We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my first visit won't be my last!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novikov Restaurant & Bar

Novikov Restaurant & Bar
50a Berkeley St, London W1J 8HA, England (Mayfair)
207 399 4330
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Novikov Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,774 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The main entrance off Berkeley Street leads into the Asian Restaurant. Here cool granite walls complement the striking lacquered ebony bar-counter decorated with a jade stone. Materials used in this area - wood, stone and leather - are all natural. A real feature of the Asian Restaurant is its open kitchen. Fronted by an amazing display of seafood and vegetables, it evokes the atmosphere of an Asian food market. Sourcing the highest quality, utilising skillful innovation and preparation from Japan and China to preserve the essence of our product. The Italian Restaurant has a modern but elegant feel, complete with an imposing wood-fired oven, suede wall panelling, handmade Moroccan tiles, mirrors in solid oak frames and chandeliers with candles. Complex, state-of-the-art lighting systems can change the atmosphere from sunrise to sunset, from season to season. The Lounge Bar is a must-visit destination, with an extensive cocktail menu, live music and performances by some of the world’s top DJs.
Essex
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“my first visit won't be my last!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My lovely daughter treated me for a belated mothers day treat. From the onset the service was excellent with the waiters giving us just the right amount of attention.we were offered advice about what you choose so don't be afraid to try of you haven't had sushi before they will guide you.
The wine was over priced which was a shame however being in the capital city is probably the reason.
It's ambiance is lovely and even the bathroom was a delight. Definitely worth a visit.
Families were welcomed as we saw children in pushchair and although we dressed up it wasn't necessary nursing by other diners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    296
    112
    60
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
montecarlo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“very good italian in mayfair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to Novikov in February.
we had made a reservation for Saturday evening and upon arrival we were greeted and taken directly to our table in the Italian section.
The service was friendly and efficient ,drinks were served without delay.
We ordered starters and mains which came at a reasonable pace.
the food was tasty and delicious portions decent all good.
The ambiance is very warm and friendly.
Despite them being busy service was always available.
I would recommend Novikov Italian for a good experience

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“AVOID! Poor restaurant charging ridiculous prices for rubbish service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I visited your restaurant for a special celebration on Saturday 2nd March at
8.30pm. What was supposed to be a happy joyous dinner celebration turned out to
be an appalling experience.

As a food blogger and with family in the hospitality industry I was completely
disappointed with my experience at Novikov.

We had a booking in the Italian room, from the moment we entered I was never
once approached by a member of your staff to take my large bulky winter coat.
Instead I had to wait over 10 minutes to get a waiters attention before I could
ask for my coat to be hanged rather than resting on the back of my chair.

The table we were given was right next to the station where your staff regularly
goto for cutlery, napkins, to place orders etc. Throughout the first part of
dinner I was constantly nudged and hit by your staff as they tried to work
around our table. At one point a dish nearly fell onto me and our table! What
was supposed to be a chance for me to announce my recent news of getting engaged
to friends, was ruined with constant interruptions and shouting by your staff.
It got to a point where none of the guests could even here themselves think or
settle into dinner as there was so much going on around us. I asked for a
different table and was rudely told no, even though your staff made no attempts
to search for available tables.

After reviewing the Italian menu we asked for 3 copies of the Asian menu which
after waiting for 10 minutes, it never arrived. Finally after asking again we
were given just one menu between the three of us!

Half an hour had gone pass and all of us still did not have a copy of the Asian
me u let alone a copy of your cocktail and drinks menu which is the first thing
normally given!

After ordering champagnes, a bottle of white wine and a lemonade. The waiter
brought us a bottle of coke, and two glasses of wine. We explained that the
order was wrong and he walked off in a huff. 10 minutes later our bottle of wine
was brought to the table however there were no wine glasses on our table.
Finally over 20 minutes since ordering our beverages, they finally arrived.

Through out the night we ordered several glasses of champagne which took over 15
minutes to be served and twice the waiters had forgotten and placed another
order so that we ended up being served 2 glasses instead of the 1 requested. I
do not understand how simple drink orders can take so long and be messed up on
more the once occasion.

As for your staff, what can I say but they were what I call rude and cold. So
many times we were ignored, told I'll be back when infact they never did return,
even at one point shouted at! Is this a way to treat your paying customers who
are spending £400 on a meal?

We informed the waiter that we would like to order some dishes from the Asian
menu, and was once again rudely told that was not possible. After speaking to
another waiter we were informed we could only order starters from Asian menu.
When it came to placing our order from the Asian menu we were asked to use a pen
and tick on the menu what we wanted! Still I cannot understand why the waiter
was unable to write down our order?! Instead we ticked against ea h dish we
required with th quantity. During this time we were also informed that we may
not even receive our order for the Asian dishes and very often the dishes are
'lost' so the waiter wanted to warn us so we don't complain! I understand you
have two separate kitchens but I find it highly unprofessional to tell your
paying customer 'sorry your dish may not arrive, if it comes it does, if it
doesn't on well I did inform you so don't complain'

One of the guests is vegetarian and often gets mild allergic reactions to
seafood! I was shocked to find that both the seafood sushi we had ordered and
the vegetarian sushi were plated together on the same dish and served like this.
Not only is it very difficult to distinguish between the two types of sushi
served, its highly disrespectful to a person who is vegetarian.

When our main dishes arrived we were given no explanation as to what each dish
was. One guest ordered the lamb dish with a side portion of potato mash. The
mash did not arrive until 15 minutes after the lamb was served!

When we received our bill we decided to pay by card but we were startled to see
a completely new person taking our payment. There was no introduction or
communication instead she just grabbed one of the cards and asked whose card it
was!

Overall it was a very chaotic and loud dining experience.

I was planning to hire your bar for an engagement party but after my experience
I most definitely will not be using or recommending your restaurant to anyone.
It's a shame as I host many corporate dinners and business meetings and
unfortunately will be crossing your restaurant of our list to use.

I hope you take on board my criticism and work towards providing a much better
customer service

still had no response or reply from Novikov

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Had an amazing time & tasty supper!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Friendly and warm welcome from the reservation desk. Nice table setups & great vibe of the place.
Salmon sashimi salad and wakame salad were both great.
Salmon avocado mako was tasty and so was the veggie Singaporean noodles!

We had a great time for real. It's highly recommended !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“One of the London 'in places' at the moment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Definately a place to be seen, a friend arranged us a table which i think was probably necessary seeing the amount of people begging for a table. We had a few drinks at the bar, very good bar staff making appealing cocktails, overall a nice atmosphere. We chose the Asian side, the food was good and not too expensive considering location and current trendiness. The service in the restaurant was just ok, and difficult to communicate with due to the loud music. We had a nice evening but avoid if you are looking for a quiet and discreet restaurant. Definately a place to see and be seen!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novikov Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Novikov Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novikov Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.