We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome family-run B&B for a good budget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesmond Dene Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jesmond Dene Hotel to your Saves list
Jesmond Dene Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #249 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome family-run B&B for a good budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Jesmond Dene B&B is a great choice for traveller's who appreciate convenience and comfort at a great budget. The furnishings of the place is new & cosy and we appreciated the lovely spread at breakfast. Darren & his team is always welcoming and friendly to guests at whichever time we returned to the place.

Jesmond Dene is located a stone's throw away from King's Cross station & St Pancras International, which made it extremely easy for us to catch the Eurostar to Paris. Darren even made an exception to help us keep our luggage for 3 days while we visited Paris!

Would highly recommend this place to anyone :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    622
    139
    26
    17
See reviews for
474
455
149
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I have now stayed twice at the Flat attached to the Jesmond Dene hotel, which is located about 5 mins walk from both the main hotel and Kings Cross station. I would not hesitate to stay there again and intend doing so on my next trip to London.

Room Tip: The flat is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed at the hotel as a group of 6 and every one of us liked it! Booking via e-mail was easy and all questions were answered very fast. The location near King's Cross is absolutely perfect to get around London, but it was quieted enough at night to sleep well. The rooms were small (the bathrooms even smaller) but, what is most important to me, very clean. Breakfast was very good and always more than enough. As the breakfast room is small indeed we were asked to call at the reception before going downstairs. In my opinion a good way to avoid waiting in front of the room.
This won't be our last stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Room reservation was so easy. Hotel supplied us with options to choose available rooms. Secure parking is available although not in the vicinity of the hotel, for a price, of course. There are not too many free parking in UK, especially in London area. Stayed here for a night with the family and it was great. Breakfast was fabulous. It is walking distance to King's Cross underground tube. We love this hotel and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in May. Could not have asked for more. Location was really perfect for our sightseeing and day trips, right next to the train station. Comy bed, quiet street so minimal street traffic, small but efficient room and in suite bathroom. And a hearty breakfast that kept us goes until dinner! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Contact them directly, great response to email
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed two nights in May and found the hotel perfect for our plans. It is less than 5 minutes away to St. Pancras/King's Cross stations for our Eurostar connection and our tube connection to see London.
The rooms were extremely clean and the full english breakfast offered in the morning was terrific. We had a double room for my wife and I and a spacious twin room for our two adult sons. All the hotel staff were very pleasant and helpful with any inquiries we had.We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to London.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans LA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Service, service, service and more service! And not only service but genuine friendliness to boot. The Jesmond Dene was just tops in every way. I almost hate to recommend it because I'm afraid when word gets out, I won't be able to get a room next time I'm in London. ;)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#253 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#308 of 1,055 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,948 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#609 of 1,055 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#276 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Dene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Dene Hotel

Address: 27 Argyle Street, London WC1H 8EP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Dene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located across the road from Kings Cross St. Pancras International. The Jesmond Dene is a 3 Star family run bed and breakfast hotel which has an excellent reputation. Our high standards in cleanliness and service make us a number one choice for your visit to London. Read from over 1700 reviews online to hear from our many happy customers! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Jesmond Dene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Dene Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesmond Dene Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.