We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna & Simone Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Luna & Simone Hotel to your Saves list
Luna & Simone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47/49 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England (Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
DIRECT BOOKING DISCOUNT
Ranked #90 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Luna & Simone Hotel was an excellent bargain in a good location (Belgrave Road in the Pimlico/Victoria area). The room was large enough for the two of us and everything was spotless, tasteful, and working.

Two brothers run the hotel and involve other family members with the day to day operations. One of the brothers served us breakfast each day and he couldn't have been nicer. The hotel, including the breakfast room, was furnished in modern, mostly white and chrome, fixtures. Everything was spotless. And the service was excellent. Our only wish would have been for an elevator. The breakfast room was in the basement so we had four floors to climb on full stomachs. But we managed and it was probably good for us.

There are several nice pubs in the neighborhood. And we discovered that there is an excellent bus route that begins across the street from our hotel and, in the evening, drops off immediately in front of the hotel door. It's the Number 24 route and I highly recommend it. It goes past Victoria Station, Westminster Abbey, Parliament Square, Trafalgar Square, and Leicester Square. If you can't find enough to do on that route, you're hopeless. And, if that wasn't enough, the buses are brand new featuring three doors for getting on and off. It runs every 6-10 minutes until midnight. We prefer buses to the tube for the view.

Room Tip: Since there's no elevator, pick a lower room if you have trouble climbing stairs. The higher ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,025
    524
    95
    16
    8
See reviews for
384
615
137
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a 6 nights Sep '12. I booked this hotel based on previous reviews I had read on Tripadvisor. I definitely don't regret booking this place. At the time, I had asked for a deal and paid 1000pounds for 6 nights if paid in cash upon arrival, which I think is pretty good considering the location of this hotel. After reading recent reviews, they haven't changed at all (good thing). It's true, Bus 24 is still accessible and takes you to most places in central london; in fact we mainly took the bus rather than the Tube even though we had unlimited fare. The bus just seems more London-y and sitting up top floor on the double decker is pretty cool. However, if you prefer to Tube it. You have Victoria station towards the right as you exit the hotel and Pimlico Tube towards the left (about 5 mins walk). It's most convenient!

The neighbourhood feels homely and friendly, you've got a pub just down the road which seems like a nice setting - didn't get to go though. Location is a plus. Transport is good as well as walking distance to Buckingham Palace. We also walked to Harrods but that took a little more time than usual. I'd say around 15 minutes - but it was nice to walk around.

The hotel is pretty good, rooms seem a little boring decor wise but we were out and about most of the day so who cares! The bathrooms were quite nice, modern and most importantly clean. (view pics)The room had enough space to put aside your suitcases and clothing and still walk around without stepping over things. TV and WIFI worked well and that made us happy. Breakfast was something that my partner and I looked forward to. It was very yummy and quite a bit of options to choose from. The two brothers who almost looked identical were there every morning helping out in the kitchen serving us our breakfast. There's nothing better than having the owners of the hotel getting involved and personally attending to our needs. Reception were helpful as well, showing us how to get to specific tourist spots on the map. They really take the time to help you. Be aware - NO elevators, so if you aren't very fit, there's an issue. We only had to go up couple stairs and our room was there so wasn't a hassle.

Overall it was a nice stay and would stay again. Enjoy!

Just a tip: If you need to get to an airport, they book shared shuttle buses at reception. Much cheaper and hassle free!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in September. While the rooms are small, they were extremely clean and efficiently furnished. Management couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Breakfast offers several choices and is not a buffet but served by pleasant waiters. We were delighted to discover the Apollo Victoria Theater, where we had tickets, was about six blocks away. Would definitely stay again.

Tip: The Heathrow shuttle picks up at the door. They make a limited number of stops, the van holds 8 and ours went directly to the airport from the hotel. You need to reserve early as it does fill up and can reserve at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, MD
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

1. Breakfast, choice of english breakfast, soft boiled eggs or healthy breakfast, all in the price of the room.
2. Very helpful staff.
3. Bathroom, shower great, plenty of hot water and good pressure.
4. Ceiling fan in your room.
5. Electronic safe.
6. Super clean rooms.
7. Bus 24 immediately in front of the hotel, Bus 24 takes you almost everywhere you want to go.
8. Nice location, nearby restaurants, pubs, or grocery stores.
9. Rental cars nearby, as well as Victoria train station.
10. Very quiet neighborhood, even if your room is facing the street.

Room Tip: Asked for lower floor, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here with my family for a few nights early in September, and we loved it. Location was great, rooms were a little small but clean, and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very generous, and best of all they offer gluten free bread and cereal. This was wonderful since my daughter is celiac and eating gluten free away from home can be a huge challenge. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This small hotel is located in a very up market neighborhood only three blocks from the bus station. The room we had was quite small but very clean. The bed was comfortable. We had a great fully cooked breakfast each morning and the staff were helpful and friendly. There is no lift so if you have a lot of luggage its a bit of a pain but for the location and price this hotel is brilliant. We walked everywhere from this establishment, St Davids Park, the British Museum, the National Gallery, the palace etc etc. This has got to be the best value hotel in London!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texan (in Washington)
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Staying here was our first experience with London hotels, so let me preface with several comments for First-Timers: 1) Rooms are small in London, generally speaking. Don't expect anything approaching the size of a queen suite at a Travelodge in the USA. 2) Don't expect air conditioning; consider it a bonus. If you need AC, look for it specifically in the hotel details, or ask what kind of fan is in the room.

Luna Simone was a great little hotel for the price, especially since it's such a good location. Plenty of pubs, restaurants, and stores/markets within 2-3 blocks, and Victoria Station is a quick 10 minute walk away. The bus stops right out front, too. The hotel is very cute, maybe a little worn, but well-kept up. Our room was on the 2nd (3rd in USA) floor; no lifts. Plenty of outlets, clean bathrooms, and tidy beds. Staff was always helpful. We had a large ceiling fan in the room which was our saviour, because it was 84 F when we got into town! Room cleaned and clean towels every day, if you so choose. No washcloths, though, so bring one.

Breakfast was good. Ham and tomato, yogurt, cereal, banana, and all the toast and jam you could want. There were a few more choices (eggs and stuff), but this was what we had, usually. Oddly enough, they also had some gluten-free alternatives, which I think is great because you don't see that even in the USA, much. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna & Simone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna & Simone Hotel

Address: 47/49 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in London
#105 Romantic Hotel in London
#171 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna & Simone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Luna & Simone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna And Simone Hotel
Luna Simone London
Luna & Simone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna & Simone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.