We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location - great nights sleep!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Leicester Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn London Leicester Square to your Saves list
Premier Inn London Leicester Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Leicester Place | Leicester Square, London WC2H 7BP, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £100
Ranked #144 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant location - great nights sleep!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I recently stayed at the Premier Inn, Leicester Square with my mum and 2yr old toddler. We did think that the hotel was pricey at £180 per night for a triple room. However, there is a good saying "that you get what you pay for".

Niggles First

On arrival our room was not ready but we were 30 minutes early. We were told to come back in 45 minutes, when we did the receptionist gave us room 605, we took the keys and went up to find that the cleaner was in cleaning the room. We waited 5 minutes and let her finish. We were a bit put out about this as we were tired after a 5 hour train journey with a large case and a toddler, however the receptionist who allocated the room was in training and She was very pleasant so we overlooked this error. We also we're a bit disappointed that the only lift that could be accessed by a ramp was out of service for 2 days of our stay. This was an issue as we had a child's buggy with us and had to lift it up over the steps up and down all the time to enter and exit the hotel. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and on 2 of the mornings we stayed we were woken up once at 6.40am with an early morning call from reception ( which we did not ask for) and on another morning at about 6.30 am we were rudely awoken with a (false) fire alarm. We also noticed that on the tea tray there was only 2 tea bags and 2 sachets of coffee, so after a long haul walking and shopping in London you were limited to tea and coffee in the room. Considering this was a triple room, we would have been in a quandary if 3 people drank either tea or coffee. I dare say we could have got in the lift down to reception and got more. Also breakfast was not included in the price of the room, so you paid for this separately. To be honest we started to laugh about our stay and call the hotel faulty towers but in an affectionate way, as you will see in the next paragraph.

Good thoughts

As much as we had a few little niggles, we really enjoyed the hotel. It was the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in, which is impressive as you are right in the heart of London's busiest spot. It is an absolutely fantastic location. We never had to go on the tube, bus or taxi once. We could easily walk to Westminster, Harrods, All the theatres, Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace. It was so easy to access the original tour bus for city tours. Lots of restaurants and bars outside the front door of hotel. The breakfast was brilliant for £9, eat as much as you like. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. The best thing about the hotel though is the staff. I was very impressed how friendly and chatty they were and very helpful. I will name a few of them, Sue, Oliver, Katie, Mohammed and Julie. They made our stay very special and my daughter enjoyed breakfast every morning talking to them. They were pleasant, helpful and cheerful and this is one of the many reasons I will definitely return to this hotel. Well done premier Inn!

Room Tip: I have a feeling that the higher the floor the quieter it may be. Anything above level 3 probably go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy G, Manager at Premier Inn London Leicester Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

Firstly, please allow me to apologise for the inconvenience experienced at check in and the wake up call you received, it seems there was a break down in communication on our part which has now been included in future training with new starters. I can also understand your frustration with the lift being out of service for the duration of your stay, we were constantly in communication with the lift engineers however I apologise for the delay in fixing the issue. The fire alarm was unfortunately a false activation which again I can only apologise for the inconvenience this must have caused.

I am pleased you found our location so convenient during your stay and your room was comfortable for your family. The team are delighted you have mentioned their names specifically, there is nothing I like more than to have such lovely feedback about the team and the service they deliver.

It is great to hear the positive outweighed the issues you experienced and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to London.

Many Thanks.
Katy Green
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    306
    77
    22
    7
See reviews for
310
357
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As someone who is really fussy I wasn't sure about staying in a Premier Inn. This one is top notch.
The staff are there to help, more what you would expect from a small boutique hotel, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are small but reasonable for London. I could actually sleep in this one as it was quiet! Everything was clean and well maintained. They serve 24 hour pizza they are excellent highly recommended! This hotel is so central. I would definitely stay here again. Well done Premier Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy G, Manager at Premier Inn London Leicester Square, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for such lovely comments about your recent stay with us here at Premier Inn London Leicester Square.

It is great to hear you had a good night's sleep with us and found your room suited your requirements.

Thank you for your feedback on the team also, they try their best everyday day to deliver fantastic levels of service and I am glad that this is what you experienced!

On behalf of myself and the whole team, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Katy Green
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a room on the sixth floor and it was the quietest night's sleep I've had in years! Fantastic central location, nicely appointed room, very comfortable bed, lovely welcoming staff. Windows are locked, so you have to rely on the air conditioning, which I don't like. Breakfast good. Main problem was the lifts: essential here as the hotel runs to 8 floors and reception is on the 2nd. Only one was working, and the staff were having to use it for service trolleys as well, so there were queues and delays. But overall, a credit to the Premier Inn brand, and I would definitely be happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor - noise free!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I had a really lovely couple of days in London. Staying at this hotel for just one night. Hotel location, staff, food and cleanliness of room all faultless, however, we didnt get a 'guaranteed' Good Nights rest as we heard the very loud 'bass' of the music from the nightclub disco directly below our bedroom starting at 10pm and finally ceasing at 3am, and this was a Tuesday night, not a typical Friday/Saturday event... We would definately stay here again, but would request a room anywhere other than on Floor 3 and take our earplugs...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here this week for 2 nights on business and it was right in between all 3 offices i had to attend, all within walking distance. Considering it is only a Premier Inn, i would be happy to stay here again and will do next time i am in London for business or pleasure. The room was utterly spotless, TV channels endless, choice of pillows in the room, bathroom was sparkling and the security features, for a woman on her own, made me feel very relaxed and not intimated by central London at all. The breakfast was fine, buffet more than adequate, but most of all their staff made you feel so welcome, not overbearing and just there to help, if you want it. It was quite expensive for a Premier Inn at £189 per night, but that's London for you and the convenience and all of the above is what i paid for, quite unbegrudgingly! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Central, easy reach of theatres, clean, comfortable and friendly service what more could you ask ? Would recommend this for short stay or longer .Breakfast option very good restaurant a bit small if all the rooms require breakfast at the same time food good and hot ( not always the case with buffet service ) Overall pleasent stay .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is new (built in May 2012) so everything is new and clean which is nice. In addition the room was not tiny like other hotels in central london tend to be. The location is excellent - many attractions are within walking distance.
The only problem in the hotel was the internet. There are 30 minutes free per day, but if you want to buy internet it costs 3 pounds per 24 hours (reasonable price). We got to the hotel on a 5pm and stayed for 3 nights - so we bought 3 days of internet - what we thought we be the whole 72 hours - until 5pm of the last day. But... it turns out the access code expires at midnight, so actually the internet would have gone at midnight of our last night. Once we realized it we went to talk with the reception. The first guy argued with us (we tried to explain that we're not getting all we paid for and he said that that's just the way it is) and about about 10 minutes later he agreed to call his manager which eventually gave us another day of internet "for free".

Room Tip: High floor is a must - there's a club in the next door and they reception said you hear noise in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London Leicester Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Leicester Square

Address: 1 Leicester Place | Leicester Square, London WC2H 7BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Family Hotel in London
#122 Romantic Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Leicester Square 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Leicester Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Leicester Square England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London Leicester Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.