We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zaza' Gelato

Zaza' Gelato
Canada Place, Canary Wharf, London E14 5AH, England
07796 968025
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,447 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

After reading all the raving reviews here me and my girlfriend (both consummate gelato lovers) decided to give them a go. It's true that our expectations are on the high end - having lived two blocks away from Gelateria della Musica in Milan (by far the best gelato on earth) for 6 months kind of spoiled out taste buds - but Zaza' just can't live to its claim of Italian gelato tradition.

I'll agree that it's a really good ice cream, but by no measure a 'gelato'.

Maybe it's because the shop in Canary Wharf is too small and can't produce the ice cream there but there were so many hiccups in the experience it became embarrassing: no ciocolatto fondente flavour; the ciocolatto cream was so over-cold that the waitress had a hard time adding it to my cup; no bits in the pistacchio flavour; and there were only 10 flavours to choose from (!)

All this makes me wonder if they've actually ever been to a true Italian gelateria...

If they'd advertise themselves as an ice cream shop I'd give them 4 stars but the claim of being a gelateria 'true to its Italian roots' is a really long shot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazzzzzing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Love the ice cream, the pastries, the coffee and the amazing friendly ladies that work there. Highly recommended.

Small yet cozy place, relaxed seating at the busy portabello road

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Heaven in a cup!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If there is only one thing you do in Canary Wharf, consider picking up a few scoops of ice-cream from Zaza. True to its italian roots, the variety of flavours and the taste will you leave wanting more for sure.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Summer!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Found this incredibly well decorated coffee shop serving delicious gelato down portobello road! Being summer as it was, we found ourselves indulging in some real italian bliss! The pistachio is amazing, so is the panna cotta! Lovely place to hang out an really friendly staff! All the best

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Delicious ice-cream, well worth a visit, they should have more branches please!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaza' Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Zaza' Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaza' Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.