We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of King Solomon Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Solomon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
King Solomon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #929 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“I would go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I booked this due to price - it was the cheapest - but I was anxious due to the bad reviews on this site. However, I was pleasently surprised. The room was big enough, light airy and fresh (no smells!). It was clean and the bathroom was good. The breakfast was what I would have expected and was more than adequate. Free parking and location ner to tube was adistict advntage. I was particularly careful to note the staff at every opportunity as they have been heavily criticised here. Either they have completely new staff or people are unreasonable. They were friendly and helpful. My wife is fussy but she was happy with our stay. Bottom line: value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    78
    51
    156
See reviews for
89
73
41
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

I can't believe we actually paid to stay in ths awful place.............
BATHROOM.... dirty, shower full of mildew and someone had covered up the mouldy grout with silicone which was falling off !!!!!
No mat on the floor, just a hand towel !!!???? why a towel i ask my self? , shelf above hand basin and toilet roll holder falling off wall .
ROOM .......tiny...we had a family room , 2 double beds, we were under the impression there was 2 singles as we have a boy and a girl, who really are not keen on sharing a bed !!! beds, reasonably comfy, slept on worse.. romm had been recently painted and absolutley stunk, i am glad none of us suffered with asthma as there would have been a major problem.
BREAKFAST ....omg !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! no organisation, to make a cup of tea you had to walk to 3 different parts of the dining room , not very wise when young children are walking around....if you like tuna and sweetcorn, egg mayonaise and tomato ,cucumber and red onion for breakfast you will love it .... otherwise its boring toast bagels and cereals , if you are lucky you may get a boiled egg which is hotttttt .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

where do i start the rooms are not clean,and so tiny could barely move in it the staff are ignorant and unfriendly breakfast consists of toast of which someone stands gaurd to make sure you dont have too much the orange juice is cheap warm squash and the coffee cheap i also think it is the local hang out for young gangs as i was mortified to arrive back at the hotel in the evening and have to walk through a gang of youths blocking the door and sitting all over my car,the walls are thin you will not sleep here i was knackered after my stay .STAY CLEAR OF THIS HOTEL

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

dump - how do i even start - the staff should have been exhibits in madame tussauds - the room was the size of a matchbox- the window was broken - the toilet handle fell off on numerous occasions - the tv which was probably made in 1842 didn't work - if toast is your preference for breakfast - then join the queue of ravenous toast stealing rude guests. the decor in the room makes fawlty towers look like the ritz - i will never ever ever go back to this hole ever again. the best thing about the hotel was the road to the tube station. errrrr we even had to ask for clean towels on a daily basis - do these people never wash!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I went to work in Golders Green for 18 months and the first hotel I chose to stop in was the King Solomon. Okay it was reasonably priced.

It was not a pleasant experience.

On the plus side it is reasonably priced and has a good location.

On the minus side the hotel is shabby, the rooms dirty, every room I stopped in had a problem with it be it the shower head, the TV, the bed linen, the towels. One left the shower feeling dirtier than when one entered.

The staff on reception were generally unhelpful and in some cases rude. Every week when I checked out they demanded to know if I had made any phone calls, not asked, demanded.

The walls were paper thin so some nights you could hear people in the room next to you talking on the phone.

The last week I spent there I was around the corner in another house they had. The room was even dirtier, the bed was not made for 3 nights and the towels not changed.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Annes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

Having seen previous reviews, we stayed here with trepidation, but had no choice as other hotels in area were fully booked. It's really not that bad. Yes the room was basic, reception staff fairly disinterested, breakfast not to our taste. However it was clean enough, and very cheap..we only paid £59 for a double with free parking. There was a decent pub just down the rd called the White Swan, which served reasonably priced and not bad food. The tube is a few minutes walk at Golders Green and just one stop to fashionable Hampstead with its nice bars and restaurants and Euston about another 10 mins further. If your looking for the ritz and staff falling over themselves to help, forget it. However it's fine as somewhere to get your head down and to explore London.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

ok i'll make it quick .
before i airved to it i read so much about it evey one saying bad stuff about it and so , i was first not sure but i gave it a try , and honestly i arived frindly fast welcome i paied he showed me the way to my room as it's not easy to get to it .
the room was nice and big enough with a duoble bed as i requested with a bath in the bath room. good breakfast and the location is sooo good .

the bad things about the hotel first the hot water in the morning runs out quick as every one is having a shower , the towles the first day i had 4 , the next day i had 3 then 2 then 1 . lol ( i stayed for a week ) .
one night the room next to me were having a gang bang party i heared every thing as if it was in my room ..lol
as for the room key each day i had to reprogram it for some stupid reason .

other then that the hotel is very good and i will defo be back to it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Address: 155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #929 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Solomon Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Solomon London
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Solomon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.