the ironing board leaning against the wall at the entrance to the breakfast. I was pressing my clothes while people were walking into breakfast. The bed linens and towels were very old and stained. The Stylotel needs an injection of style.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor require you to climb narrow stairs from the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night before leaving London, the experience was very strange, room was very small and it made me feel like I was in a cabin or in a cruise ship room, toilet was very small and the shower was tiny. The guy at the reception was friendly and the hotel is very close to Paddington train station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stylotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stylotel

Address: 160-162 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England (Formerly Ruddimans Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stylotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stylotel Hotel London
Stylotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stylotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.