We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy pill time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex Temple Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added Apex Temple Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex Temple Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 2 Serjeants' Inn | Fleet Street, London EC4Y 1LL, England (City of London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deal:Save up to 30%
Ranked #22 of 1,073 hotels in London
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Happy pill time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We booked this hotel [11 rooms] as a base for our daughters wedding guests that took place 8th December at The Honourable Society of the Inner Temple which the hotel backs onto.
In late March / April 2012 before all the hotel was complete we were shown around by Karl Mitchell the General manager wearing hard hats and even then you could feel it would be someting special.
The rooms are excellent tastefully decorated and comfortable, with an impeccable cleaning standard and the service is of 5 star quality. The rooms have everything you could possibly need, hairdryer, minibar, kettle, large flat screen tv with all the Sky sports channels it was very luxorious not to mention the very comfortable king size bed along with a massive bath and walk in shower in the bathroom.
All the staff from the cleaners to onsite managers have been well trained in customer care and the guests needs are well looked after.
In a quiet location on Fleet Street, only minutes from St.Pauls,Aldwych Theatre, Covent Garden and the river. Blackfriars and Temple are the nearest Tubes.
Not much to add to the other reviewers experiences of this excellent hotel.
Many thanks to all the staff with a special mention to Alexandria on front desk for being part of my daughters special day and to Karl Mitchell.
Happy Christmas to you all

Room Tip: When asking a taxi driver to take you to the Apex Hotel remember to either mention it's on Fleet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,262
    374
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
213
895
41
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked 2 superior rooms for a Saturday night stay for my daughter and son-in-law and my wife and I but was pleased to be given an upgrade to a master suite on arrival (which I took!). We were very pleased overall with the standard of accommodation and with the friendly service. But, there were one or two niggles. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the music in the bar area in the evening (and during lunchtime the following day) is absolutely atrocious. I asked the bar man if we couldn't listen to some laid back jazz at 11.30 p.m. as being more suitable than the loud persistent beat of the musak we were being subjected to and although he sympathised he was unable to change the music because it was laid down from above. Clearly a bad case of top down management with no discretion allowed for staff on the ground. Another niggle was the temperature in the bathroom. It was COLD and the heating was inadequate - a serious flaw in otherwise excellent accommodation. Then, my paper didn't arrive the following morning and had to be chased up with reception. Finally, there was an intermittent low pitched hum coming through the ventilation system which was annoying when trying to sleep. It really behoves management to sleep in their own hotel rooms once in a while so they realise how annoying these 'niggles' can be.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I booked a weekend here for my boyfriends birthday, and it was absolutley lovely- we upgraded to the superior room, which was on the top floor, and had a balcony overlooking the city, and everything you could possibly need (hairdryer, minibar, kettle, tv with sky) it was very luxorious, with a massive bath and shower in the bathroom! The staff were very friendly and helpful, both during our stay and beforehand when I contacted them with queries. Despite a very central location (close to Temple tube station, short walk to the Strand/Covent Garden) the room was very quiet. Although it was slightly more price than I would usually go for, I would definiely recommend this hotel, and stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

All I can say is that this is a great hotel, very central and an excellent value-for-money stay. The rooms are excellent, comfortable, with impeccable cleaning and the room service is of 5 star quality. The gym is also great and with top and modern equipment. Last but not least, the staff was impeccable and Mr. Paulo Dias (receptionist), in particular, was most helpful and an example of excellent professionalism. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the first time on a recent business trip and was not disappointed.

Those that stay in London regularly know that great service is relatively hard to find - but this hotel probably gave me the best experience I've ever had with staff at a London hotel. From check in to the concierge, from the staff at breakfast to the porters - all are very sincere and offer a friendly and professional service.

The rooms are tastefully decorated with great, spacious bathrooms - and, in all honesty, I enjoyed one of the most comfortable hotel beds I've slept in.

Breakfast is a combination of a continental buffet and a hot menu that requires you to order (and you can only order one without paying extra). Initially this put me off a little, but actually wasn't an issue - everything we ordered was superb.

The hotel is obviously new and all but one taxi that we used needed directing as they'd not heard of the hotel. I'm sure this will change.

The location is not ideal - Fleet Street is relatively quiet with a Starbucks, Macdonalds and a few independent restaurants - but little else. The Covent Garden area is a 15/20 minute walk, or short taxi ride away.

If you're in this part of London, looking for a comfortable, clean, new hotel with great staff - don't look anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend have recently come back from a lovely weekend at Apex and loved every minute! The hotel is close to both Chancery lane and Temple tube stations meaning easy access to the museums and also to Oxford street. The hotel is also only a 15 minute walk to covent garden via the strand which has lots of shops and restaurants.

The only downside would be the price of breakfast if it is not included in the price of your stay. It was £19pp for English breakfast. However this wasn't a problem as there is a Starbucks and Pret next door to the hotel.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you want a beautiful, clean and modern hotel that is also in a great location for most tourist attractions. We will definitely return here soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Got an excellent b&b rate for our long anticipated visit.
Arrived early afternoon to be told for a quick check in the only room available had a shower but no bath.No problem,we said.The larger than average room was obviously for disabled access.Two red handles dangling from cords in the bathroom.What could these be for ? ALARM !
If only we'd been told.
Went to a wonderful concert in the evening & decided to return & spend some money in the hotel.Mistake.The loud 'disco' 'club' music in the lovely bar area resulted in the few people there speaking in raised voices to make themselves heard.Wall of noise.
Decided to go to our room as this was the only way to get a club sandwich after 23:00.Ridiculous.
Arrived in the room to find the king size bed had been turned down and divided into twins.Why ? We don't know.Decided against ordering the club sandwich.
This is a lovely hotel.A steal if you can get a discounted rate but please Apex,do something about that interminable,thumping,mind numbing muzak in the evening.If we wanted that experience we would be in Ibiza with Club Med.It doesn't do your hotel justice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Free internet...
Show More
Bloomsbury / Holborn
The Montague on The Gardens
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
London Bridge
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#32 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Charming, Roman...
Show More
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#24 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Boutique, Charm...
Show More
Knightsbridge / South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#26 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Knightsbridge / South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#27 of 1,073 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,073 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Temple Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Temple Court Hotel

Address: 1 - 2 Serjeants' Inn | Fleet Street, London EC4Y 1LL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#16 Family Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
#23 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex Temple Court Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the City, just off Fleet Street and a short walk to Covent Garden this contemporary four star deluxe hotel has 184 stylish en-suite rooms. Designed for comfort, the rooms include LED 3D TV incl.Sky Sports, Bose SoundDock for MP3 players, large desk, Free Wi-Fi internet access and local calls, fridge, safe, water, coffee & tea, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. The stylish bathrooms offer bath with separate spacious walk-in showers. Hotel facilities include Chambers Bar and Restaurant and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, LondonMarketing.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Apex Temple Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex Temple Court Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apex Temple Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.