We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pre theatre choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabana Covent Garden

Cabana Covent Garden
7 Central St Giles Piazza St Giles High Street, London WC2H 8AD, England
+44 20 7632 9630
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cabana Covent Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,902 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue, Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good pre theatre choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked a pretheatre meal from abroad having no idea what to expect... so when we entered this lively, colourful restuarant, we were pleasantly surprised :-)
Straight away the service was playful and attentive. The food was exotic and very tasty. It came out in good time. We all loved being able to design our own deserts at the end of our meal. Last point: the cocktails were amazing!
All of this makes Cabana a perfect pre theatre choice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    89
    67
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor pre Theatre selection.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My Daughter and Son in law bought a pre theatre dinner package, for our 40th Anniversary, they were told it's a 2 minute walk to Piccadilly Theatre more like 12 minutes, the selection for the meal was poor, wife did not like, spoil the rest of the night, only good point, the Jersey Boys was Excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpMarketing_manager, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your pre-theatre meal. Pre-theatre menus are always rather limited but we are pleased to offer most of our core dishes, including our best selling malagueta chicken. If you would like to discuss this further, please email me on lizzy.barber@sweetpotato.co.uk with a link to your review.

Kind Regards,
Lizzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, a joy for meat lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Very lovely waiting staff, great ambience.
My husband and son shared the meat platter. It was huge. My son said the steak was excellent, really tender.
I tried the Brazilian stew, this was excellent and came with rice, and a selection of different toppings for the stew.
My younger son had the kids menu. This was great value and he enjoyed the spicy chicken. (it's not too spicy!)
We would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Best chicken I've ever had. Fantastic place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Had the Malagueta Chicken here before a show on Monday, was better than expected, and I expected it to be amazing! Will be returning with friends next time I'm in London. Great friendly service too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We decided to go there for the birthday of my girlfriend and we were quite enthusiastic given the positive reviews and the fact that we liked the menu. All in all, the experience was disappointing.
My girlfriend ordered a pork tenderloin, which was nothing else than a piece of pork meat with some cheese on top served in an empty dish with not even a leaf of salad as a side. Also the starters and the desserts were disappointing. It's basically a fast food where they serve you grilled meat.
In a nutshell, it does not worth neither the money nor the experience; there are true ethnic restaurants in London, this is not one of them. On the pros side: service and friendly environment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpMarketing_manager, Owner at Cabana Covent Garden, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Eugenio, this doesn't sound right. Would you drop me an email on lizzy.barber@sweetpotato.co.uk with a link to your review and I'll look into it?

Kind Regards,
Lizzy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabana Covent Garden also viewed

 

Been to Cabana Covent Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabana Covent Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.