We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blades Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blades Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Blades Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   122 Belgrave Rd, London SW1V 2BL, England (Victoria)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #408 of 1,071 hotels in London
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“great location,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

we stayed here for one night, our room was a decent size, neat and tidy, the location was great .. breakfast ..there was plenty to eat, the staff were lovely and friendly and we would stay again, only thing that was urgh, was there was a spot of blood on the duvet cover .. but we had a sheet underneath that was clean and fresh.. so i made sure that stayed on top of me! lol .. all in all i would stay again if we are back in London.. makes for a good base to explore. :) thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We would like to thank this nice family for their review and since their departure we have discovered that the spot of blood they mention was actually "red marker pen."
We couldn`t understand how the red stain was such a perfectly round circle almost as if it had been drawn on to the duvet cover,and yet all the other bedding was perfect.
But similar stain appeared on a pillow case in the linen cupboard and it was a red marker pen used by staff that had been left there without a top on it, and it must have seeped slowly into the fabric which would explain the perfect circle. We are relieved to have discovered this and will make sure this doesn`t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    99
    33
    20
    17
See reviews for
55
57
27
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The cost of staying overnight in London can be prohibitive, but at The Blades we found a small hotel in a very convenient location (tube and buses within a minutes walk) in Pimlico, which also makes it within walking distance of Houses of Parliament, Tate Britain and many other sights, and at a very reasonable price. Our room was a good size with a neat little bathroom and very clean. Breakfast being included is a real bonus and consists of good quality cereals, yoghurt, cold meat, cheese, white and wholemeal bread and crumpets for toasting, lurpak butter, flora and jams - great for the price. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me.I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next time in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanwell Park, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Clean with friendly staff, we had a lovely ground floor room, not fancy but nice and clean, slept very well, lovely breakfasts. We stayed for two nights would recommend for short stays
The only thing I was disappointed with was when our room was cleaned, our cups were left dirty beside the bed as well as a couple of wine glasses we had used, apart from this, I was happy with our accomodation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
We thank these guests for their review and our chambermaid thought that the cups were still in use and as the wine glasses didn`t belong to the hotel and were owned by the guest she didn`t think it was proper for her to clean them. They were quite large,nice glasses, and the guest left them behind having told her he didn`t want to pack them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mantova
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was in London for a Training , just 2 days , and the Blades Hotel was a perfect solution.
I got a very nice room , and the person at the reception was very friendly and helpful.
I will come back to this hotel in the future for my short stay in London.

Room Tip: do not come too late at the hotel , and maybe go for a double room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Blades Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere and service you received during your stay.
Please do come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Clean with friendly attentive staff who were only to pleased to provide help and additional facilities not present when we checked in and also printed direction maps. Unfortunately no lift and Stairs only for access to all rooms but both our cases were carried up to the second floor without any issue! The bedroom was small and the double bed was under the window so only accessible from one side but it was very comfortable! The breakfast room is in the cellar but it was very light with the street window directly above. The continental breakfast was self service with a good choice of cereal, bread for the 3 toasters plus ham, cheese and fruit. The 24 hour bus service number 24 is only meters away and they are the new London buses!! There is no doubt the price compared to City hotels is attracting clients and Portabello Tube Station is only minutes away giving access to wider London via Victoria line. Overall a good clean base for those visits into the City sights and shops.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor room if unable to climb stairs but bathrooms are in a corridor outside even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed at the Blades hotel for three nights, generally happy with the experience.

Pros:
1) Location - no need to take a taxi from Heathrow, subway takes you there (Pimilco station, about 3 minute easy walk to the hotel door) in about an hour. A single change at Green Park station is not a big deal with very convenient elevators. Try to get into the car by the end door - there's plenty of space there for the luggage.
2) Location - do not bother taking subway from anywhere in central London/Westminster to the hotel. Even for a single person, a very convenient London taxi costs about as much as the subway, for two or more - its a steal.
3) Location - quiet neighborhood, still within walking distance (about 1.5 miles) to Trafalgar square, Buckingham Palace etc.
4) Premises are small but clean and generally well kept.
5) Included breakfast is sufficient to get you going until your fish-and-chip lunch (the best London food, IMHO).
6) The stuff is friendly and helpful - online and in person.
7) the price is right.

Cons:
1) No elevator, steep narrow staircase.
2) Wifi is unpredictable, and does not always work well in the room.
3) Rooms are small

Overall - recommended.

Room Tip: Call in advance, ask for the GROUND FLOOR room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me.I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next time in London.

Steven Toth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

if you are interested in staying in a killer location for less than half the price of similar locales, this is the place.
Spotlessly clean with competitive pricing for the far too often expensive London. A stones throw from Sloane St and the Kings Rd not to mention Victoria station, which feeds Gatwick airport and Oxford & beyond, then this is for you. Breakfast is included !!! Yep you read that right....we were 3 girls in town for a conference for 2 nights. Staff were excellent and gave us tips on where to eat and the best tube stops for our day trips...

Room Tip: if you want to avoid the gym ask for the 6th floor cos there is no elevator but a fab view is your p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bladeshotel, General Manager at Blades Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. Your feedback is very important to me.I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I am grateful for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next time in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blades Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blades Hotel

Also Known As:
Blades Hotel London
Blades Hotel London, England
Address: 122 Belgrave Rd, London SW1V 2BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Victoria
Hotel Style:
#308 Business Hotel in London
#461 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blades Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Blades Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blades Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.