We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of King Solomon Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added King Solomon Hotel to your Saves list
King Solomon Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #965 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Nottingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Another nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Am I just lucky with this hotel or do people expect too much! This is my 4th stay in 2 years and I have not had any cause for complaint on any occasion. The rooms were a decent size and clean, the breakfast adequate and the staff helpful. Yes, it is not a 4 star hotel but it is very good value and my latest stay was in the best room so far - room 60.

I would not hesitate to book it again for value and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    43
    84
    58
    170
See reviews for
95
81
43
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is in awful condition, it really neads to be renovated. It was noisy, the doors were very bad, you can hardly close it. The bad was uncomfortable, i couldn't sleep well. The hotel was dirty also and the bathroom as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Specifically requested 3 single beds for myself and 2 teenage children. Ended up with double &1 single. Not a very comfortable night. Room airless in the middle of a heatwave , loud youngsters till well past 1am. Apart from that ,good price compared to the rest of London at this time of year, clean with comfortable beds. One of those places that could be excellent but falls short because it doesn't seem to try very hard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the King Solomon hotel with my girlfriend and her son, we had what was stated as a family room (Room 99), however the room was barely big enough for one person. There was no curtain covering the velux window, one of the beds was right underneath this window, this resulted in an early morning wake-up call as the the room was light-up from about 5 a.m in the morning. I asked at reception if something could be done about this, at which point the big scary owner pipped up and and had a go at me for complaining. The bathroom door did not close properly, the room was damp, there was no hot water from the tap in the bathroom, there was no fridge in the room, the net curtain was stapled and not stitched, there is a sign on the back of the door in all rooms stating that it is advisable to use the room safes provided for valuable items, however there was no safe in the room, there is also supposed to be a hair-drier provided but we did NOT have one of these either. The water in the shower did not drain away very well, this resulted in the water overflowing out of the shower base and onto the floor. This hotel is zero star rated but is confusingly more expensive than star rated hotels in the surrounding area. In the morning the big scary owner stands in the restaurant area and just menacingly looks at the guests in a "KIng of his castle" sort of way. The only reason we ended up staying here is because our original booking at a different hotel was double-booked, we only found out at about 8.00 p.m when we arrived at our original hotel and we were very tired and just wanted somewhere to stay, the King Solomon was booked on our behalf and the difference was paid for by the original hotelier, personally i would not have paid the price this hotel was charging. This hotel is in the heart of the Jewish community and therefore really caters for the Jewish, breakfast is supplied however this consists of salad, i.e. the 3 mornings we were there the same items were served for breakfast, tomatoes, tuna/mayo, cucumber, egg/mayo, boiled egg. There are over 100 rooms in this hotel and the building isn't really that big for that amount of rooms, hence why the rooms are so small, As highlighted in the title of this review "Don't Go There.......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After having our chosen hotel double book us we were then booked into the King Solomon Hotel where we were advised it was a 3 star hotel (Its actually not rated!)
Our booking was accepted online but when we arrived we had to wait 15mins whilst the receptionist (in his words) juggled other guests around to accommodate us. We were then shown to our "Family Room" by his colleague (or rather we followed a foreign male whilst he had a conversation on his mobile whilst grunting & pointing now & then at us!), after climbing 3 flights of stairs & walking down several twisting/turning corridors we arrived in our attic room!
There was a double sofa bed & another double bed (very thin mattress on 2 single metal frames pushed together!) The bulbs were bare. There were 2 windows one which had curtains another (velux) window just had nets stapled to it, & as it faced another building whose lights were on 24/7 we asked if they could put a curtain up for us to be nastily shoe shoed away by the manager! We improvised & made our own curtains out of the bed runners lol.
The rooms were clean & the bedding was very clean. Our bathroom had recently been refurbished & was lovely so no complaints there.
We were the only english customers in a hotel of 90+ rooms, all the other guests were Jewish as this is predominantly a Jewish area.
Breakfast was a buffet of Tuna, Sweetcorn & Mayo / Egg & Mayo / Boiled Eggs / Sliced Tomatoes, Cucumber / Bagels, butter & Jam / Cereal. Fruit Juice & Hot Drinks.
The staff watched over your every move making breakfast very uncomfortable to say the least, they never smiled or said hello/goodbye.
The stairs leading up to our room stunk of damp & a notice on the inside of our door mentioned a safe in our room (which we never had)!
Overall a not so pleasant experience so wont be going back there again!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Room clean in need of more lighting .Bathroom no sink stopper no bath mat no hand towels. otherwise well okish. staff were helpful. we had a room in the front lots of traffic noise .cannot blame hotel .

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back we were in the front traffic noise lots
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

- watch the showers - too hot n quite difficult to get it right
- no lifts and tight stairs
- unfriendly staff
- terrible breakfast - not continental but Jewish. Had to have breakfast at cafe Nero around the corner
- not enough towels in the bathroom
- no bath mats
- blowed up lamp next to bed
- no hair dryer even though the website states there is one
- no shower cap
- no sockets next to the bedside lamp or kettle
- windown wouldn't open
A group of eleven people with the same opinion - never to go back to

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King Solomon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Solomon Hotel

Address: 155/159 Golders Green Road, London NW11 9BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #965 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King Solomon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your King Solomon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Solomon London
Hotel King Solomon
King Solomon Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Solomon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.