We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Stay! Pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Solomon Hotel

Save Saved
You added King Solomon Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
King Solomon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #930 of 1,071 hotels in London
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bargain Stay! Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in room 108, a double with extra bed and ensuite. great room but walls are thin so expect to hear door slamming and voices. but after reading reviews, i was surprised. beds were spotless and comfy and bathroom, even though it was small it was perfect for us (although the water in the shower was too hot for my chap, and didn't seem to have a cool setting, just hot and hotter).

Tea & coffee tray was full and even a fridge under the counter. Plenty of room for clothes and shirts to hang. Sockets were a struggle to get to, as the bed needed moving slightly, but nothing too tricky.
Housekeeping came in the day while we were out; emptied the bins and remade the beds and left more towels and loo roll.
Breakfast was odd, but filled us for the day. Toast, bagels, boiled egg, salad(?), tuna sweetcorn and egg mayo sandwich fillers and cereal. It was a shame that the coffee was vending machine, but my daughter loved the hot choc.

We were unfortunate on our first night stay that there was a domestic fight happening in a room nearby and kept us up all night, and left us pretty exhausted the next day, but the second night was very quiet so we soon forgot about it.

Location of the hotel was pretty good, only a short walk from the Golder Green Tube Station and passed most convenience store if you need supplies. Mainly Kosher eats locally though due to the area being predominantly Jewish.

We were very pleased with our stay, and we only paid £62 pn for the room inc breakfast. Bargain.

Room Tip: Our room was 108 (Double and single beds) and at the back. It was overlooking the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    90
    48
    162
See reviews for
79
60
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay 2 nights with our 2 young children and requested a cot which was an adequate travel cot however, our room was on the 2nd floor. As this hotel has no lifts, we had to carry the pushchair up a very narrow staircase.

The room was big enough but the beds were camp beds and the duvets thin from age! The bathroom looked newly refurbished however none of us could wash/shower as the water was scolding hot!

Breakfast in my opinion was very poor: salad and odd tastiby Bagels. The kids just about managed the cereal. The owner stood menacingly urging his staff to stop talking and work!

All in all not the worst place we have stayed but like so many other guests commented, it could have been so much better.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

There was parking at the front of the hotel although a little tight and perhaps not enough places during busy periods.

Check in was ok although it seemed there was some sort of construction or reconstruction going on and so it didn't seem as professional as perhaps it may have had. The reception staff were ok, neither friendly or welcoming - indifferent.

Our room was at the top and so we had to struggle up these narrow staircases with all our belongings from our 6 week tour, which was no easy feat and it's a good job that we are fit and healthy.

Our first impressions? Nice but squashed. It was so small. The bed was comfortable, there was everything we needed - a kettle, very good supply of tea, coffee, milk and sugar, and it was clean.... but the bathroom door doesn't close and I enjoy my privacy. Hello! Plug sockets?

The shower floor is scratched but everything works fine and the towels are clean.

The next day, even though they took our dirty towel away, they failed to leave a fresh one - an oversight probably.

Wifi is something like £9 for 24 hours which I think is too much so we just used my mobile phone's internet which was cheaper.

We were awoken by people coming in on the first night late at night, and on the second the fire alarm went off. Twice! It was approximately 4 or 5am. Thereafter, we could hear people going from room to room, down the stairs, talking in the hallways, leaving, etc., and it was far too busy for me to go back to sleep.

Although breakfast was included, neither my husband or had any appetite after quite a restless couple of nights so I am unable to comment on it.

I wouldn't stay here again and I would not recommend it to family or friends.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Yes it's basic but what do you expect for the price? The room we stayed in had two double beds and a small bathroom. The room was clean and tidy, it had tea, coffee and kettle, a tv. Needed a iron and got one from reception. I will say the breakfast is nothing to write home about but who really cares!? It's fine for one night and I would happily stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had to take our cases up 3 flights of narrow stairs, to the roof top attic room, therefore we were in a slanted room, was so small, the bathroom so narrow and must of been a cupboard! Our room still had a toilet roll holder on the wall, so maybe it used to be a bathroom,
The hallway absolutely stunk, our room stunk it was rank!! Stunk of damp and was really damp, you could feel it on your skin and bedding and just disgusting!! This place is a total crap hole. Double room NOT !!!!
Camp beds, TV was perched on the wardrobe and you couldn't see it properly, dining staff miserable and breakfast unedible, nobody would believe the smell or conditions, you have to see and smell it to believe it. What a dive !!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Booked four nights at this hotel. I visit the U.K every year and it is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Arrived on Monday 9 Sep, and the middle-aged gentleman at the reception was so unwelcoming as I walked up to him he wore a stern look & his exact words were 'What can I do for you?' Got into the room after a 7 hours flight and there was hair on the bed. The matrass was worn out and definitely needed changing. You could constantly hear the doors slam from other rooms. I will never go back to this hotel & wont recommend it to anyone. To borrow an English expression, 'it was the pits'......couldn't wait to get out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Am I just lucky with this hotel or do people expect too much! This is my 4th stay in 2 years and I have not had any cause for complaint on any occasion. The rooms were a decent size and clean, the breakfast adequate and the staff helpful. Yes, it is not a 4 star hotel but it is very good value and my latest stay was in the best room so far - room 60.

I would not hesitate to book it again for value and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Also Known As:
King Solomon London
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel London
King Solomon Hotel London, England
Address: 155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #930 of 1,071 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Solomon Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Solomon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.