We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luna & Simone Hotel

Save Saved
You added Luna & Simone Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luna & Simone Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47/49 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England (Victoria)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
DIRECT BOOKING DISCOUNT
Ranked #75 of 1,073 hotels in London
Blackpool
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and we werent dissapointed. We arrived early and the rooms were ready for us. They were spotlessly clean, comfortable, and bigger than expected. The bathroom was very nice and the shower as hot as you wanted it.
The staff couldnt do enough to help, they were great with my 5 year old son at breakfast and definately made us feel welcome. They were more than happy to let us leave our bags on the day of departure which was also a big help.
I cant recommend this hotel enough - friendly, comfortable, clean and ideally located (the no. 24 bus stops right outside and yet at night the road is quiet). We would definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    991
    501
    89
    16
    8
See reviews for
366
589
132
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights, and could not have had a better experience. Before we even arrived, I was impressed with their service. I was having some trouble with getting a call through from the U.S., and emailed my question instead - within minutes, my phone rang with an offer of assistance. Our request for a room on a lower level was honored, and the staff was more than willing to answer follow-up questions by email. And, when we arrived, they couldn't have been more friendly or helpful, from start to finish.

Based on the reviews, I was expecting the room to be tiny, and I was prepared to grin and bear it since people seemed to be otherwise happy with their stay. But, for two people who really only came back to the hotel to sleep, our twin room was more than suitable for both of us to be comfortable without tripping over each other. The space is well-planned, and both the outer room and bathroom were easy to maneuver without feeling cramped. The free Wi-Fi was reliable, at least in our room on the front of the "Luna" side.

Breakfast offers enough options (hot and cold) to get you started for a day of activity. You also get your own key to access the outer doors, so you can come and go as you please. Reaching the hotel was a cinch - while Pimlico is a bit closer, Victoria offers more options and is about a 15 minute walk away (and an even shorter bus ride). And it's a great walk - a mix of residential/business with several good restaurants, two markets, and a drugstore (chemist) along the way. In fact, the location is one of the biggest bonuses - aside from what's in walking distance, the #24 bus (within steps of the door) is on a well-connected route. We did many of the "big" attractions, and were able to rely on our feet and Travelcard all week (great for the budget, although we missed talking to the cab drivers!) In spite of all of the amenities, things seemed to quiet down at night and we had no issues with street noise.

Just a few mentions (not as negatives, but just by way of information):
- The walls are thin. Luckily, we only heard the occasional cough or sneeze - but, we could hear them. I'm not sure if it's the same for all of the rooms, but things might have been different things with louder (or more..."active") neighbors.
- Stairs weren't an issue, since we only had to go up a couple of flights. But, as many others have stated, a higher room could make for a more strenuous journey.
- It's Fall/Autumn and the weather was mild. But, the rooms can get a bit stuffy after being closed up for a while (i.e. during the day, while we were out). However, we were always able to get the air moving again by cracking the window and running the ceiling fan - problem solved. Not sure if things would be different in a more extreme part of the year (i.e. Summer).

All in all, we were completely satisfied, and it really did feel like a home away from home. Hopefully, we will be able to return to London soon and there is nowhere else that I would rather stay! I recommend them without reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor (two flights up) have nice long windows that open on to a "Juliet&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have recently spent another 3 nights at the Luna & Simone and once again have not been disappointed. We had a twin room which was large enough for the both of us to feel comfortable and the bathroom was surprisingly roomy. The hotel is in a great location with many attractions within walking distance. There are restaurants and supermarkets in easy reach and a choice of 2 tube stations just minutes away. This was my third stay and this hotel and would still be my first choice should I return to London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We found this hotel through a Rick Steves guidebook and were not disappointed. London hotels are very expensive and we got a good discount by mentioning Rick's guidebook and paying cash. The location is excellent - we came into London by Eurostar from Brussels and it was easy to get to the Victoria Square tube station and walk the rest of the way to the hotel.

They serve breakfast from 7:00-8:30 but since we had an early train to catch the last morning, they served us around 6:50 and were very accommodating. We had forgotten to ask for a downstairs room but they managed to get one for us. We were at the front of the building and the street noise was loud - so glad we had earplugs. There is no lift so either get a room close to street level or be prepared to climb!

Our room was comfortable - not huge but certainly comfortable and we appreciated having a water pot to make tea in our room. Staff is very friendly - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The two twin brothers that own and run the place have a good sense of humor. Good location with bus stop at the door and sub station just a short walk away 10 min. Rooms are clean. They are small rooms and can get pretty warm even in October. Rooms have showers. Beds have wheels on them so they do roll around (that could be a little unnerving the first time it rolls away from you. Our experience with all the staff was great. Breakfast was good and the two brothers look so much alike that if it were not for wearing different shirts, you would think you are dealing with the same person.

Would come back to this place to stay again....in fact we did when we came back to London a couple weeks later. Free wifi except the bottom back bedroom does not get the signal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed for 6 nights. The room was small, but clean. My room faced the street and after a long day sightseeing, I didn't notice any noise at all. I enjoyed the street view. The Pimilico tube is a little closer. I felt it was a nice hotel and safe if traveling alone. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Was easy to find and the receptionist was very helpful. AFter a quick freshen up in a tidy and clean room, I decided to take in some of London's sights. Receptionist told me to take the bus just outside the hotel which took me directly to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament. Plenty of decent pubs and eateries nearby, especially Chimes (a two minute walk away) which is a cider bar and has excellent traditional English food like cottage pie and mashed spuds covered in gravy. Great range of ciders too. Not far away from there is also a Tescos and in the direction of Victoria a Sainsbury's - perfect for the traveller stocking up for the next day's travelling.
The only negative was that the room was on the street front and was a little noisy. However, after a couple of ciders, I was oblivious...

Room Tip: It's quite a trek to the 4th and 5th floors with heavy bags. Get something lower if you're p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luna & Simone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna & Simone Hotel

Address: 47/49 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#132 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna & Simone Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Luna & Simone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna And Simone Hotel
Luna Simone London
Luna & Simone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna & Simone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.