We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - shame about the rest...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier West Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier West Hotel to your Saves list
Premier West Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 - 34 Glenthorne Rd, London W6 0LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #938 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great location - shame about the rest...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with a friend who booked it for a one night stay over in London. This hotel has two things going for it - the price and the location. It's literally 3 minutes walk from Hammersmith underground which will easily get you to many popular tourist areas like Piccadilly, Oxford Street and the West End and is well linked to all other underground lines. The second plus is the price. We paid £55 for a twin room and you will really struggle to get anything with this good of a location for this kind of price.
Unfortunately that is where the good points end. The hotel is extremely run down, smells like public toilets and is generally a mess. Our room was an ok size but nothing worked. The shower was broke so had to be handheld and took about 10 minutes to get hot water. The tv didn't work, the wall lamps did not work, gurgling sounds kept coming from the plug holes and the door to the room was almost falling off. Amazingly we weren't even provided with duvets of the beds, just a sheet and a very flimsy, old brown blanket. My friend was so cold she had to wear two polo necks just to keep warm! Also annoying was loads of slamming doors from about 6am in the morning which wasn't the best wake up call. Breakfast was very basic but fine. Weirdly they also photocopied my friends passport when she checked in.
Neither of us are fussy and so if we absolutely couldn't find anywhere else we could afford, then we probably would stay again but if you're after a romantic stay or are coming for a nice weekend in London then don't book the Premier West as you will probably be very let down. If however, you are on a very tight budget, are used to 'no frills' and want a great location, the this may be an option for you. Just don't have any expectations and take a polo neck!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    30
    58
    47
    131
See reviews for
32
83
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We arrived at this place not a good impression from the outside old cars covered over an unkept appearence , walked through door to a really nasty smell, went to book in and the man at reception asked for my booking as he did this he burped in my face but didnt even acknoledge he had done so was told our room was on the first floor walking to room the whole place smelt of mould and damp i had to hold my breadth to walk to room once in room you could feel the damp,bathroom - no shower working,bday had a big hole and jagged to touch toilet would only flush after about 15 minutes decoration in bathroom was awful dirty and flaky paintwork bedroom- carpet was filthy black marks everywhere tv an old fashion one that wouldnt work bedclothes were clean but were damp kettle had to use on the floor as the table it was on was too high to reach the socket trouser press not working .Didnt have breakfast as the so called dining room was a little alcove dark and with 4 tables didnt look to clean so avoided that stayed out as late as possible to avoid going back to room slept in clothes and coat as it was so damp

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed overnight for new year's eve, good hotel for a short trip, as its very close to Hammersmith station. The earlier comment rather too harsh, so not much expectation for this visit. but the reception are pretty unfriendly though, we had guest coming and they were advising us that only 2 people allowed in the room, perhaps should ask visitor differently? is not that we don't know the rules and regulations.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The en-suite is clean, and towels supplied. There is a TV in the room BUT not working. Regular supply of Shampoo and Soap. The shower has good regulation of hot & cold water.

Breakfast is a mixture of fruits, yogurt, juice, cereal and toast. They also serve coffee and tea. This is served downstairs in the breakfast hall, but it was a bit congested with few tables only.

The radiator in our bedroom seemed to be not working but there was a heater which I could switch on and off according to my needs. Good point is that it is well-situated for access to buses and Hammersmith train station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I´ve been in this hotel during 2 nights last october, so I´ve to say that I don´t have any complain. If you are looking for a place cheap to stay and clean, it´s a good option! The building is old, there is some facade problems but I had a clean and confortable bed, also hot water for shower. It´s well located, near to the underground and places to eat! Good option for students who wants to visit London! I don´t think you may find something with same price! It´s cheap and a bit better than a hostel!

Room Tip: Triple room is a good option in this hotel! It is bigger than the other ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineda de Mar, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I bought a stay at this hotel on the third week of September through a website, not realizing how fake the photos can be.
First I was greeted with a solemn looking Asia Asian staff who was obviously far from familiar with British etiquette.
Then I noticed the horrid dank smell of fungal, infected furnishing. And it was even worse at the 2nd floor room I was given which had a view to two huge waste bins below.
Worse to come, I had only ice cold shower working and the hot shower was only fixed on the fourth day of my five days of wasteful stay. Same inaction on the bathroom sink that got clogged every two seconds the faucet was turned on.
This stay in London certainly gave me a bad first impression of cleanliness standard in UK, which luckily didn't last long after I stayed at several other hotels during my extended UK visit.
Some may say you get what you pay for but 50 quid a day would have been better spent in investing on a tent to sleep outdoors..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Ok let me start by saying yes the location is amazing that's the only thing they have going for them.
If your looking for something dirt cheap and you only want to sleep in it this is it.
But even when you sleep it's absolutely rubbish the blanket is so thin and I found myself wrapping myself up with my own clothes.
The toilets are filthy and disgusting.
I'm sorry to say this but I know it's a 1/2 star BUT seriously all you need is decent painting and cleaning (I mean get scrubbing) and my god the corridors make you feel suffocated and stuffy. The breakfast is straight forward it's not cooked but I decided not to go down for breakfast as there wasn't much choice and looking at how filthy everything else was I rather not eat there.
People that are writing 4/5 star I dread to think what your houses are like!!!!
I expect at least decent cleaning, there were ants and a fly in the toilet.
The staff were pleasant at least.
Shame it's such a run down place.
A little bit more work and it could be something amazing. I mean guys you have the best location in the place you can really make it work and if its nicer people will pay more!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier West Hotel

Address: 28 - 34 Glenthorne Rd, London W6 0LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #938 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Premier West Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier West London
Hotel Premier West
Premier West Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier West Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.