We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Friends of Flavours

Friends of Flavours
4 Green Lane | Penge, London, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #908 of 17,870 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
beckenham,kent,UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“An excellent find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The quality of the food belies its location and size.Excellent food and friendly restaurant on a side road from Penge High St. Perfect for a mid week meal when you don't feel like cooking. It's only small so worth booking as it fills up in an evening. The steaks were particuarly nice - but so's all the rest of the food. Definately worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    12
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“La Dolce Vita in Penge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My Mum had been telling me about this place and today I went for lunch. Beautiful, freshly cooked food, served by lovely staff. I couldn't believe another reviewer thought it was pricey! Home made ravioli at well under a tenner, with fresh ingredients, beautifully presented and a great atmosphere. Even the green beans were a little triumph. Panna cotta with a sublime raspberry sauce for £3.95! I suppose it is pricey compared to two McD's apple pies for 99p :) This place is a jewel, I only wish it were nearer to me in Orpington. The restaurant interior was very light and pleasant with a great ambience. I am taking my husband and family here again soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Penge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Always consistently brilliant food. Supremely friendly staff and just a great local spot.

Ok so it's penge - described as a 'dump' by one unhelpful reviewer. Location is no Chelsea but its safe and quiet - no problems here.

3 courses for under £20! Fresh Italian cooking - I don't know how they do it.

100% recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian that delivers time and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As an Italian brought up on fabulous home cooking I am fussy about where I get my Italian. Michele is a great chef who knows how to put flavour on a plate. If you want the real deal this is the place to go. It is a little out of the way but well worth a visit with a good atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Italian in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

There's no way this little gem could be called a "cafe" as said in a previous review. It's tiny but most definitely a restaurant, serving delicious real Italian food with a variety of fresh pastas, meat and fish on the menu, yummy desserts, reasonable prices and staff who are extremely friendly and always up for a chat. Would recommend it any day over the usual chains.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friends of Flavours also viewed

 

Been to Friends of Flavours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friends of Flavours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.