We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the bedbugs bite!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ascot Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ascot Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Craven Road, London W2 5BP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #984 of 1,075 hotels in London
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the bedbugs bite!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here the second week in January of 2013. Room 309, which was clean and spacey, but after my 3rd day there I discovered bedbug bites on my hand, arm and back. When showed the bites to the man at the front desk (who is also the manager) he told me that they don't have a bedbug problem at their hotel and suggested that I had gotten the bites somewhere outside....where the temperature was below freezing and it had been snowing for 4 days!

Also, the hallways are VERY noisy during the morning hours, most of which comes from the cleaning staff, who I had to ask twice to please keep their voices down.

The only good things I can say about this place is it's relatively clean, excellent location and very reasonably priced.....but what good is that if you're going to be bitten and awakened early!

Room Tip: Ask to see a room before you take it and check the seams in the mattresses for bedbugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    36
    80
    69
    175
See reviews for
42
47
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Ascot hotel was by far my worst hotel experience ever.
- no hot water
- not cleaned properly (hairs in bed as well as in the shower.)
- broken furniture
- smelly carpet
- couldn't sleep due to the noise of the elevator.
- talking to the staff is not possible because they don't speak English.
- Breakfast was "served" in the basement and included: old and dry sandwiches, plastic cheese, jam and instant coffee.

Complaining about all this was meaningless: no action was taken and any cash refund was not possible.
When booking this place I knew it wouldn't be a Hilton hotel but I didn't expect it to be a pigsty!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

It is LOUSY all over, ugly, smelly, unclean, unsafe, breakfast is unbearable, staff is useless. I got a street side room, insulation is so bad the street noise kept me awake almost all night. 100% crap. Their only merit is to be accross the street from Paddington station and about 30 metres from the subway.

Room Tip: Just don't choose it, it's awful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

I paid £30 for a single room here, which was small but clean and everything you would expect for the price. Wifi is £2.50 per hour and there is a deposit for the use of the tv. But a decent value stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Despite having low expectations, we were mortified at the state of this hotel. Bugs, exposed wiring, lifts out of order, uncleanliness, holes in walls and appauling customer service. I wish I had read previous reviews before booking this hotel. Never again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We booked accommodation for a week on the internet. The merits of the establishment advertised were simply lies. The bar, the internet, breakfast, cleanliness, staff assistance were absolute lies. The Hotel should be closed down. The only thing nice I can say is that we had about 1/2 our prepaid money refunded. We were at their mercy and I was lucky to receive that. Don't stay there under any circumstances. It almost ruined our holiday.

Room Tip: Don't stay there, it's as simple as that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Hotel filthy, staff cannot understand or speak English. Human disgrace. Never ever would go back to this hell hole. Wouldn't let a dog sleep here. A dog kennel would be cleaner and more comfortable. The place should be condemned. Stayed for one night and would not have stayed for another. Slept on top of the bed fully clothed would not have dreamt of getting into the bed!! No plug in sink, shower a disgrace, holes in the walls, all the flooring was loose - health and safety would have a field day!!!!!!

Room Tip: Look elsewhere!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ascot Hotel

Address: 11 Craven Road, London W2 5BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #984 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ascot Hotel 2.5*
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel London
The Ascot Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ascot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Ascot Hotel to your Saves list