We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Angerstein Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Angerstein Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Angerstein Hotel
108 Woolwich Road, Greenwich, London SE10 OLE, England (Greenwich)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 517 London B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After travelling for 5 hours we finally arrived at what is called a hotel! This should actually be called a guest house, when arriving we actually thought this was just a pub, no indication on hotel or reception area it was a local person in the pub who told us we just go up to the bar, which we did, we then had to walk behind the bar area to get to a small hallway next to the kitchen. The Irish gentlemen who checked us is was very friendly and helpful, then had to walk up 4 flights of stairs to arrive in a very basic room with 3 single beds, a TV, a bed side table, single wardrobe & a small wash basin, Their was a shared toilet for the whole floor which was dirty and grubby, the shower room was so small you could hardly move in there. the windows where held open by toilet rolls, the sheets on the bed seems clean but that was the only thing. floors hadn't been hoovered sides where dusty, didn't feel safe there at all! when it came to sleeping the room was so hot, there was no fan and with the window open all you could hear was traffic. during the night we got bitten by what we think was fleas! Not very good! certainly not worth the money!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
6
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
devizes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

nice clean room very comfy close to the o2 arena typical local pub with friendly locals , if you don't like stairs this pub hotel is not for you we would stay here again ,the bar was a nice and relaxed area, no food but plenty close by and easy reach by tube in to centre london

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stopped at the Angerstein for two nights for the Froch v Kessler fight at the 02.
The hotel is ideally located for the arena ,a twenty minutes walk away ,and really couldn't be bettered if you are going to an event there.
Westcombe Park train station is a few minutes round the corner behind the hotel and will take you too London Bridge in approx 10 minutes and the trains run very regularly.
the landlord is a top top bloke ,really nice to deal with and a very tasty barmaid ;)
the rooms are extremely clean and tidy with tea and coffee making facilities, we also had a shower and toilet in the room although this was on the top floor and it doesn't half burn up the thighs getting to the top floor.
If you want a nice clean and tidy basic hotel with friendly staff and a great location for the 02 then please consider this one .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A group of us going to a gig at the O2 stayed here, we all enjoyed it and found everyone very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were very clean as were the shared toilet and shower room. We would definatley stay here again....Thank u for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was in London for the weekend to meet up with my Son who had won a competition which brought him from Melbourne Australia for a hair dresser conference near the O2 arena. This is not really an Hotel in the true sense of the word, but I enjoyed my stay there. The staff and owners are real Londoners who made me feel very welcome. The place is really large Victorian pub with three stories. ( No lift! ) of rooms. The rooms are a clean and spotless white. the facilities are basic but enough for the price. There are no meals served.( Unusual! ) But plenty of London cafes in the area which are reasonably priced. The greatest point about this place is the location. It's a short walk, or even shorter bus ride to the O2 arena and Greenwich North station which will take you two stops to London bridge and only a few more stops to the center of London. The Large bar which caters mainly for older local people did not keep me awake as I was on the third floor. The bar could do with two or three sofas to really relax in after a day of being out and about. But that's only a minor crib. The main thing is, it was cheap, for London and near where I wanted to be as my son was staying in the Millennium Village apartments.

Room Tip: Rooms up high will avoid any noise from bar. Be warned the stairs are steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed here on the 30th march 2013 as I was going to see olly murs at the O2 arena. It is in a great location for this type of visit, I was told it would be a 10 minute walk however we didn't know the area so called the local cab number that was displayed in our room and they picked us up straight away and took us there for 5 pound. It was a pretty long drive, about 10/15 minutes so personally I wouldn't walk it, there could be shortcuts but we didn't know where we were going. I stayed in the twin room with a shared bathroom, which wasn't a problem at all, I didn't have to que once for shower. And I had four beds in my room haha very spacious. Fantastic staff very friendly. Room was very warm which was lovely. Definitely would return :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had 3 rooms here and were a little worried on returning from a concert at the O2 as there was a party in the pub. Amazed we couldn't hear any noise when we went to our rooms. On the up side - rooms were warm, spotless, beds comfy and relatively spacious with tea/coffee making facilities and biscuits. Downside the showers were not particularly warm, we don't know if this was because we were all up late (10am) and the hot water had been used up by other guests.

An improvement recommendation would be a few notices reminding guests to be quiet when walking between rooms and bathrooms. We weren't exactly early to bed (1am) but got woken up by very noisy guests saying goodnight in the corridors and banging doors, I can't blame the hotel for this and I find it is often a hazard of staying in a hotel. Fortunately it didn't carry on for long and was no less disturbing than the odd police siren in the night. I am probably a light sleeper!

O2 is a short bus ride away or £7 in a 5pm cab from O2, £10 in a late evening cab from O2 after concert, £12 in an 8 seater cab from Angerstein to O2.

We didn't eat attention this hotel so can't comment on the food.

I have marked the rooms as average due to lack of hot water plus we asked for 3 ensuites - one room only had a shower cubicle - I had had dialogue with the hotel about needing ensuites as we didn't want our teenage children having to wander round looking to use shared bathrooms in the night so was a little surprised that we ended up with no toilet in one of the ensuites.

We would definitely stay again but be more explicit about our definition of ensuite.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Angerstein Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angerstein Hotel

Address: 108 Woolwich Road, Greenwich, London SE10 OLE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Angerstein Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Angerstein Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Angerstein Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.